Customer Reviews for

The Wedding

Average Rating 4.5
( 941 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(598)

4 Star

(193)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

LIKE FIXING A MARRIAGE...WITH HOPE!

"The Wedding" is a sequel to Nicholas Sparks' well known novel, "The Notebook". However, calling it a sequel is techincally incorrect because it doesn't continue the story of Noah and Allie, but instead, it is a story of their daughter and her marriage. Like many couple...
"The Wedding" is a sequel to Nicholas Sparks' well known novel, "The Notebook". However, calling it a sequel is techincally incorrect because it doesn't continue the story of Noah and Allie, but instead, it is a story of their daughter and her marriage. Like many couples would experience, Wilson and Jane found something missing in their marriage. Wilson realized that he spent too much time working, and too little time at home. The distance between him and his wife had grown over the year, and he was afriad that it would be too late for him to fix the marriage. Wilson was still deeply in love with his wife, therefore he turned to Noah for advice. Noah is known as "the hopeless romance", but will he be able to help Wilson? What will Wilson do to rekindle the love between him and Jane? As in many Sparks' novel, a surprising twist is waiting in the end, and it is not an ordinary Sparks' twist (don't want to spoil too much). I highly recommend "The Wedding", and if you haven't read "The Notebook" yet, you should (but it's not required because this could be a stand-alone novel). Also, "Message In A Bottle", "A Walk To Remember", and "Dear John" by Nicholas Sparks are also highly recommended!

posted by 148253 on November 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Every Woman's Dream

Every woman dreams of a story such as this for their own lives. Overall, I found the story to be very realistic when it came to how husband and wife drift apart after thirty years of marriage, from taking each other for granted. On the other hand, the story was unrealis...
Every woman dreams of a story such as this for their own lives. Overall, I found the story to be very realistic when it came to how husband and wife drift apart after thirty years of marriage, from taking each other for granted. On the other hand, the story was unrealistic when it came to Wilson's actions in attempt to become more romantic and right his wrongs as a husband. Wilson's character seemed somewhat flat for 3/4's of the novel, but in the end his emotion and love shined through. If you are in need of a sweet love story, you will enjoy this read by Nicholas Sparks.

posted by VirtuousWomanKF on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 193 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Sweet, a sequel to the Notebook.

    So maybe I'm being a little unfair because I'm judging this book against The Notebook instead of others out there, hence the four stars. It was truly a good love story, one most people can relate to. It reminds us that every relationship needs work and that it is a choice we make each day to stay with who we love. It gives us hope that there are second chances, mistakes can be forgiven, and time is very valuable. This book starts off slow and does get better as it progresses, and of course the ending is the best. I loved it but it didn't pull at my heart the way The Notebook did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Good read, page turner

    Not as moving as the notebook, but will definitely keep you on your toes wanting more

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    the wedding

    hit close to home

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    good read

    really ejoyed this follow-up to the Notebook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    love it

    if u have been married for a long time make ur husband read this. just makes u wish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A touching romance with unconventional characters and an ending that will melt even the toughest heart.

    I loved this book. It is a slow boil and requires patience. There's not a lot of action or thrilling mystery to uncover. It's all about real characters in a real situation and you can't help but fall in love with the people involved.

    Sparks is a very warm, insightful author who doesn't need drama or action to fluff his books. He goes right for the heart and tugs gently, insistently, until you don't realize he's holding it in his hand by the end and gently squeezing.

    A worthy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Very Sweet Love Story....Not as Touching as The Notebook

    The reason I wanted to read this follow-up to "The Notebook" was because I found the love story of Allie and Noah to be so endearing. This one however lacked the spark that the previous book had, but it was a good read overall. It is not the emotional tearjerker that anyone would expect, especially if you already read "The Notebook".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Touching, reminds you not to take the ones you love most for granted.

    The Wedding was a gentle reminder to let those whom you love and value the most know that they are key in your life. Sparks uses Wilson's life to nudge us into to reflecting on our own lives and look at some of the simple things we have let go or given less attention to.

    Noah, Wilson's aging, ever romantic father-in-law helps him understand through the example of his own life the importance of showing and sharing love.

