Customer Reviews for

Wed Him Before You Bed Him (School for Heiresses Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    COUSIN MICHAEL IS IN THE HOUSE!

    For fans of the "School of Heiresses Series", the wait is finally over. Our cousin Michael is finally revealed and Ladies, Sabrina does not disappoint. One of the things I enjoyed about the book was that Cousin Michael was his true self in the flesh as he was in his letters. Charlotte, I believe was blinded from discovering the truth due to her own insecurities and perhaps prejudices of her past mistakes. I relished the lead couple's sparring. It was bold, honest and direct. I guess you chalk that up to maturity and life experiences. Charlotte was no weak, submissive "Miss" bowing down to a man's whims and Cousin Michael was not the usual confident cad that thought he could just "TAKE THE WOMAN" to satisfy his own selfish needs. They both suffered immeasurably from poor choices and judgements from the past and the shared correspondence thru the years was an unintentional pathway for healing. Their acceptance and forgiveness of each other's flaws and their own, allowed unrequited love to be finally returned. Kudos to Sabrina for ending a much loved series with a true heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Good final book to a great series

    I liked the way Sabrina Jeffries brought her other books into this final book of her School for Heiresses Series. I hope to see these characters in future books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    It gets better further into the story

    I almost put this book down three different times. The first half of the story just drags along and then finally the story gets better. For that reason I gave this only 3 stars. This is the fourth Sabrina Jeffries book I've read and the other three were great. Had this been my first SB book I never would have purchased another of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Title Tells It All

    This book was something I just grabbed at the store because I needed a book. It started out okay but it was pretty lame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Writing six books in a series is a daunting challenge to maintain freshness of characters and originality of plot. Number 6 doesn't hold up.

    Headmistress MRS. CHARLOTTE HARRIS, now in her late 30's is in danger of losing her School for Heiresses. She also hasn't heard from her Cousin Michael for weeks now. Suddenly back into her life comes widower DAVID MASTERS, LORD KIRKWOOD a man she shamed and brought scandal down on when she was 18. (to excuse Charlotte, her brutal manipulative father was such a poor role model that she suspected all males of the worst motives). The reader knows that David created Michael to string Charlotte along and eventually ruin her. But over years of correspondence, his thirst for revenge fell away. David has had two terrible marriages, the last to Sarah, graduate of the school. Charlotte's marriage to Mr. Harris was undertaken to avoid her shame of what she had done - (her published letter ruined David's life for many years, quite despicable!) Anyway, David hopes to save the school with the fiction that the malicious Sarah left money for the school in her will. To spice things up Sarah's suicide is murder and David is a strong suspect. The old embers of their desire for each other burst into flame, and although Charlotte teaches wedding before bedding, she doesn't practice what she preaches when it comes to David. In the throes of the murder charge and the kidnapping of Charlotte, David finally divests himself of all his baggage and all ends well - with an heir on the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Ahhhhh, love!

    I hadn't read Sabrina Jeffries much until recently, but her books capture and keep my attention ... and my heart. If you love British-set historical romance, you'll love the entire School for Heiresses series. WED HIM BEFORE YOU BED HIM is another jewel, and I'll be reading Sabrina Jeffries for years to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lovely Old Flame Story

    Loved Charlotte's book in this series. I'm glad she finally got her time in the spotlight. I love Old Flame stories, and this one was no exception. Great chemistry between the characters, and a lot of fun plot twists!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    Dissapointing!

    The end of a long series turned out to be a letdown. It was nothing special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Revenge Backfires!

    In this sixth novel of The School for Heiresses series, Charlotte Page is trying to save her school from financial collapse in early 19th Century England. A threatening neighbor plans a sale that would ruin the reputation of her school if it were known to be placed next to a business where gambling, drinking and roaming men were the order of the day. All of a sudden, her business advisor, the mysterious Cousin Michael is not returning her letters directly or through her lawyer. But it turns out now that an old, brief flame has appeared with news of a substantial inheritance gift and even more financial backing should she meet the condition of building a new school elsewhere.

    Why is Lord David Kirkwood announcing this gift from his deceased wife and why is he offering her help after the awful act she committed those many years ago which ultimately shamed him so deeply that he became a social outcast for a very long time? Does he have some diabolical plan for revenge? Why is he still so attractive to her, so much so that she has to assert her focus on her school before she does something she might later regret? Why does David find her independence so alluring and yet so intolerably annoying?

    The story moves back to their original meeting, a time when women were expected to agree to an arranged marriage for political or financial gain. Charlotte wants none of that and is planning how to rebuff David Kirkwood, only to be surprised by the way he initially attempts to repel her as well. But all that changes when they first see each other, years after her shame as a "monkey" tomboy. She puts her thoughts in writing as a venting exercise and the results are absolutely disastrous.

    But David is not one to be easily cast aside years from now. As the plot thickens, he discovers secrets about his late wife and family and Charlotte learns how David really feels about her and what he actually does to prove his devotion. During this process, David learns what an independent, strong-willed woman Charlotte is, ready to fall in love anew but not to sell her body or soul in the process.

    Wed Him Before You Bed Him is a feisty, well-plotted, intriguing story that will thrill old and new readers of this well-loved series. Very nicely done, Ms. Jeffries!

    Reviewed by Viviane Crystal on August 21, 2009

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    Wed Him before you Bed him - school for Heiresses Series the Final B ook

    This book did a good job of finishing off the series the School for Heiresses. It explains a lot about the character who have delveoped over the 6 books Ms Jeffreis has written about. As usual, Ms Jeffreis did a fine job withe characters and the plot, keeping you guessing until the last chapters. This book could be read as a stand alone book, but when read in the order they were written, makes a very enjoyable read and a good jounrey through the lives of all the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great romance!

    Characters were appealing and good use of moving between past and present. Don't like the big dramatic "event" that bring some romances to a climax and this book has one but still very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    super Regency romance

    When Charlotte Harris was eighteen and Charlotte Page she made a horrific mistake when she sent a letter rejecting a suitor that became published in a tabloid scandal rag. The scandal ruined David's reputation unfairly and she made hers worse when she eloped with Captain Harris.

    Years later in 1824, she still regrets what she caused, not for herself as she likes being the Headmistress of the Mrs. Harris School for Heiresses, but to the gentleman she hurt. However, her school is in financial difficulty and "Cousin Michael" whom she has corresponded with and helped her through the worst of times is not writing; she is worried about him as that is out of character. Her only hope is the man she inadvertently destroyed. However she also is ignorant as to what he has done to avenge what she did to him years ago; he just never expected to remain in love with her.

    The final School for Heiresses Regency romance is the one fans of this strong late regency saga have waited for and will agree that Sabrina Jeffries surpasses our expectations; the pressure on the gifted author for Charlotte's tale must have been immense. The story line is fast-paced and filled with strong support characters while the lead "triangle" is top rate as Cousin Michael's 's web of deceit is entangling Charlotte and himself in what looks will be another enormous scandal. Great fun for sub-genre readers as Ms. Jeffries closes out her series with a winner.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3