Customer Reviews for

The Wedding

Average Rating 4.5
( 941 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(598)

4 Star

(193)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

LIKE FIXING A MARRIAGE...WITH HOPE!

"The Wedding" is a sequel to Nicholas Sparks' well known novel, "The Notebook". However, calling it a sequel is techincally incorrect because it doesn't continue the story of Noah and Allie, but instead, it is a story of their daughter and her marriage. Like many couple...
"The Wedding" is a sequel to Nicholas Sparks' well known novel, "The Notebook". However, calling it a sequel is techincally incorrect because it doesn't continue the story of Noah and Allie, but instead, it is a story of their daughter and her marriage. Like many couples would experience, Wilson and Jane found something missing in their marriage. Wilson realized that he spent too much time working, and too little time at home. The distance between him and his wife had grown over the year, and he was afriad that it would be too late for him to fix the marriage. Wilson was still deeply in love with his wife, therefore he turned to Noah for advice. Noah is known as "the hopeless romance", but will he be able to help Wilson? What will Wilson do to rekindle the love between him and Jane? As in many Sparks' novel, a surprising twist is waiting in the end, and it is not an ordinary Sparks' twist (don't want to spoil too much). I highly recommend "The Wedding", and if you haven't read "The Notebook" yet, you should (but it's not required because this could be a stand-alone novel). Also, "Message In A Bottle", "A Walk To Remember", and "Dear John" by Nicholas Sparks are also highly recommended!

posted by 148253 on November 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Every Woman's Dream

Every woman dreams of a story such as this for their own lives. Overall, I found the story to be very realistic when it came to how husband and wife drift apart after thirty years of marriage, from taking each other for granted. On the other hand, the story was unrealis...
Every woman dreams of a story such as this for their own lives. Overall, I found the story to be very realistic when it came to how husband and wife drift apart after thirty years of marriage, from taking each other for granted. On the other hand, the story was unrealistic when it came to Wilson's actions in attempt to become more romantic and right his wrongs as a husband. Wilson's character seemed somewhat flat for 3/4's of the novel, but in the end his emotion and love shined through. If you are in need of a sweet love story, you will enjoy this read by Nicholas Sparks.

posted by VirtuousWomanKF on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 944 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 48
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    LIKE FIXING A MARRIAGE...WITH HOPE!

    "The Wedding" is a sequel to Nicholas Sparks' well known novel, "The Notebook". However, calling it a sequel is techincally incorrect because it doesn't continue the story of Noah and Allie, but instead, it is a story of their daughter and her marriage. Like many couples would experience, Wilson and Jane found something missing in their marriage. Wilson realized that he spent too much time working, and too little time at home. The distance between him and his wife had grown over the year, and he was afriad that it would be too late for him to fix the marriage. Wilson was still deeply in love with his wife, therefore he turned to Noah for advice. Noah is known as "the hopeless romance", but will he be able to help Wilson? What will Wilson do to rekindle the love between him and Jane? As in many Sparks' novel, a surprising twist is waiting in the end, and it is not an ordinary Sparks' twist (don't want to spoil too much). I highly recommend "The Wedding", and if you haven't read "The Notebook" yet, you should (but it's not required because this could be a stand-alone novel). Also, "Message In A Bottle", "A Walk To Remember", and "Dear John" by Nicholas Sparks are also highly recommended!

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!

    THIS BOOK WAS ABOUSLTY BEAUTIFUL!!! I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN..I LOVED HOW ROMANTIC THIS BOOK WAS. THE ENDING OF THIS BOOK SURPRISED ME, DIDN'T KNOW IT WAS COMING...
    I LOVE NICHOLAS SPARKS....HE KNOWS EXACTLY HOW TO EMBRASS YOU INTO HIS BOOKS AND TO KEEP YOU WANTING MORE..I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO ANYONE THAT LOVES TO READ...KEEP THE BOOKS COMING!!!!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    BOOK REVIEW

    When I picked up this book to read I was hoping for a romantic love story. I'm a teenager that frequently wonders what men are thinking. The Wedding gives a great example of one man's point of view regarding his relationship with his spouse of 21 years. His desire was for the woman of his life to love him again. So indeed it had what I was looking for and did an excellent job on communicating the importance of a marriage.
    I believe that the most important part of this novel is that Wilson, the main character and narrator, was able to rekindle the flames in his relationship with his wife. The author does an excellent job on describing how he got the candle lit, he takes the reader step by step, day by day in full detail. It isn't your typical love story. Most girls read love stories with a boy and girl that fight and eventually makeup. Unlike other books The Wedding portrays a couple that has been married for many years.
    I think that the one reason Wilson got through his marriage was because his father in-law, Noah, that had the same problem. Wilson always went to Noah for advice except for marriage advice because it was his wife's father, which was awkward for him. Noah gave Wilson a diary as a guideline for his next few weeks. In it contained vivid details as to what Noah did for his wife Allie each day. Noah is important because he gave Wilson the confidence and the strength to patiently wait for his wife to love him again.
    As Wilson got the fire going it told us that over the years his love for her had grown. The narrator shares his thought and his feelings towards her on how much he loves her. At this point in the story you get caught looking through the eyes of the narrator. As a female reader I began to know how some guys think.
    In addition to understanding the minds of men, the narrator helps us understand that he is willing to do anything and everything for her to stay with him. I think a key factor that he took in from Noah was that he had the patience. For example he made dinner for her and cleaned the house. When she came home she noticed but only assumed the worst. Wilson didn't know what to do when she asked him if he was seeing someone else. I would have given up, but Wilson hung in there.
    This romantic love story was well written. Its content made you feel as if you were the author. I strongly suggest that you read this if you need to know what it feels like to be in a marriage. Although no one has a perfect marriage, it's not worth giving up if you still love him or her.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    I fell instantly inlove and got hooked into the book quick. I finished reading the book within a day ! Thats how good it was . I would definetly recommend this book to who ever enjoys romance books and also if your a big fan of Nicholas Sparks himself <3

