Customer Reviews for

Wedded to War

Average Rating 4.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Captivating historical fiction!

I have just finished reading my copy of Wedded to War by Jocelyn Green, and I must say that I actually had to force myself to lay it aside in order to get some other necessary things accomplished in my day! I love the accurate historical details about the realities of l...
I have just finished reading my copy of Wedded to War by Jocelyn Green, and I must say that I actually had to force myself to lay it aside in order to get some other necessary things accomplished in my day! I love the accurate historical details about the realities of life back in the days of the Civil War. The descriptions of the scenes are so true that the reader can seemingly see and, yes, even smell what the characters are experiencing, and the characters in the story are brought to life so well that we actually love and root for them, or detest them and pray that they will quickly get their just reward! I happen to have one of our country's first female doctors as an ancestor, so I am enjoying learning about things that she may very well have experienced during her own lifetime. Jocelyn Green has crafted a wonderful historical romance novel while gently and skillfully weaving the powerful tenants of our Christian heritage into the storyline.

posted by CChanner on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

This is for the SAMPLER only (and says nothing about the actual

This is for the SAMPLER only (and says nothing about the actual book)!! I do not care for samplers and usually will NOT get them....but if get the first book for free and love it, I usually buy books 2, 3 and so on.

posted by Rumkimom on July 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    Although Charlotte Waverly enjoys a life of privilege and the at

    Although Charlotte Waverly enjoys a life of privilege and the attentions of a devoted suitor in New York, she yearns for a life of service nursing the Union soldiers injured in war. However, in the 1860's women were not welcomed into the world of medicine. Does Charlotte have enough gumption to withstand the prejudice of doctors, the disapproval of her suitor, and the reluctance of her mother to follow her dreams of nursing the soldiers?

    This is a historical fiction work based on the journals and life of Georgeanna Woolsey, a woman of privilege who served as a nurse for the Union during the Civil War. It has a nice mixture of fictional characters and real-life historical figures, along with short excerpts from Georgeanna's journals.

    What I liked the most about this book was the glimpse into what medical care was like during the Civil War. There were a lot of references to medications and treatments that I have never heard of, so I found that very interesting. I also enjoyed the snapshot into how ill-prepared the Union side of the Civil War was. In the majority of the books I have read covering this topic, the focus has been on how the southern side was at a disadvantage due to their ill-preparedness. It was interesting to see how the Union side wasn't that well off at the beginning of the war either.

    I enjoyed the intertwining of Charlotte's and Ruby's story and the comparison of life between the classes. I was rooting for Ruby throughout the book to have something positive happen in her life, and kept waiting for her life to turn around. The characters were easy to become fond of and hope that they would survive in the danger of the battles in the early part of the war.

    The plot was a little slow to start up, and I was a little afraid I wouldn't ever get to the point where I was into the story enough that I had a hard time putting the book down. However, by the end of it, I was actively engaged in the plot and really enjoyed the book. I think Green did a great job tying up the loose threads of the story, to close with a very satisfying ending. My favorite part was the resolution of the characters. I had a clear picture of what their lives would look like after the conclusion of the book.

    If you are a fan of historical fiction and like to learn about how life was in the past, this would be a great book for you. Although I knew before reading that the novel was based on a real person, I particularly enjoyed how Green followed up the book with the History Behind the Story, where she shared a little more about who the characters were based on. I would recommend this book to Civil War/historical fiction buffs.

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    ** spoiler alert ** This has to be my favorite Civil War story I

    ** spoiler alert ** This has to be my favorite Civil War story I've read. I haven't read many, but the ones I've read are ALL the same, so this was nice in it's uniqueness. :)




    Some of the cases Charlotte dealt with as a nurse were a little nasty, but that's obviously expected, and nothing was too gory. Charlotte's devotion to and selflessness in caring for the soldiers was really sweet and I loved reading the parts where she would make her rounds of simply giving them water or talking to them.




    There was in the secondary character's story the subject of the prostitution all around her (she comes from Five Points), but the author never got into the subject in detail, and "rescued" Ruby from the slums as soon as she could. ;) In Ruby's story was also a strong theme of life and mercy that was really touching, and when she's debating with herself about the option of abortion vs life ~ the message was really powerful! (Aiden O'Flannery was such a sweet baby!! ^_^) 




    The tons of scriptures included were really great and had perfect timing- and it didn't seem as if the author was continually preaching at the reader, but her message was still really clear and convicting. 




    The entire story was really gripping and I really enjoyed it; however, the ending was incredible! =D It was "any other great book" until I reached the last three chapters! It was like an entire new plot unfolded with new characters and intrigue. Really amazing. :) Very satisfactory ending!




    As a side note, I really loved Jacob Carlisle (Charlotte's brother-in-law)! Since Charlotte has no father or brother, Jacob is pretty much her legal protector; thus when Charlotte is in trouble with the villain, it's Jacob who comes and defends her and orders the offender out. It was just really different from most novels - where the hero usually comes in, saves the day, and the light dawns on the heroine and she realizes she's in love - it was so much more realistic and was actually (I thought ;)) the best scene in the book! I just really liked that he took on his role seriously as his sister-in-laws guardian and defended her like a man- and that the heroine LET him! :P




    In closing, this was a really enjoyable- though serious-themed- and touching story. Anyone who enjoys historical fiction will enjoy this immensely.




    *I received a copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this
    review.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    I really enjoyed Wedded To War! It is a gripping story and very

    I really enjoyed Wedded To War! It is a gripping story and very believable characters. Great dialogue, too, which can be hard to find. It's a page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Great!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Moonlight to Life

    Email for nook: earlapoot @ yahoo . com[No spaces]
    Directions:1) settings 2) social 3) manage nook friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Great read!

    I love the inspirational books and the early American era books. This fits my style perfectly! Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    Loved It

    This was such a wonderful book. I just can't say enough about it. The characters were believable and the excerpts from the actual letters written by the woman the book was based off of were a great touch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Recommend if you like Historical Fiction

    I liked this book very much. It kept my interest throughout and was hard to put down. Very informative about the nurses' role during the Civil War. I loved the historical aspects of the story. The "love story" was okay, pretty predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Historical Fiction..with an edge

    This was a pretty good book with historically accurate details and much of it is based on real events during the civil war. There is also a well developed plot and conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1