Customer Reviews for

The Wedding Book: The Big Book for Your Big Day

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Relieved Planner

As a busy professional and a fairly recent graduate (with student loans!), I was looking for a way to plan my wedding in a way that was affordable and practical. I definitely couldn't afford a full-time planner but I also couldn't devote the time to researching everyth...
As a busy professional and a fairly recent graduate (with student loans!), I was looking for a way to plan my wedding in a way that was affordable and practical. I definitely couldn't afford a full-time planner but I also couldn't devote the time to researching everything on my own. This book has been extremely helpful in getting me started by identifying everything I will need to consider.

The book gives a general overview of every aspect of a wedding, but then goes into greater detail. It has questions for vendors, discusses how to address invitations for a formal or informal affair (including what to do with divorced parents, perfect for my fiance!), describes types of wedding dresses and floral arrangements, etc. I found the sections on the roles of each member of the bridal party to be extremely helpful. One of my favorite parts of the book are the little blurbs she adds about why we have certain wedding traditions. For example, brides toss a garder/bouquet because it was thought that having something that was worn by a bride would be good luck. This allowed the bride to give things away before being crowded by a tearing mob.

I will probably be buying another book as an organizer for the different vendors. However, I think this book is excellent for anyone planning a wedding, whether you're doing it on your own or hiring a planner. It helped to answer a lot of my questions and to get me started down the right track! I feel that if I was a wedding planner, this is the resource that I would have to make sure that I covered all my bases.

posted by ktkittia on January 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Part six! WHAT DOES DARTH VADER SAY?!

After that, Rootkit didn't remember much. However, she did remember tearing into camp, leaping the river and a sharp pain in her head.

"Rootkit! Wake up! You gotta get apperenticed!" A voice echoed in her head. Firepelt?
"Firepelt, she's coming around. Give her space."...
After that, Rootkit didn't remember much. However, she did remember tearing into camp, leaping the river and a sharp pain in her head.

"Rootkit! Wake up! You gotta get apperenticed!" A voice echoed in her head. Firepelt?
"Firepelt, she's coming around. Give her space." That was Stormnose, her voice clearer than her father's.
"Rootkit! It's almost sunhigh! Wake up already!" Badgerkit's mew was full of concern, although he was trying to hide it.
"Patience, Badgerkit! The day is still young; there's plenty of time," Mistheart's voice had no lag to it. It was clear as day.
Slowly, Rootkit opened her eyes. The world spun before her, coming into focus on the faces of Stormnose, Badgerkit,Mistheart and Firepelt. Each looked overjoyed to see her eyes.
"Rootkit! You're awake!" Badgerkit cried happily. "Wha…what happened last night?" She asked groggily.
"I found you out cold in the middle of camp, for some reason. Do you sleepwalk?" Stormnose asked. Her concience told her to go with it, so she did. "Err…yes," she lied. Stormnose shrugged. "Oh, no matter. It's time for you to become an apprentice," she mewed.
Her parents helped her up onto the sandy flooring of the medicine den. Shakily, she walked by herself to the clearing, where cats were already begginning to gather.
Mistheart gave her a quick lick on the head, looking on the verge of tears. "Good luck, sweetheart," she whispered, moving away.
Firepelt replaced her. "Go get 'em, Rudy," he coached. Smiling, Rootkit brushed her head against his russet chest before rushing off to her ceremony.
Squirrelstar cleared her throat. Immediotly, everyone snapped to attention. Surveying the cats, the dark red leader perched upon the old log began her speech.
"For moons, RiverClan has thrived. Prey is in abundance, we maintain peace between our borders, and no problem we can't solve has been thrown at us. And now, we will expand our luck, with the next generation of warriors!" Here she paused and gestured with her tail for the five kits to get up on the log with her. They obliged, Rootkit struggling due to her puny size.
"Stormkit, come forward," Squirrelstar mewed. "From this moment, this kit will be known as Stormpaw. His mentor will be Oaktail."
Stormpaw zoomed off the log, bashing his nose into the long tailed white tom's.
"Snowkit, come foreward," Squirrelstar called. "From this moment on, this kit will be known as Snowpaw. Her mentor will be Dawnstream."
Much more dignantly than Stormpaw, Snowpaw lept off the log and gracefully touched noses with the bluegray she.
This continued like this, until Wavepaw's mentor was Ravenclaw and Badgerpaw's Flynose.
Then it was Rootkit's turn.
"Rootkit, come foreward," Squirrelstar meowed. Careful to keep her head down, Rootkit shuffled up.
Squirrelstar leaned down. "Look up, Rootkit! Show everyone your beautiful green eyes," she suggested. There was something lining her voice, something she didn't recognize. So she let it go, peeking her head up a bit.
"From this moment on, this kit will be known as Rootpaw. Her mentor will be Cloudbreeze."
Carefully, Rootpaw picked her way to her mentor, touching her nose but not meeting her eyes. Then she stood by her.
Suddenly, Rootpaw realized what was in her Squirrelstar's voice. Something she never expected anyone to have for her.
Longing.
Pure longing.

