BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Webster's Unabridged Dictionary: Vintage Pre-1923 Edition (improved March 2012)

Average Rating 3
( 248 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(97)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Appears to be the 1913 edition, which is a revision of the origi

Appears to be the 1913 edition, which is a revision of the original 1828 version, although neither B&R Samizdaz nor SMASHWORDS admits that. Why have they refused to be more helpfully specific about the edition and publication date? What are they afraid of?

This is...
Appears to be the 1913 edition, which is a revision of the original 1828 version, although neither B&R Samizdaz nor SMASHWORDS admits that. Why have they refused to be more helpfully specific about the edition and publication date? What are they afraid of?

This is a helpful Nook book dictionary if you use it for its strengths and are not in a hurry. 2,000+ print pages has somehow been transformed into 34,528 Nook pages, which take up to 15 seconds to load after selected from the Nook Library listing. Then the Find search can take 80 seconds or more to produce a list of pages where the word you're looking for appears. Going to specific pages, by way of either the slider or a page number, takes less than 5 seconds. Compare that with getting up to walk over to a copy of the big printed edition and looking up a word in that. And this small Nook edition takes little effort to lift and turns its pages, and its much bigger digital printing (which I have it set for) is very easy to read. Maybe the long search delays can help slow one down to the pace of life a century or more ago.

This 1913 edition dictionary can't be expected to include words that first appeared after 1913, but it might be better than later dictionaries for words in publications from its era -- like 19th century American and Canadian fiction -- when it was probably the most referred to American dictionary.

As with my many other dictionaries I also enjoy just browsing in it and discovering word uses that I didn't known enough about to look for specifically. I could write pages about the interesting information I've found in it, including of course reflections of its biases (for example, see its definition for "freethinking" and then for "undue").

posted by readerwalker on March 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Not worth it even if it were free !!!!!

There is no search function. All the index has is alphabets and when one clicks on them, it takes you to the cover. So if you wanted to look for a word, keep flipping pages until you reach the word. Total waste of time and money.

posted by Kirtee on November 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 248 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    Not worth it even if it were free !!!!!

    There is no search function. All the index has is alphabets and when one clicks on them, it takes you to the cover. So if you wanted to look for a word, keep flipping pages until you reach the word. Total waste of time and money.

    43 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Old days!

    You have to flip pages to look for a word! If you use dictionary book, it would be faster! No search function!!

    25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Hard to use

    Cannot browse word easily

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    HOW SAD

    This is so unfortunate. It is impossible to navigate your way around this dictionary. I have this dictionary in hard back and absolutely love it when wanting to know the original meaning of word. I am finding that we are "watering" down the meaning of words, or just changing the meanings completely. So sad. Although the printed version of this is awesome the nook version is completely useless.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Needs to have a good search system for looking up words

    All you can do is goto the content page and select a letter to go to, then you must flip the pages to find a word. Using the search finds every time that word is used including in other definations, klnd of fustrating and time consuming. And yes I can not spell thats why I want it.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Junk

    It takes forevee!!!!! To find a single word. I mean how much more pointless can this get.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    Waste of money.

    Sure isn't what I call a dictionary.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    DO NOT BUY! THERE IS NOT WAY TO LOOK UP A WORD OTHER THAN PAGE

    DO NOT BUY! THERE IS NOT WAY TO LOOK UP A WORD OTHER THAN PAGE THROUGH 14,000 PAGES. THIS IS A FRAUD!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Hello

    This is acctually easier than it looks((; i rhought it would have been alot harder. Hopefully can find a better one((;

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    This is terrible Boooooooo This is trash

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Excuse me!!""""""

    This iis just the tital nothing else all it does is let you look at the cover!!!! What a waist of 99 cents!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Terrible

    I can not search up words as I had hoped. It is also very jumbled up. Do not buy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    If i could enter a goose egg, i would

    What were these people thinking? I could go to my old websters book and have an answer almost immediately, am i missing something?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Not so good.

    Functional, barely. Keep looking.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    J

    Sucked

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    P.U!!!!!!

    Wish i could entr nil rating

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Get the sample first

    If u arent satisfied dont get the full version
    By the way the sample is almost 1500 pages long

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    got this for my nook 1st generation. it's pretty much impossibl

    got this for my nook 1st generation. it's pretty much impossible to use. thought you'd just have to type in a word to find it,but no luck. maybe I'm doing something wrong. but I deleted it after I bought it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Is it even

    Is this even a dictionary

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Disapointed

    When you look up sonething, you go to the letter and rhen you have to keep on scrolling until you get to the word you want. It had all the wirds, but it was confusing and it took to longj

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 248 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13