BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Wedding

Average Rating 4.5
( 946 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(603)

4 Star

(193)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

LIKE FIXING A MARRIAGE...WITH HOPE!

"The Wedding" is a sequel to Nicholas Sparks' well known novel, "The Notebook". However, calling it a sequel is techincally incorrect because it doesn't continue the story of Noah and Allie, but instead, it is a story of their daughter and her marriage. Like many couple...
"The Wedding" is a sequel to Nicholas Sparks' well known novel, "The Notebook". However, calling it a sequel is techincally incorrect because it doesn't continue the story of Noah and Allie, but instead, it is a story of their daughter and her marriage. Like many couples would experience, Wilson and Jane found something missing in their marriage. Wilson realized that he spent too much time working, and too little time at home. The distance between him and his wife had grown over the year, and he was afriad that it would be too late for him to fix the marriage. Wilson was still deeply in love with his wife, therefore he turned to Noah for advice. Noah is known as "the hopeless romance", but will he be able to help Wilson? What will Wilson do to rekindle the love between him and Jane? As in many Sparks' novel, a surprising twist is waiting in the end, and it is not an ordinary Sparks' twist (don't want to spoil too much). I highly recommend "The Wedding", and if you haven't read "The Notebook" yet, you should (but it's not required because this could be a stand-alone novel). Also, "Message In A Bottle", "A Walk To Remember", and "Dear John" by Nicholas Sparks are also highly recommended!

posted by 148253 on November 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Every Woman's Dream

Every woman dreams of a story such as this for their own lives. Overall, I found the story to be very realistic when it came to how husband and wife drift apart after thirty years of marriage, from taking each other for granted. On the other hand, the story was unrealis...
Every woman dreams of a story such as this for their own lives. Overall, I found the story to be very realistic when it came to how husband and wife drift apart after thirty years of marriage, from taking each other for granted. On the other hand, the story was unrealistic when it came to Wilson's actions in attempt to become more romantic and right his wrongs as a husband. Wilson's character seemed somewhat flat for 3/4's of the novel, but in the end his emotion and love shined through. If you are in need of a sweet love story, you will enjoy this read by Nicholas Sparks.

posted by VirtuousWomanKF on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    good story

    this is a good story and he does the story justice because of the tie-in with the other book so far Sparks has keep me into reading more I hope to read more of his books and I hope he continues to write good stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Another great Nicholas Sparks story.

    This books holds your interest and drops an extra surprise at the end. You can always count on Nicholas Sparks to provide a book that you want to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    So - so - not the best

    The story seemed a bit trite and dragged in many places. I liked his other books much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Loved it

    I read it a long time ago in hardcover before i got my nook. ShelleyMA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Well written but oh so boring!

    Sweet and well written but couldn't possibly get any more boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    The only disappointment I have ever gotten from Sparks

    I am a Nicholas Sparks fan but this book was extremely disappointing. I kept reading thinking at any moment it would pick up. Well, it did, for about two pages in the second to last chapter. Other than that, it was very slow and dull. The characters are well written. It is the same Sparks writing style you are used to. The plot lacks elements that typically make it impossible to put a Sparks novel down. I could have easily put this book down and never picked it back up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    'Pretty Mushy'

    It's a little mushy for my book preferences, but I did enjoy the swan connection in the story. I thought the female swan included a-----wait a minute thinking moment. She was magical thinking and kindness. If you are looking for a romantic read, this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2005

    The Wedding ruined The Notebook

    I was really disappointed with this book. It was really slow and how Sparks brought Noah back in to this book ruined the sad but sweet ending of the Notebook. And the surprise wedding at the end was just too weird. The swan was the only good thing about this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2004

    Expected more out of this one!

    After reading 'The Notebook' and thoroughly enjoying it, I was anxious to read 'The Wedding.' However, I was not that impressed. I thought Sparks could have done a much better job with this one, especially since you'd think it had a lot to live up to having followed 'The Notebook.' I love Sparks as a writer, but this book was almost a drag! It kept the same tone throughout. I mean, I thought by reading the cover there was going to be a lot more turmoil in the marraige & more to reconcile. I guess I was expecting something much, much more. The ending earned the 2 stars for this book, but thats about it. Sparks should continue to write suspenseful books such as 'The Guardian.' I really don't see where all these 5 stars are coming from. Two positives... the character of Noah and his swan! Borrow it... don't buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2003

    Wedding

    This book was so dull...I am amazed at the 5 star reviews. I am a huge Nicholas Sparks fan and was hoping that he got the magic of his earlier novels back...NOT. If you want to read a book explain every little detail about planning a wedding then this is a good book to read, maybe it should be in the reference section. If you are reading it hoping for magic of Allie and Noah, skip this book. I suggest you reread The Notebook or Shade of the Maple by Kirk Martin, both of those books are touching and magical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2003

    Read one, read them all...

