Customer Reviews for

Weber's Big Book of Grilling

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    THE best cookbook ever !!

    If my house was burning down to the ground, I'd rush back in to save this cookbook. It is my all time "go to" favorite. I have given it to dear friends who love to cook and love to eat. It receipes, information and helpful, easy directions, translate to indoor cooking as well as outdoor grilling. I love the fact that for most of the receipes, the ingredients are very common pantry items and that they are listed in the order of measurement. I simply pull open the pantry, line up the ingredients and measure them out using the decending measure utensils (ie.tablespoon, teaspoon, etc.).
    By the way. I have found only one receipe in this entire book which I would not make again. The balance are all "keepers"!!!
    I'm about to order a couple of more copies, as mine is falling apart from several years of use and I want a "back-up" for our second home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Yummmm

    I bought a second copy of this as a gift recently. We love many recipes in this book. The general advice on grilling is also helpful. The photos are great. There is lots of variety in the recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    Great cookbook

    I love this cookbook. I use it at least once a week in the summer. The marinades are fantastic. Even if you don't have a BBQ grill, the marinades work for meat you bake or broil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    An Exceptional Book!

    This is a great cook book for several reasons. First and foremost, the recipies produce uniformly delicious results. Second, the directions are clear and simple, using ingredients that are available in most supermarkets. Third, there is a lot of 'why' in this book, as in why to use kosher salt and why to use granulated garlic, rather than garlic powder. But the bottom line, for me, is that it helped to make me a better cook. I take some pride in putting food on the table, both for family, as well as friends. Jamie's recipies have not ended up with so much as a single 'Ooops!' If you think that grilling is just burning food, save your money, but if you understand that grilling is a way of producing wonderfully flavored food, then this is a purchase you will long enjoy. Finally, I would like to respond to the silly review from Publisher's Weekly, which appears above, and which criticizes this book for its emphasis on Weber products. Hello? It Is WEBER's Big Book of Grilling, and the Weber folks would be silly to publish this book without the emphasis on their highly respected product line. Readers with an interest in business, as well as grilling will enjoy, as I did, the anecdotes as to how the company succeeded. But it's all about the food, friends, and you cannot go wrong with the Big Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2005

    Good book for us 'Grillheads'

    We have a big old Weber so why not the book. My wife and I are true Grillheads and enjoy every minute with family and buddies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2004

    AWESOME

    I borrowed this book at the library first and within in an hour I bought it! A Must Have Cannot Grill Without IT Book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2003

    A cookbook you can't do without this summer!

    I bought this cookbook a couple of years ago. We pulled it out again this summer and forgot how many great recipes it has! We've tried some new ones and every time the food comes out a winner. I highly recommend this to anyone who likes to grill - it's truly a classic. Some favorites for us are the Pork Chops with Ancho Chile Sauce, the Smokey Baked Beans, the Guacamole Burger, just to name a few. HIghly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    Get Ready for Some Great Food!

    This cookbook is one of the best I have bought. It has great recipes and it uses common ingredients. Every time my husband or I use it to grill, the food is perfect. And it has helped us in grilling technique. The history on the Weber is also good (by the way, we do not have a Weber yet!). The only downfall to the grilling technique is that you need to know what you are having for dinner the previous night as some of the preparation takes some time, like marinating the food, bringing it to room temp, ect. I recommend this book to everyone I know that likes to grill their food!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2002

    Transformed my hubby into a Grill King Extrodinare!

    The practical advice and great recipies in this book are amazing. It really did turn my husband from an overcook-everything-and-occasionally-get-it-right grill cook, into an incredible grill chef who wants to grill 4 times a week and compares recipies with his best friend who gave him the book! We have also expanded our grilling horizons, branching out into veggies, seafood and he even made paella (not a recipie from the book, though).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2001

    Fabulous Food, Great Fun!

    As a long time Weber fan, I picked up this title and was delighted to find more recipes than you could shake a tong at along with good advice on the basics of grilling and some fun and lighthearted articles and sidebars. Having called customer service for help with my grill on a couple of occasions, I can tell you that the friendly tone of the company comes through in this book. I love it and would recommend it to anyone who is crazy about grilling. Buy one for a friend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1