Customer Reviews for

Wedding Bell Blues (The Piper Cove Chronicles)

Average Rating 4
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2008

    Another great from Avon Inspire

    What a wonderful book. Avon Inspire impresses me once again. So far with all of their books I have read, I have loved, not just liked, but loved every single one! Previously, I have read Linda Windsor's Scottish historical series and enjoyed it, but this book is way fabulous beyond that series. I cannot wait to read the sequel 'For Pete's Sake'. I'm glad I own it already, but it's too bad that it's packed for the move... *sigh* br/ br/ Alexandera, the main character in this story undergoes a lot of stress, and a lot of real life. Through her journey with family, friends, and Christ a reader can really get pulled into looking at where their own life is with listening silently to what we are to hear. I fully enjoyed this story with the ensemble of characters, and when I thought the book couldn't get any better a bit of a mysterious twist was thrown in that was great fun as well to uncover. br/ br/ I really enjoyed this book, and I'd relate it to Rachel Hauck's 'Sweet Caroline' and 'Love Starts with Elle'. It is a book that I would should just about anyone read. It's a good vacation or weekender that will make you smile and sigh with contentment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2008

    I Had the Blues Reading This Book

    I had read this author's other book first, For Pete's Sake, and really liked it, so when I found out about this one, I was quite excited. Disappointment quickly set in and I had to FORCE myself to finish the story. The main character, Alex, was so unlikeable I found myself wishing Josh 'her love interest' would find someone else. Alex constantly did the wrong thing, moaned to God about it, and then asked God to make everything right. She never seemed to grow and learn. Her personality grated on my nerves and I was unable to root for her or her situation. How unfortunate, when For Pete's Sake was exactly the opposite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2007

    Wedding Bell Romance

    The first installment of The Piper Cove Chronicles from Linda Windsor shines with good writing and fun deeply layered characters. This is the first book of Linda Windsor¿s that I¿ve read, but it won¿t be the last. She writes with a sensitivity that allowed me, as a reader, to fully engage with the characters and see both Alex and Josh¿s perspectives. And there are huge hurdles in this romance. Much more than the fact that he left her with only a note 16 years ago. While the old sparks and attraction are still there, Alex isn¿t willing to jump into his arms and repeat the mistakes of the past. And the characterization fully supports her reactions. The setting is the fun Maryland Eastern Shore which Linda writes well. I could practically see the community and the real ones that surround it. There is also a full cast of supporting characters who add to the book¿s warmth and layering. And I have a feeling her girlfriends will find themselves in leading roles in future books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    Wedding Bell Blues

    Like always, this author has built characters that have a sense of humor, as well as some short comings. Alex's biggest short coming is the fact that she is afraid to trust. To trust God and to trust Josh. She's also too impetuous. But what's great about her is that she recognizes her failings and is the first to admit them. I love the fact that she is very believable. And Josh. Well, I just love him. I love how he fights for what he wants. And he wants Alex. He's determined to show her that his faith is real and that it has changed his life. The Bosom Buddies. What a unique group of friends these women are! I'm looking forward to reading each of their story in turn. I think that my favorite character is the little girl who is sitting on the swing with Alex at the end of the book. She's such an imp that it reminds me of my friends who have young children. I don't want to wait until the next one is done to read Ellen's story. Or Jan's. Or Sue Ann's. I'm totally hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    inspirational second chance at love

    In Piper Cove, designer Alexandra ¿Alex¿ Turner is stunned to see her ex- husband rock star Josh Turner in town, as this is not the type of place for a person like him even if he is back to attend her younger sister's wedding as the best man. However, Josh has an ulterior motive for coming home earlier than he had too. He has radically changed his life having found the Lord and wants a second chance with the woman he still loves. Alex also loves Josh, but does not trust him with her heart. Josh knows his work is cut out for him to prove to Alex he is not the same person who hurt her. As she struggles with her father¿s health and his giving away the home she cherishes to her sibling as a wedding present while also helping her sister with her upcoming nuptials, Alex turns to the bible for solace, but has troubles with accepting that ¿to err is human to forgive divine¿. --- This inspirational second chance at love tale stars two likable individuals who made lack of communication mistakes their first time around leading to their separation and divorce. The secondary cast, mostly the townsfolk, enhances the deep look at the fully developed lead couple. Readers will root for them to find a way back to each other. Although some passages might stun parts of the audience with their titillating metaphors, fans will enjoy this warm tale of history repeating itself as love may not prove enough once again. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the romantic tension. Great stuff!

    This is the first novel I've read by Linda Windsor and now I'm wondering what took me so long to delve into her stories. I own several more, which I will soon be reading, especially if they are all as good as this book was. I really enjoyed the tension between characters. Especially the hero and heroine. The longing for each other, and yet trying-to-remain-aloof-but-not-succeeding portion of the story kept me smiling. I love a book that has passionate kissing in it, especially when the two people who are drawn together also feel like they shouldn't succumb to what they long for. That makes for the best romantic tension. And this book has fabulous kissing and romance, yet they never fall into dangerous territory because Joshua is heroic enough to flee temptation. The author has a gift for description, making your heart float at times. She also has a great sense of humor and uses witty metaphors. Incredibly romantic, this novel had just enough sizzle to hook me on her books for life. Not to reduce it to sizzle, because the spiritual element was deep and edifying as well, but I SO love an inspirational novel that has more than just one kiss at the end. Trust me, if you love romantic tension, great character arcs and an interesting plot, this story has a gourmet distribution of them all. Delicious and addicting. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1