BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wedded to War

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Captivating historical fiction!

I have just finished reading my copy of Wedded to War by Jocelyn Green, and I must say that I actually had to force myself to lay it aside in order to get some other necessary things accomplished in my day! I love the accurate historical details about the realities of l...
I have just finished reading my copy of Wedded to War by Jocelyn Green, and I must say that I actually had to force myself to lay it aside in order to get some other necessary things accomplished in my day! I love the accurate historical details about the realities of life back in the days of the Civil War. The descriptions of the scenes are so true that the reader can seemingly see and, yes, even smell what the characters are experiencing, and the characters in the story are brought to life so well that we actually love and root for them, or detest them and pray that they will quickly get their just reward! I happen to have one of our country's first female doctors as an ancestor, so I am enjoying learning about things that she may very well have experienced during her own lifetime. Jocelyn Green has crafted a wonderful historical romance novel while gently and skillfully weaving the powerful tenants of our Christian heritage into the storyline.

posted by CChanner on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

This is for the SAMPLER only (and says nothing about the actual

This is for the SAMPLER only (and says nothing about the actual book)!! I do not care for samplers and usually will NOT get them....but if get the first book for free and love it, I usually buy books 2, 3 and so on.

posted by Rumkimom on July 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Captivating historical fiction!

    I have just finished reading my copy of Wedded to War by Jocelyn Green, and I must say that I actually had to force myself to lay it aside in order to get some other necessary things accomplished in my day! I love the accurate historical details about the realities of life back in the days of the Civil War. The descriptions of the scenes are so true that the reader can seemingly see and, yes, even smell what the characters are experiencing, and the characters in the story are brought to life so well that we actually love and root for them, or detest them and pray that they will quickly get their just reward! I happen to have one of our country's first female doctors as an ancestor, so I am enjoying learning about things that she may very well have experienced during her own lifetime. Jocelyn Green has crafted a wonderful historical romance novel while gently and skillfully weaving the powerful tenants of our Christian heritage into the storyline.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    I've always loved fiction and it's ability to draw me into the s

    I've always loved fiction and it's ability to draw me into the story and forget all else about me. But what really gets my attention is when fiction can not only entertain,but also teach. Wedded to War by Jocelyn Green definitely caught my attention.

    As a purely fictional story, the characters and action never failed to invite me into the events. I laughed, cried, cheered and suppressed the urge to thrash a man or two. I love Charlotte's outspokenness. Most of my favorite lines from the book were her speaking. The gentleness of Alice, the sweetness of Ruby, and the gradual growth of all the characters who refused to let the men who braved the battle of the American Civil War fight disease alone combined to endear them all to me.

    But more than just a story, I learned so much! I've read Dr. Elizabeth Blackwell's story before, but seeing the women rise to the occasion of becoming the first female nurses in spite of the odds of war and the opinions of the men who thought them too soft was heartening. After reading a fictionalized version, I cannot imagine being in their shoes and handling it all as gracefully as they did. They are heros to be cheered and placed before our girls as examples of dedication, perseverance and steadfastness.

    Bible verses were sprinkled throughout, all well-placed and appropriate to the storyline without seeming forced. It was obvious which relied on God to get them through the difficulties of the War and how critical a key phrase from Scripture would help them refocus on the task at hand. I particularly liked the struggle of the Chaplain as he wrestled with God's goodness as he lived amongst the realities of battle.

    This may be Mrs. Green's debut fiction novel but it is an incredible book. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves historical romance or Civil War history.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Brilliant, meticulously researched historical fiction.

    This is one of the most exquisite works of historical fiction I've ever read. Based on the letters of an educated, wealthy young woman from New York City, Georgianna Woolsey, Jocelyn Green has created a cast of extraordinary characters, several others of which are also based on real people.

    At the heart of the novel is the foundation of the United States Sanitary Commission and the advent of women becoming nurses at the beginning of the Civil War. The first American woman to graduate from Yale Medical School and become a physician, Dr. Elizabeth Blackwell, was the primary force behind the radical notion that women could make effective nurses. As Dr. Blackwell expected, the male medical establishment was not supportive of her ideas, to say the least.

    Ms. Green does a phenomenal job of character development. Originally researching the subject for a historical non-fiction project, she decided to incorporate her research into a work of fiction. I am certainly glad that she did! The characters and the story were immersive and I learned quite a lot. I had no idea that a person whose life & works have always fascinated me, Frederick Law Olmsted, was the first Executive Secretary of the United States Sanitary Commission. His character was fleshed out extremely well. I could really feel his frustration as he fought to get the supplies, medicines and staffing he needed from the government.

    I loved the portrayal of strong, intelligent women who were fighting to do what they could to help the soldiers while meeting fierce resistance along the way. There was also a completely despicable villain - don't worry, no spoilers here! - and several moderately despicable villains.

    I will admit to some trepidation after reading "Praise for Wedded to War" at the beginning of the book. The genre of Christian Fiction is generally not my cup of tea. I'm so glad I didn't let that put me off. I felt that the religious discussions between the characters were completely appropriate.

    It was a wonderful read, and I'm sure I'll be thinking of the characters in the book for a long time to come.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    “We will be feeling these days for the rest of our lives



    “We will be feeling these days for the rest of our lives, perhaps-but now is our one moment to do. To act.” Wedded to War, by Jocelyn Green

    As a young woman of refined society in 1861 New York, Charlotte Waverly already was pushing the bounds of societal expectations and her mother’s anxiousness by volunteering in the notorious Five Points section of New York. But as the country descends into Civil War, a call for women to serve as nurses to the military reveals to Charlotte a drive in her heart even she seems to have never truly suspected. Despite her young age, which does not meet the commission’s qualifications, Charlotte manages to secure a place in the training program for Union Army nurses.