    The Wedding is heart warming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A true heart moving story

    This was a great story like most from Nicholas Sparks. This man who has always been so worried about providing for his family, relizes he's barely been around for his kids or his wife, and then on his thirtieth wedding annivarsary that he completely forget about he decides to make a change.
    And all this comes through his daughter's wedding plans. This story is very touching in so many ways i hope that one day i can be the father and husband this man becomes that would be a true blessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Perfect sequel to The Notebook

    You had to have read the first book in order to understand this book; you couldn't have just watched The Notebook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Nicholas Sparks fan!

    I have'nt read a good love story in awhile so for V-day I decided to read this, (I've read The Notebook already, so I knew Sparks wouldnt let me down). I just love this book, it made me think of my parents who were married for 39 years before my dad passed away. Such an amazing story! its also great keeping up with Noah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    Worth Reading

    Originally I was very sceptical about this book. It is labled as the sequel to "The Notebook'', but in reality has little to do with the orignal characters, Noah and Allie. I actually started reading this book and put it down for months for I was a little disappointed in the lack of resemlance to "The Notebook''. After picking it up again; however, I was pleasantly surprised to find such a romantic and good story. the book starts off kind of slow, but has an amazing twist at the end to make it all worth while.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2007

    Leaves you with a smile...

    Very delightful story about a long-term marriage in trouble. Sparks' definitely has a way of showing us that anything is possible. Great plot and even better ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2007

    This was amazing!

    i recently finished reading this book, and it was amazing. as i see it, the book didnt have much to it, but Sparks' vivid descriptions and clever use of words keep you wanting to keep reading! id reccomend this book for all romantics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2007

    TOUCHING

    Could not have thought of a better way to end this book. Made my heart melt and I could not put it down. I was happy to have read this on a long airplane flight, since it made the time pass by quickly! BRAVO!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    Perfect for the occasion

    I loved this book. It related so much with what is going on in my life. I am planning my wedding right now and reading this book gave me encouragement that everything will get done in time. After reading it I am also more aware of things I can do to keep my relationship healthy with my fiance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2006

    Romantic, Cute Story with a Good Twist

    You have to read the Note Book first to understand this book better. Wilson is Noah's son in-law whose marriage started to stale off after 30 years. He was filled with guilt when he forgot his 30th anniversary and afraid of losing his wife. So he tried to revive his marriage again and retain back the love from his wife. The process of it was really cute and romantic. It was kind of boring from the beginning but the story twisted and ended well. This book is a good reflection of our marriage lives. I recommend it for a lot of couples whose married lives start to wear down to read this book. Many methods that Wilson used in this book are practical and romantic enough to make your wife love you again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    If you liked 'The Notebook'

    Loved this book........it's about a husband who realizes how much he really loves his wife and how he never really let her know it. The wife happens to be the daughter of Noah from 'The Notebook'. Great read and would highly recommend it!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2006

    Nicholas Sparks Does it Again!

    With this offering, Nicholas Sparks reminds us that it's never too late to rekindle that lost bit of romance. Wilson is a likable character who's been so intent on being able to provide financially for his family that he forgets the most important thing of all, emotional support. By the time he realizes this, it's almost too late, or is it? This novel will keep you turning the pages until the very end and will leave you feeling satisfied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    The Wedding Details

    I really liked The Wedding by Nicholas Sparks because throughout the whole novel it kept me very interested and wondering what would happen next. This is by far my favorite romance novel. It was interesting to see how Jane and Wilson fell out of love with each other and they had to work together to rediscover their love. I like the fact that they learned something new about each other. Jane learned to be more spontanious and Wilson learned to be more romatic. I like the fact that the whole family comes together for the wedding and they rediscover their love for one another. I like the whole theme that if someone falls out of love with you after thirty years of marriage, it is your responsibility to make them fall in love with you all over again. It also talks about the fact that your loved ones are not going to be here with you forever so you should enjoy what time youu do have together. I also like the fact that he talks about Noah and Allie from The Notebook. Eventhough by this time Allie has passed away Noah is still in love with her and he still believes that she is still with him eventhough everyone thinks that he is crazy. Noah gives the main character advice since he is married to his daughter. Most of the novel takes place at Noah's house because there is a lot of sentimental value there and that's where the wedding will be taking place. I really recommend this book for people who like to read romance novels. Although this isn't your typical romance novel it still has all the elements that you look for in a romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 193 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10