Customer Reviews for

Web of Love

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    Wonderful story

    To be honest, I didn't think I would like this book because of Ellen and Eden falling in love so soon after the death of her first husband. I didn't think it would be believable. I liked this book best in the trilogy! The characters were so well written. I loved that we were able to get to know the characters before the Battle of Waterloo, especially Ellen's first husband, Charlie. Balogh does a great job of making the reader feel as if they are in Belgium right before the battle. It made the story much more believable! The readers is able to feel that Ellen loves both Charlie and Lord Eden.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Boring and tedious

    Started out with potential, however this book never got over the hump. Horrible. Do not waste your money please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mindless

    This book had way too much war and way too much Florence Nightingale elements but I do like Dom. It was predictable but a simple mindless read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2008

    Not her best work

    I've read many of her books and they have all been a better read than this. The main characters' conversations are awkward, their behavior not quite believable and overall it is difficult to relate to them. The most interesting characters are the support cast- the sister Madeline, and the Earl and his wife and children. Skip this one and read the 'Simply'series. The Bewcastle family is far more interesting and believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2007

    A good read

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book just as I did the Gilded Web before it. I'd like to find the third in the series. She took time to develop the characters and their relationship as well as the relationship both had with her first husband, a giving and kind person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    This story came out over 10 years ago in it's original version and set up stories for other family members of the Raine family. It's a good story, but annoying to pay for a book one read years ago and there is no notice on the cover that it's a reprint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2007

    Don't get caught in this web!

    I am an avid Romance reader and it takes a lot for me to close a book for good, unfinished! But I had no trouble doing just that with this book. I can't believe how long it took the actual story between the main, two characters to actually unfold. And both characters are so boring and unlikable to begin with, there's not much to the story once it does get underway. The relationship the heroine has with her husband is gross 'thank goodness the author spared us from love scenes between this woman and her portly, balding, extremely old husband - yuck!'. And the hero's personality and how he so flippantly thinks of 'falling in love' is tedious from the start. I got about three quarters of the way through this book and finally decided not to punish myself any longer. I¿m shocked to see there is a good review here for this book¿hopefully my bad one will balance that out. Don¿t waste your time. 'Web of Boredom' would be a better title for this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    During the Napoleonic Wars, Lieutenant Lord Eden served with Charlie, the husband of Ellen Simpson. Dominic hid his attraction to Ellen because that was the honorable thing to do. While Ellen resides temporarily in nearby Brussels with her teenage stepdaughter Jennifer, Charlie is participating at the battle of Waterloo. Soon after she learns that like her mother, she has become a war widow.----------- Dominic begins his pursuit of the widow by being her friend while she grieves her loss. However, she is stunned because finds she desires Dominic much more than her feelings for her late spouse. Although she is falling in love, she has one secret that prevents her from telling him she wants him Dominic decides proper time has passed so he intends to make this woman his.-------------- This solid Regency romance is a reprint from 1990. The story line is filled with action but somewhat bogged down by too many subplots that either exclude the lead couple or slightly touch them. Not the magnificent Mary Balogh¿s best work, fans of the author will still enjoy this historical that shows flashes of the greatness to come.----------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2