Customer Reviews for

Wedding Night

Average Rating 4
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

SERIOUSLY?!

This is NOT a chat room!! Right now there are 18 "reviews" for this book right? Nope!!! There is only ONE! Go somewhere else if you want a hook-up or whatever! PLEASE!! And to whoever asked if this book is ok for an 11 yr. old the answer is NO. This book is meant to be ...
This is NOT a chat room!! Right now there are 18 "reviews" for this book right? Nope!!! There is only ONE! Go somewhere else if you want a hook-up or whatever! PLEASE!! And to whoever asked if this book is ok for an 11 yr. old the answer is NO. This book is meant to be read and enjoyed by adults and older teens. There are tons of books that are intended for pre-teens available on NOOK.
I'm sure that this is another stellar example of the wonderful stoytelling I've come to expect from this author, hence the 4 stars. Keep it to reveiws people.

posted by Aesclinn on April 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I've read all of the books authored by SK and was disappointed b

I've read all of the books authored by SK and was disappointed by this one.  While the 2 POVs added an unexpected element; I felt the Lottie storyline was too predictable and Lottie ended up being a little too irritating for me.  Really; she gets married without a 2nd t...
I've read all of the books authored by SK and was disappointed by this one.  While the 2 POVs added an unexpected element; I felt the Lottie storyline was too predictable and Lottie ended up being a little too irritating for me.  Really; she gets married without a 2nd thought?  I always like all of SK's heroines and did like Fliss but not so with Lottie.  Also, while there were some funny moments; in past books there has been more comedy.

posted by 18555645 on May 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    SERIOUSLY?!

    This is NOT a chat room!! Right now there are 18 "reviews" for this book right? Nope!!! There is only ONE! Go somewhere else if you want a hook-up or whatever! PLEASE!! And to whoever asked if this book is ok for an 11 yr. old the answer is NO. This book is meant to be read and enjoyed by adults and older teens. There are tons of books that are intended for pre-teens available on NOOK.
    I'm sure that this is another stellar example of the wonderful stoytelling I've come to expect from this author, hence the 4 stars. Keep it to reveiws people.

    20 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Another winner!

    It was a little different because it had two POV which I think helped with the character development. I just fall into her books and dont stop until the stories over!

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2013

    Typical Kinsella book, fun read got what I expected. Am I the on

    Typical Kinsella book, fun read got what I expected.
    Am I the only one who tags inappropriate "reviews"???? I wonder why Barnes and Noble doesn't remove them after they are flagged and do something about banning these people from posting? I have gotten so I hate to go to the reviews on books because it seems there are always these weirdo's posting stuff that has nothing to do with the book. Maybe if those of us who are fed up with this wrote or called someone in charge we could get them eliminated.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Yay!

    This is a super fun book to read.. written well, and keeps you reading long into the night (literally it was a case of "one more chapter" until 3 am last night). Completely worth buying!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    I've read all of the books authored by SK and was disappointed b

    I've read all of the books authored by SK and was disappointed by this one.  While the 2 POVs added an unexpected element; I felt the Lottie storyline was too predictable and Lottie ended up being a little too irritating for me.  Really; she gets married without a 2nd thought?  I always like all of SK's heroines and did like Fliss but not so with Lottie.  Also, while there were some funny moments; in past books there has been more comedy.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I am a huge fan of Sophie Kiinsella. I eagerly look forward to

    I am a huge fan of Sophie Kiinsella. I eagerly look forward to each of her new books, preordering them as soon as possible. I love her quirky characters and funny stories. This one, however, is definitely not her best work. I wanted to love it, but ended up just wanting it to be over. The characters were flat and the plot was like a bad sit com. If you are a die-hard fan, then this is a must read even if it's not her best. If you are new to Sophie Kinsella, start with one of her other books.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    First and last read by this author...I have seen so much hype ab

    First and last read by this author...I have seen so much hype about it so I thought, why not? I will tell you why not-Lottie was so flaky it was irritating, Fliss was the cliché bitter divorcee, and there was NO chemistry build up with Richard or Ben! Did I mention loose ends so quickly tied at the very end? I love a good romantic comedy but the plot twists in this one were so far fetched that I really regretted the money I forked over for this one! Will not be signing on as a member of Kinsella's fan club any time soon!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Not her best

    Love the author, but i was dissappointed with this book. I couldn't stand either Ben or Richard, or Lottie or Fliss for that matter. The book was funny and there were poignant moments, but I really did not care for this one. I hope the next will have more redeeming characters and a better plot.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Some of the other reviews led me to believe I wouldn't like this

    Some of the other reviews led me to believe I wouldn't like this book nearly as much as Sophie Kinsella's other's and I have to completely disagree with them. I wasn't that crazy about Shopaholic and Twenty's Girl but I love Can you Keep a Secret, I've Got Your Number and Undomestic Goddess. This novel was just as great as those! I found myself laughing out loud much more than I usually do with Sophie Kinsella's novels and I loved that the ending wasn't predictable. I would definitely recommend it!  

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    I have read all of Sophie Kinsella's books and this was one of my least favorites.

