Customer Reviews for

The Wedding Girl

Average Rating 4
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Wedding Girl

    If you don't know, Madeleine Wickham is the real name for Sophie Kinsella (pen name). Yeap, the one who wrote the highly successful Shopaholic series. Under her real name of Madeleine Wickham, she wrote several books which have more substance than the frothy ones under Sophie Kinsella. That's why she used a pen name to keep her styles of writing apart. What if your wedding was just a few days away, and a secret from your past suddenly reappears? Just a little sin of omission, something you forgot to tell anyone? This is what happens to Milly, when her wedding photographer is the same person who took casual photos of her as a bride ten years ago, a wedding that she never told anyone about. This was a marriage of convenience with a virtual stranger, and when Milly lost contact with the groom, she decided she could push the entire event far enough out of her mind to make it never exist. The Wedding Girl is a delightful story with a good mix of happy and sad that will cause the reader to think and enjoy. I always enjoy books by Madeline Wickham aka Sophie Kinsella.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute read

    I've read most of Wickham's other novels and so was prepared for a rather un-conclusive and not exactly happy ending and so was very pleasantly surprised at the ending of this novel. She proves that she can pull of a novel that doesn't shy away from the hard parts of life, deals with really complex and hard to solve problems, and still leaves nearly everything tied up at the end. I particularly enjoyed the dealings between Richard and his wife and him dealing with his past and what he wants for in the future. A must read for Wickham fans who might enjoy a little more settled ending then she usually leaves us with.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun, Light Read

    I picked up this book because I really enjoy Sophie Kinsella's writing style. I had yet to read a book under hear real name of Madeline Wickham, but I couldn't really tell much difference between this book and the books under her pen name. She has a quick wit and does a great job at creating lighthearted page-turners. This book was no exception. Sure, "bride-to-be has a secret" may not be the most original plot, but Wickham does a great job at keeping it fun and fresh. There were several scenes that made me chuckle out loud. Parts of it can be a little predictable (especially if you're good at picking up clues), but overall, I had a great time reading this book. It's perfect if you're looking for something light and fun.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    Sweet book

    Not as good as her Sophie Kinsella books, but this was enjoyable. Very sweet book. I tried reading another title by this author and didn't find it that great, but this one was worth reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    A Great Read

    Sophie Kinsella (Madeline) is an amazing writer. She has the great ability to mix together both laughter and romance into ne book. Often I find myself laughing outloud to the predicaments her characters get into. I also start feeling like if I personally know each character, I really get into the world of all of her books. That being said, this book is a great read, especially if your on a vacation on a beach and you just want to realx and get everything off your mind. You really get into the plight of Sadie and her necklace. I really reccomend this book and I truly love it alot! I would also like to reccomend all of Ms. Kinsella's (Madeline wickham's) other books, such as the shopaholic series and remember me? Also The gatecrasher, written as Wickham is great too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Love, Love Madeleine and Sophie she is the best at girl/romantic books

    I purchased this book right after I finished Twenties Girl and thought that nothing could top that book, and again I was very surprised how much I enjoyed reading The Wedding Girl. I guess I'm a hopeless romantic and will always enjoy these book. Cant wait to see what come out next. GREAT JOB MADELEINE

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    HILARIOUS!!!!

    The Wedding Girl is a fantastic read if you like Sophie Kinsella and read her other books. This book will have you laughing and may be even crying. You will want to read it again!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Good Summer Reading

    This is a good beach. Nothing too deep but delightful. Typical Madeleine Wickham. Girl gets into a mess and has to figure out a way out of it, but still has some touching moments especially towards the end. The tension between the groom and his father could've been written with more zest, but the book not mainly about them, so not a big deal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2009

    Entertaining

    This novel is a fun time! The plot and characters take you on a quick ride of fiction! I read this book in a day and loved it. There are parts that I laughed out loud and just like her other books, there are a few twists. Enjoy this by the beach, in bed or to get away from the mundanes of real life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very very very interesting!!

    I never got bored with this book! It was one of those that you think about for days afterwards! I think it is best compared to a soap opera! It's very dramatic and the unexpected happens. It's great! I would definitely advise anyone looking for a quick and fun read to read this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    GREAT BOOK - Couldn't put it down

    I just loved this book... Milly was a fun character.. You will love this book from start to finish.. (the end was a little - iffy) but all and all great book... Madeleine Wickham - Sophie Kinsella is amazing.. =)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Wedding Girl ---- As usual I really enjoyed this book. Keep

    The Wedding Girl ---- As usual I really enjoyed this book. Keep them coming - a fun, light and airy read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Just OK

    I just generally like the books this author writes, but I felt there wasn't that spark in the story line that would make it amazing. However, if you are looking for a simple guilty pleasure book to read with ease, this not a horrible option as along as you don't expect too much out of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    awesome read

    totally loved this book!! didn't want it to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Cute book

    Very cute book and enjoyable weekend read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Nothing special

    I usually like this author and find her writing entertaining but this story was lackluster for me. The end was abrupt and the characters changed a little too quickly for me to believe it. I wouldn't recommend this particular book but still remain an overall fan of the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Loved it

    I couldn't put this down. I couldn't wait to find out what would happen in the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    LOVED IT !

    Charming and delightful with endearing characters, this book was better than i expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Dreadful

    I love this author but this book was completely dreadful. I couldnt wait for it ti be finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Love It!

    I absolutely loved The Wedding Girl. I have been a huge fan of Sophie Kinsella (aka Madeleine Wickham) for years. I couldn't put it down. It has a Cinderella feel to it. I would highly recommend this book to my friends and family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8