    What follows is an adventure involving not only Charlotte, but a cast of engaging characters that one cannot help but become deeply involved with as the story grows and develops with each chapter. With incredible accuracy and historical research, Jocelyn has created a picture of the Civil War era which leaps off the page. Very quickly, you will find yourself choosing sides, cheering for some characters while despising others. The mesmerizing story absolutely pulls you in.

    Not only is this an incredibly enjoyable read, it is also a story of encouragement and hope revolving around the themes of grace, redemption and what one can do when you listen to the voice of your heart and your God, instead of the surrounding culture. For a story that will enthrall and encourage, read Jocelyn Green’s Wedded to War.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    This book is amazing

    The characters in this book just come to life. The way the story flew of the pages was incredable. I love how true she stayed to the actual people. I cant wait to read the next book in the series. Anyone who is a fan of civil war, or a sticler for historical accuracy must read this book, the details given wer splendid.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Historical drama inspired on the battlefield at Gettysburg Thoug

    Historical drama inspired on the battlefield at Gettysburg
    Though raised in privilege and properly schooled in how to assume her place in New York society, Charlotte "Charlie" Waverly was nevertheless innately endowed with the character, determination, and piety of earlier generations of America's pioneer stock. Through richly descriptive narration,  author Jocelyn Green passionately weaves the conflicting tensions of her characters through the many stations and venues of discrimination and heartache during the early stages of the Civil War. Blessed--or perhaps cursed with a driven spirit and sharp tongue, Charlotte threw off the social trappings and broadened the accepted Call to Arms for Victorian-era females with her desire to do God's will with an equal measure of God's grace. This book entices the reader with an accurate historical  perspective of a woman in that time--generations ahead of her time. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent fiction debut!

    Fascinating, dramatic, and romantic. Wedded to War by Jocelyn Green sheds light on the harrowing world of Civil War nursing through the eyes of a delightful heroine. Detailed research and a powerful message about mercy make this story a keeper.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Beautifully researched and written historical fiction about nurses in the Civil War

    I have been telling all my friends to read this. It was taken from correspondence of a real woman from the North. You will learn much and enjoy every bit. It describes the war and the society of the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Highly recommend it

    I know it is fiction, but it is a very good historical fiction book. At the end of sections Jocelyn Green has put parts of a diary of a real Civil War Nurse. It was hard to put the book down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    highly recommend

    The book revealed the struggles that women had in getting into nursing during the Civil War. It was well written and helped me to appreciate the hard times that these brave women went through to break into the field of nursing the wounded and dying during that time and for furture generations. I am looking forward to the next book in this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Historically Fascinating and Emotionally Raw

    I fell in love with this novel! I found myself completely enveloped in the historical references to life during the Civil War. The main character's pioneering venture into the field of nursing held so many unexpected challenges and frustrations. It was inspiring to discover the great lengths women went to during this era to serve both God and their country. Green also takes the reader through several significant prevailing questions in life including: What is God’s calling for me and how does He want me to serve Him? How will I respond when trial and tribulation fall on me? What role will love and marriage have in my life? It is no small feat to weave together a gripping historical account of life during the Civil War and still manage to effortlessly covey a beautiful love story. I found myself emotionally attached to the characters and sad to leave them when the story ended. You will not only enjoy this novel, but you will be waiting on the edge of your seat for the next!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    I enjoy Christian Fiction - contemporary, historical, super-natu

    I enjoy Christian Fiction - contemporary, historical, super-natural, suspense... Really most there is to offer in the Christian Fiction arena - I enjoy it because it is safe to read and reading is my favorite "me-time" activity.

    There are parts of Christian Fiction I'm not such a fan of though - witnessing through the characters, giving a salvation message, "preaching" as an addition to the storyline when it's really unnecessary. Wedded to War left that part of the genre out - Thank you Jocelyn Green! The characters' faith was portrayed in interesting, uplifting and relevant ways.

    This is not the typical "war + love + history" book either. There is so much more history than many other books of this style - being a history lover, it was very interesting to see real stories, documents, etc. throughout the pages - it really brought "history to life" Thank you, Jocelyn Green, for your intense research, for enlightening me on some of the "darker" sides of what could seem an idyllic time, and your intriguing story. I will try to wait patiently for the next book in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Loved it!

    I thoroughly enjoyed Wedded to War. As soon as I put my one year old down for nap or bedtime, I would start reading. Within minutes I would be transported back to the Civil War. I could identify with many of the characters: some I loved, some I loathed. I loved that the the story was inspired by the life of Civil War nurse Georgeanna Woolsey. I am a nurse so it was interesting to learn how difficult it was in the beginning for female nurses. I am looking forward to reading the rest of Heroines Behind the Lines series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Great book

    I loved this book! I have never read any book from the union side of the civil war before or from the nurses side like this

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Execellent Read

    This was an excellent read! Once I started reading this book I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Love it

    It very sad you need to get it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2014

    Sorry to see it end! I have read the other reviews, and I agree

    Sorry to see it end! I have read the other reviews, and I agree with the fact that this was a well written historical fiction. The strength of the characters, from the strong daughter to the pampered mom came through strong. My imagination captured the era through the excellent writing. I believe Jocelyn Green did a fantastic job portraying the different personalities, even to the scoundrel Phinneas. Looking forward to reading her other novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Really good book

    I love this book because it is your average war book just like the classics thank you author of this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    Loved this book!!

    This book is fantastic! As soon as I was done with this I read the 2nd book in the series, Widows of Gettysburg and it was a great read too! Would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    SUPER-GIRL.... questioning... because my name is Charlotte

    ?......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4