    The story line was easy enough to keep me reading. It was funny but sometimes almost forced. It makes me long to revisit the shopaholic series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    This one did not live up to expectations. I've read all of Sophi

    This one did not live up to expectations. I've read all of Sophie Kinsella's books, but this  book feels like it was written by someone else. 

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    E mail this is not

    Why dont you children go play on your internet or with your dollies and use this for what it is meant for i will reaf this book but a review is what you will get not the harriet or kids playing

    4 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Sophie Kinsella is at it again.

    With its many twists, turns, dead ends and detours this book has all the humor and quirks readers have come to love about Sophia Kinsella's writing.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Sophie Kinsella

    Quirky characters with a fun story, easy to read. Perfect Summer Beach Reading.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Light, simple and quite hilarious... got me laughing through a r

    Light, simple and quite hilarious... got me laughing through a rainy day. I wish I had a stockpile of Kinsella's work..

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Always a Sophie Kinsella fan. Book was predictable, as usual, bu

    Always a Sophie Kinsella fan. Book was predictable, as usual, but overall great read. 

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wedding Night is another fabulous addition to Sophie Kinsella's

    Wedding Night is another fabulous addition to Sophie Kinsella's chick lit novels. Before I start this review I just have to point out that I am a huge fan of Sophie Kinsella. She was the one that helped me through my high school years, by her ever hilarious books, from the Shopaholic series, Can You Keep a Secret? to Remember Me? Of course even her recent releases have become some of my favorite chick lits, specifically I've Got Your Number which I actually reviewed on this blog last year. You can imagine how excited I was to find out she has a new novel with her trademark protagonist and a laughter inducing plot. I can tell a Sophie Kinsella female protagonist a mile away. There is this unique trait I find in every one, they are british of course, always are the center of the most embarrassing situations but are still so endearing and very likable. Half of the time I tend to always yell "oh no! can't you see this is a DISASTROUS idea?" I mean if you haven't read her books, I'm pretty sure you at least watched the Shopaholic movie, so you must know what I mean. Back to Wedding Night. What is different about this book is that it is actually told from two POVs, something Sophie Kinsella has never done before. I was, to be honest, a bit wary, especially since the second POV belongs to the main protagonist's older sister. I even started reading it back in february but stopped after 40 pages, excitement deflated and actually surrendering a little bit that I might actually end up not liking a Sophie Kinsella book.. something that is still unheard of. However when I picked it up again in March, I must say that I got sucked in after the initial slow start. What was funny is that in the end I enjoyed the POV of the older sister, Fliss, way more than the main protagonist, Lottie. Fliss was the level headed one of the two. Lottie got swept up in the unrealistic romance, getting proposed by a guy she hasn't seen for 15 years. The guy she had a romantic couple of weeks with in Ikonos, a greek island back when she was 18. Fliss tried warning her, and even started creating elaborate schemes to try and stop this sudden and crazy marriage. By this time I was more interested in Fliss and the sudden appearance of Lorcan, Ben's old friend. Lottie and Ben's relationship felt too rushed (obviously! Being married like that). Fliss on the other hand... I have to say Lorcan is the type of guy I crave for in Kinsella's books. The brooding, director of a big shot company with the 10 thousand dollar suits and serious, don't mess with me, face. He reminds me of both men from I've Got Your Number and Shopaholic, but is still his own man. He was a character I wanted to know more about and actually got to do just that. Fliss and Lorcan's scenes, especially with Richard, Lottie's ex-boyfriend, and Fliss's young son, Noah, who starts telling the most convoluted lies to people, such as him getting heart surgery among others that crack any readers up. This wouldn't be a Sophie Kinsella novel without the fun and hilarious banter as well as the awkward and embarrassing situations. Fliss trying to keep Lottie and Ben from cashing in on their wedding night as well as trying to teach Noah that it is wrong to tell lies like that, especially when they come back and bite Fliss back in the butt. As for the writing, it was superb, I didn't expect any less from Sophie Kinsella. The ending was actually quite surprising but refreshing. That is what I like about Sophie Kinsella, she takes overused chick lit plots and transforms them into original and fantastic plots. Now I must say I am a bit bummed out and the reason is because I have to wait another full year for the next novel by Sophie Kinsella. I might pick up some of her previous ones to pass the time. I seriously recommend Wedding Night to chick lit lovers as well as YA novel readers who want to branch out their usual reading genres. 

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Read all s S READ Read all of SK's books might ve Read alk SK's books. Might be the last i read.

    I was hooked on Kinsellas Shopaholic series, and loved her other books. This ine started very very slowly. It took over 100 pages to really pick up. Also the characters were too empty. It wasnt really funny. & the focus on sex was too much. Too bad i wasted time and money on this. I wont be rereadibg this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Somewhat disappointing

    Usually love her books, but this fell sort of flat. A bit funny in spots, but couldn't find the sisters endearing and so I never warmed up to them. I plodded through, and even though her books are usually enjoyably predictible, this just became boring.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    An excellent read. Ms. Kinsella does not disappoint. It was fast

    An excellent read. Ms. Kinsella does not disappoint. It was fast moving and
     funny. I felt like I was watching a very entertaining romantic comedy.
    Fliss and Lottie are equally endearing.  Some of the other reviews were
    discouraging, so I was delighted that this was just as fun and engaging as
    any of her other titles. I loved it.  Read in two days.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8