Customer Reviews for

Wedding Belles

Average Rating 3.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The South Rides Again

    It was a funny, touching book that helped the south to come alive again. It shows the strength of womanhood without the bashing of men. And lessons were taught and learned along the way by this reader. A wonderfull book that I didn't want to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wedding Belles by Haywood Smith is the third novel in the Red Ha

    Wedding Belles by Haywood Smith is the third novel in the Red Hat series. Are you ready to take a walk down the aisle?
    Synopsis:
    You are invited to Wedding of Callie Baker and Wade Bowman. Callie has just announced to her parents that she plans to marry Wade Bowman who happens to be her father’s best friend. He is also known to Georgia her mother and the red hat club for his shenanigans in the past. These revelations have caused grave concerns for Georgia. Will she be happy for her daughter? Or will she cause a rift between the two? What solution will the red hats devise?
    My Thoughts:
    This is my first Haywood Smith novel. I was initially drawn to her because of the humor in her writing. She shares bits and pieces of her writing at her live events. Humor in writing can be a great asset. I felt she used it well in this novel. I enjoyed the characters. You will enjoy meeting Tiny, Pru, Linda, Diane, and others.
    How would you feel if your daughter came to you said I want to marry a man who is thirty years my senior? Would you be happy for her? These are the questions that Georgia must answer.
    I did not enjoy the local flavor that was mentioned throughout the novel. I am looking forward to reading another novel by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    Fun but unexplained loss of character from series TOO DISTRACTING.

    I loved the related stories by Haywood Smith, and would have loved this but for the glaring omission of one of the gang the series is based on. As a "modern" belle myself, it is fun to read a story based in the South. (I am more the generation of the ladies' children, but I enjoyed Smith's books and this one anyway!) I will say I found it VERY strange that a MAIN character that we spent so much time with in the series as a teen and an adult is totally missing. I thought maybe Smith just was going to say "and Susu up and moved". NOPE. It was a huge distraction for me that did take away from my reading of this one b/c I kept waiting for some clue as to why the character was gone and where she was. (I saw this mentioned in another review before buying and thought maybe it was a matter of just not enough detail....It was instead a very valid point. I probably would not have bought this one had I known how much it would distract me. Kind of like reading a sequel to 3 Mustketeers, and suddenly one is missing and NO ONE says anything.) For the women who were so close to make no mention of her in any of the narratives was just WEIRD. Other than that, book is easy to read and fun. I think it almost works better as a stand alone so you are not aware of the loss of Susu. IF the change in line up was addressed (even in a throw away/unsatisfying way), it would be best read with the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    The Red Hat Club Rides Again

    All the way to a wedding it seems. Members of the Red Hat Club reprise their roles in another installment of their lives. Missing however is SuSu, who apparently fell off the face of the earth never to be mentioned again. In her place kind of is the cousin of Linda from New York City. A recent widow who unfortunately didn't follow her husband to his grave.

    All this winds around the story of Georgia's daughter getting married. Should be a happy occassion, but she's marrying her father's best friend. More than enough fodder for the gossipmongers and for the Red Hat Club ladies to lament over.

    By the time the book ends you'll be glad it's all over and done with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Red Hat

    Great book. More adventures of Smith's Red Hat friends. I would suggest you start with her earlier books to have a good grasp of her characters. I look forward to more books by Haywood Smith

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    A book to take your mind off of the troubles of the times!

    'Nobody's perfect. So, a lot of the people on the beach are skinner than you. Big deal. There's always somebody older and fatter out there, too, so you might as well wear your bathing suit and enjoy yourself.' So begins Smith's latest book and unlike the previous reviewer, I loved it!!!! Being from the South and at an age where I can identify with Georgia's worries and fears, I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this read. This is one to share with friends and family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    Where the heck is SuSu?

    I adored the first two books about the adventures of the Red Hats. However, I am completely confused as to why a major member of the Red Hats was left out of Wedding Belles entirely as if she never existed. Susu McIntyre, Georgia's best friend from childhood, turned alcoholic stewardess, turned sober attorney is never mentioned. To be honest, she wasn't my favorite character in the first two books, but going through events such as Georgia's marriage without her is just plain strange. Were we not supposed to notice? Also, on a slightly less important note, little details throughout the book just don't match the others. For example, when ordering at their monthly Red Hat lunches, all the women take great pleasure in menu surfing, and then always order the same thing every time. In Wedding Belles, although the same foods are listed, they're ordered by the wrong women. There are several little things in this novel that flat out contradict the previous novels. Like the other novels, this book covers many years, and the little discrepancies are somewhat off-putting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1