Next part at house of cats result 2. See ya dere!
Yours mewly,
Rootflower

posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    Relieved Planner

    As a busy professional and a fairly recent graduate (with student loans!), I was looking for a way to plan my wedding in a way that was affordable and practical. I definitely couldn't afford a full-time planner but I also couldn't devote the time to researching everything on my own. This book has been extremely helpful in getting me started by identifying everything I will need to consider. <BR/><BR/>The book gives a general overview of every aspect of a wedding, but then goes into greater detail. It has questions for vendors, discusses how to address invitations for a formal or informal affair (including what to do with divorced parents, perfect for my fiance!), describes types of wedding dresses and floral arrangements, etc. I found the sections on the roles of each member of the bridal party to be extremely helpful. One of my favorite parts of the book are the little blurbs she adds about why we have certain wedding traditions. For example, brides toss a garder/bouquet because it was thought that having something that was worn by a bride would be good luck. This allowed the bride to give things away before being crowded by a tearing mob. <BR/><BR/>I will probably be buying another book as an organizer for the different vendors. However, I think this book is excellent for anyone planning a wedding, whether you're doing it on your own or hiring a planner. It helped to answer a lot of my questions and to get me started down the right track! I feel that if I was a wedding planner, this is the resource that I would have to make sure that I covered all my bases.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Excellent Wedding Book!!!

    I am an Event Planner with over 25 years of experience. When asked to teach an event planning class and to include the topic of weddings, I did a thorough search of all wedding books available at Barnes and Noble. I selected this book as a text for my class because it is all inclusive. It has all the details from marching down the aisle to various wedding traditions to allocating your budget. I highly recommend that you purchase this book whether you are planning a wedding for yourself or someone else.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    Very Detailed!

    This book says it all. It makes you think of anything and everything you may need for your wedding. It goes into detail about things you may not know a lot about and helps you to make decisions. It has budget worksheets that help you with all the little things. This book has everything, including a section on beach weddings, which I am doing! I bought this book before I decided to do a beach wedding. I thought I had bought this book for nothing until I turned to look at the index and they had a section on destination weddings. Amazing. It is a great books,especially if you have never ever helped plan a wedding or even attended one. It's great!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    Impressed Bride to Be

    This was the first book I bought after becoming engaged and it has it all. Mindy covers basic etiquette to ideas to everything wedding related. If your a bride to be this is a great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Part six! WHAT DOES DARTH VADER SAY?!

    After that, Rootkit didn't remember much. However, she did remember tearing into camp, leaping the river and a sharp pain in her head.