    I loved 'A Walk to Remember' and then read everything else Nicholas Sparks has ever written. The problem is they are all so alike that once you've read one you've read them all. There is no action in this book and I was really bored. The end was so predictable after reading the others. 'A Walk to Remember' was his best I think. This and others have been disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    Not his best

    I LOVE Nicholas Sparks! He is by far my favorite author.....that being said, if this book was written by someone else, I would've thought it was a decent book. I expect more for Nicholas Sparks and he didn't get it this time. I know he can do better than he did w/ this book, i've seen it in all of his others. It's the first Nicholas Sparks book I didn't love. It wasn't a horrible read, it was just ok. I have never read a book that was 'just ok' by Nicholas Sparks. I will continue to read him though, because he is the best still. Nicholas, if you are reading this, I am still a fan!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    Wedding

    I have been a fan on Nicholas Sparks for about 5 years now. I buy everyone of his books as soon as they come out. I am afraid to say that is going to change now...this book was a huge disappointment. I must say that the last three have disappointed me. Bend in the Road was the first to let me down, Nights in Rodanthe continued the downward trend and The Wedding was the final straw. This was the story of an average marriage; a man and a woman growing apart over time. In my opinion using the characters from The Notebook was a cheap ploy to pull in readers. These characters were average and pulling Noah and Allie into was unnecessary. Those two should have been left alone. If you are looking for the magic of Noah and Allie skip this book and read The Notebook again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2003

    So-So Read

    I have read all but one of Nicholas Sparks' novels and have enjoyed every one of them, but this one kind of struck me the wrong way. It wasn't a bad novel or a boring story, but there were things in it that just seemed, well, rather hokey, and predictible too. I found myself rolling my eyes frequently and wishing that the main character, Wilson, wasn't such a sap and so doting on his wife. I have never known a man like Wilson and to be honest, I would never want one like him in my life. It would drive me nuts, or like Wilson's wife, Jane, I would think something was up, like an affair was going on. Sure, attention and love and caring are very important in relationships, but I felt Wilson went way overboard and this drove me crazy while I was reading. Nicholas Sparks really knows how to tug on the heart strings and his stories are nice and fulfilling, but like other best selling authors, I think he's fallen into the trap of formula writing. I can't say that I'll never read another one of his novels, but he'll have to come up with something better than this one to pique my interest in his writing again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    Not Great....

    I have read all of Sparks' books and with each one, I couldn't put it down or couldn't WAIT to wake up in the morning to read (if I didn't finish it in one day!). With 'The Wedding', after the first half of the book, I had to MAKE myself pick it up again and MAKE myself finish it! I just found it boring and uneventful and I was SO disappointed with this book...just so disappointed that it wasn't as wonderful as all the others....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2003

    A sappy follow-up to The Notebook.

    Wilson Lewis has been married for thirty years, and after all these years he remains as much in love with his wife, Jane, as he was when he first met her, unfortunately, Jane feels differently, and is contemplating leaving him. When Wilson and Jane¿s daughter springs the news on them that she is getting married, Jane seizes the opportunity to plan a romantic day for her daughter, but Wilson seizes the opportunity to rekindle the dying romance of his own marriage. As the wedding day approaches, Wilson learns a great lesson in life and love from his father in-law Noah, a man whose failing health won't stand in the way of his romantic memories of the past. `The Wedding¿ is an overly romantic novel that suffers from several faults. The first fault of the novel was in the fact that Jane had no good reason to be unhappy in her marriage, her husband was a good guy who, other than losing track of himself over the years, was still in love with her. Fault number two was in the character Wilson who, instead of talking to his wife about what was on her mind, went above and beyond what anyone would do to save a relationship that shouldn¿t be in trouble in the first place. And, the third fault was the involvement of Noah and Allie (the stars of Spark¿s first bestseller `The Notebook¿) romance. Nicholas Sparks is a good writer, one of the best actually when it comes to popular fiction, but `The Wedding¿ isn¿t proof of it; the story plods along rather slowly, while cheesy dialogue fills almost every page, leading to a climax that is not only silly, but sappy. `The Wedding¿ is not a great book, but it will be a bestseller due in part to Spark¿s name, and the fact it¿s the long awaited follow-up to `The Notebook.¿ Nick Gonnella

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2