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Anonymous

    Best book ever
    Sweet, lovable, and caring people meet a chaotic wedding
    It sure looks like it will be fun

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Every Husband should read!

    This was a well written story from the husband's point of view that I greatly appreciated. I saw my husband of 35 yrs in this and it has made me fall in love with him again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    The Wedding is an achingly tender story about the enduring powe

    The Wedding is an achingly tender story about the enduring power of love. The setting takes planes in modern day in South Carolina. One of the major conflict is Wilson forgot his and Jane anniversary. That is when he realize the romance is gone and is trying to find his way back to Jane heart.The four main characters are Jane, Wilson, Noah, and Anna. Jane is the fun outgoing one who is extroverted. Wilson is Jane husband. He is the shy, quite type of guy he is a lawyer and spends a lot of time at work. Noah is Jane dad he is a really romantic type later on in the stroy gives Wilson love advice. Anna is the one getting marriedWhat I think is most important about this story is that it teaches you to be there for people that you love.Even when you are so busy family comes first no matter what. It also teaches you how to give and receive love. Like for example it teaches you to listen, pay attention and enjoy each others company with peolpe. I really recommand this book to anyone. Its a heartfelt love story about two people who fell back in love all over again after everything they had been through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Perfect sequel

    This book is the perfect sequel to the romantic love story of Allie and Noah Calhoun. It was touching, romantic, breath-taking, suprising and a true Nicholas Sparks novel. If you read any of his books, then this is it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Twister

    I recomend reading The Notebook first. This is a sequel to The Notebook. It has you thinking one way, but ends another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Beautiful!

    If you loved the Notebook you will sure love this. It's romantic, funny, and has an AWESOME story. I laughed, cried.. I was basically sucked in right away and couldn't put the book down! READ IT!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Every Woman's Dream

    Every woman dreams of a story such as this for their own lives. Overall, I found the story to be very realistic when it came to how husband and wife drift apart after thirty years of marriage, from taking each other for granted. On the other hand, the story was unrealistic when it came to Wilson's actions in attempt to become more romantic and right his wrongs as a husband. Wilson's character seemed somewhat flat for 3/4's of the novel, but in the end his emotion and love shined through. If you are in need of a sweet love story, you will enjoy this read by Nicholas Sparks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    Is it possibly for a man to truly change? You can find out by reading this story.

    The Wedding by Nicholas Sparks is an amazing novel. The theme in this story is love and renewal, which is addressed in several ways in the novel. The author's purpose is to touch reader's hearts and also answering a question that the main character had asked himself in the beginning of the story. The story takes place in New Bern. The main character is Wilson Lewis, a prestigious estate lawyer. The problem that Wilson has is that he is losing his wife. His absentminded neglect of his relationship with his wife, Jane, comes to a head when he forgets their twenty-ninth anniversary. Her response brings Wilson to the realization that Jane may no longer be in love with him. The story fulfills its purpose very well by showing us readers the true feelings of a man. The question is answered and I was touched like it has touched many other readers. At a point in the book when you think that all else has failed for this man's marriage, you realize that he finally finds the words he had been searching for to win his wife's heart back. Nicholas Sparks did a very good job, because he gave no clue to what was really going to happen at the end. I, who doesn't like reading, couldn't put the book down for even a minute. It was romantic and the ending was very shocking and unexpected. I definitely give this book a 10.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Rosencrans 4th Period

    The book The Wedding by Nicholas Sparks was an absolute amazing book. But, to understand this book you most deffinatly need to read the first book. At the beginning it was very difficult for me to understand because I just knew the story from the movie the Notebook. But overall this was a very good book. It adds on from the movie and gives you and idea of what all happens. Through this book, there are hard times in marriage and Wilson decides he will do anything to keep his marriage alive with Jane. Wilson keeps everything going by looking back at the memories and examples from Noah and Allie which inspires life together and his guide. Wilson makes it his vow to make Jane happy and make his wife fall all over in love with each other and live life happily ever after. This book deffinatly deserves a 9 in my opinion. I thought it was very very good! This book reminds you what love it, and how much someone really means to you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    The best book I've ever read

    VERY GOOD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Great story!

    Very nice love story. I really liked that it promotes fidelity and working to improve one's marriage. You can still understand it even if you haven't read The Notebook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Highly recommended!

    I am a huge fan of Nicholas Sparks and this story is just amazing. His writing style makes everything feel so real.
    It is not your typical love story but it is the kind that will make you tear up in the end (as most of his stories that I have read).
    I am currently in the process of reading it again just because of how lovely it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Dylan

    Here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Couldn't put it down!

    Excellent read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Must read

    A classic. Nicholas sparks best work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Love it !

    Perfect lovestory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 944 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 48