    "Rootkit! Wake up! You gotta get apperenticed!" A voice echoed in her head. Firepelt?
    "Firepelt, she's coming around. Give her space." That was Stormnose, her voice clearer than her father's.
    "Rootkit! It's almost sunhigh! Wake up already!" Badgerkit's mew was full of concern, although he was trying to hide it.
    "Patience, Badgerkit! The day is still young; there's plenty of time," Mistheart's voice had no lag to it. It was clear as day.
    Slowly, Rootkit opened her eyes. The world spun before her, coming into focus on the faces of Stormnose, Badgerkit,Mistheart and Firepelt. Each looked overjoyed to see her eyes.
    "Rootkit! You're awake!" Badgerkit cried happily. "Wha…what happened last night?" She asked groggily.
    "I found you out cold in the middle of camp, for some reason. Do you sleepwalk?" Stormnose asked. Her concience told her to go with it, so she did. "Err…yes," she lied. Stormnose shrugged. "Oh, no matter. It's time for you to become an apprentice," she mewed.
    Her parents helped her up onto the sandy flooring of the medicine den. Shakily, she walked by herself to the clearing, where cats were already begginning to gather.
    Mistheart gave her a quick lick on the head, looking on the verge of tears. "Good luck, sweetheart," she whispered, moving away.
    Firepelt replaced her. "Go get 'em, Rudy," he coached. Smiling, Rootkit brushed her head against his russet chest before rushing off to her ceremony.
    Squirrelstar cleared her throat. Immediotly, everyone snapped to attention. Surveying the cats, the dark red leader perched upon the old log began her speech.
    "For moons, RiverClan has thrived. Prey is in abundance, we maintain peace between our borders, and no problem we can't solve has been thrown at us. And now, we will expand our luck, with the next generation of warriors!" Here she paused and gestured with her tail for the five kits to get up on the log with her. They obliged, Rootkit struggling due to her puny size.
    "Stormkit, come forward," Squirrelstar mewed. "From this moment, this kit will be known as Stormpaw. His mentor will be Oaktail."
    Stormpaw zoomed off the log, bashing his nose into the long tailed white tom's.
    "Snowkit, come foreward," Squirrelstar called. "From this moment on, this kit will be known as Snowpaw. Her mentor will be Dawnstream."
    Much more dignantly than Stormpaw, Snowpaw lept off the log and gracefully touched noses with the bluegray she.
    This continued like this, until Wavepaw's mentor was Ravenclaw and Badgerpaw's Flynose.
    Then it was Rootkit's turn.
    "Rootkit, come foreward," Squirrelstar meowed. Careful to keep her head down, Rootkit shuffled up.
    Squirrelstar leaned down. "Look up, Rootkit! Show everyone your beautiful green eyes," she suggested. There was something lining her voice, something she didn't recognize. So she let it go, peeking her head up a bit.
    "From this moment on, this kit will be known as Rootpaw. Her mentor will be Cloudbreeze."
    Carefully, Rootpaw picked her way to her mentor, touching her nose but not meeting her eyes. Then she stood by her.
    Suddenly, Rootpaw realized what was in her Squirrelstar's voice. Something she never expected anyone to have for her.
    Longing.
    Pure longing.

    Next part at house of cats result 2. See ya dere!
    Yours mewly,
    Rootflower

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't live without it!

    I checked this book out from the library before getting it because so many wedding planning books do not cover everything you need to know to plan. THIS book DOES cover everything! The pictures are slightly lacking, but it is more about organizing and making sure you have all your bases covered. You can get cheap magazines or look online for pictures. This book is ALL I needed to plan my wedding. It's full of great ideas, traditions, and ettiquete. It includes definitions of different types of veils, dress styles, tuxes, flower meanings, etc. It's even better than websites. Very well organized and helpful. Pick this one! Trust me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Great step by step guide that makes you think of every detail!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Just bought.. cant wait to read it

    My boyfriend and I plan to get married eventually and now is the time to save plan. I just ordered this book and im excited to get it in the mail. I have high hopes that this book will give me a heads up on what to expect and plan for. :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    Best Comprehensive book I've found!

    WOW! This is a must read for all brides, grooms, wedding planners, and more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    GREAT BOOK!

    This was the first book I bought when I got engaged and it is the only wedding planning book I needed to buy. This book answered all my questions on planning a wedding and had tons of ideas. Every type of wedding is covered... its an encyclopedia of wedding info. I buy it for all my newly engaged friends and they love it too!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2009

    Great value

    This book has a lot of useful information! It's a great workbook for someone who will be event planning or for the bride to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    A Must Have for planning a wedding!

    well organized comprehensive wedding planning book.All the tools for planning a wedding are in here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2