Customer Reviews for

The Wedding Girl

Average Rating 4
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Wedding Girl

    If you don't know, Madeleine Wickham is the real name for Sophie Kinsella (pen name). Yeap, the one who wrote the highly successful Shopaholic series. Under her real name of Madeleine Wickham, she wrote several books which have more substance than the frothy ones under Sophie Kinsella. That's why she used a pen name to keep her styles of writing apart. What if your wedding was just a few days away, and a secret from your past suddenly reappears? Just a little sin of omission, something you forgot to tell anyone? This is what happens to Milly, when her wedding photographer is the same person who took casual photos of her as a bride ten years ago, a wedding that she never told anyone about. This was a marriage of convenience with a virtual stranger, and when Milly lost contact with the groom, she decided she could push the entire event far enough out of her mind to make it never exist. The Wedding Girl is a delightful story with a good mix of happy and sad that will cause the reader to think and enjoy. I always enjoy books by Madeline Wickham aka Sophie Kinsella.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute read

    I've read most of Wickham's other novels and so was prepared for a rather un-conclusive and not exactly happy ending and so was very pleasantly surprised at the ending of this novel. She proves that she can pull of a novel that doesn't shy away from the hard parts of life, deals with really complex and hard to solve problems, and still leaves nearly everything tied up at the end. I particularly enjoyed the dealings between Richard and his wife and him dealing with his past and what he wants for in the future. A must read for Wickham fans who might enjoy a little more settled ending then she usually leaves us with.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    A Great Read

    Sophie Kinsella (Madeline) is an amazing writer. She has the great ability to mix together both laughter and romance into ne book. Often I find myself laughing outloud to the predicaments her characters get into. I also start feeling like if I personally know each character, I really get into the world of all of her books. That being said, this book is a great read, especially if your on a vacation on a beach and you just want to realx and get everything off your mind. You really get into the plight of Sadie and her necklace. I really reccomend this book and I truly love it alot! I would also like to reccomend all of Ms. Kinsella's (Madeline wickham's) other books, such as the shopaholic series and remember me? Also The gatecrasher, written as Wickham is great too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Love, Love Madeleine and Sophie she is the best at girl/romantic books

    I purchased this book right after I finished Twenties Girl and thought that nothing could top that book, and again I was very surprised how much I enjoyed reading The Wedding Girl. I guess I'm a hopeless romantic and will always enjoy these book. Cant wait to see what come out next. GREAT JOB MADELEINE

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    HILARIOUS!!!!

    The Wedding Girl is a fantastic read if you like Sophie Kinsella and read her other books. This book will have you laughing and may be even crying. You will want to read it again!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very very very interesting!!

    I never got bored with this book! It was one of those that you think about for days afterwards! I think it is best compared to a soap opera! It's very dramatic and the unexpected happens. It's great! I would definitely advise anyone looking for a quick and fun read to read this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    GREAT BOOK - Couldn't put it down

    I just loved this book... Milly was a fun character.. You will love this book from start to finish.. (the end was a little - iffy) but all and all great book... Madeleine Wickham - Sophie Kinsella is amazing.. =)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Wedding Girl ---- As usual I really enjoyed this book. Keep

    The Wedding Girl ---- As usual I really enjoyed this book. Keep them coming - a fun, light and airy read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    awesome read

    totally loved this book!! didn't want it to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Loved it

    I couldn't put this down. I couldn't wait to find out what would happen in the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    LOVED IT !

    Charming and delightful with endearing characters, this book was better than i expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    very good stuff

    This book was great and I could not put it done. There were lots of surprises and several times I laughed out loud. If you are looking for a fun easy read that will surprise you, then you will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I really liked The Wedding Girl. Lots of interesting plot twists that I didn't see coming. Couldn't put it down. I had to know what would happen next. I do agree with some of the other reviewers that it was not as funny as her Sophie Kinsella books, but not bad in the humor dept. and definitely a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An enjoyable and Spicy Read

    I have always been a fan of Sophie Kinsella's writing, and I have been getting into her books that she writes as Madeleine Wickham. Although I will admit, I think that the "Kinsella" books are a bit more funny, whereas I feel that her "Wickham" books are a bit more drama. BUT, I did enjoy "The Wedding Girl".

    When Milly's past comes back to haunt her, you find yourself laughing and gasping about the turn of events. You may find yourself irritated with Olivia, and charmed by Simon- but the bumps and roads may make you gasp! Great read! Two Thumbs up!

    I highly recommend it to the fans of the author, as well as fans of the chick lit genre!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I was surprised!

    I've never really liked Wickham's books, although I do enjoy most of the books written under Sophie Kinsella, so that always made me wonder.

    However I was pleasantly surprised by The Wedding Girl--I found it highly enjoyable. Maybe it was just my mood, but I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3