Customer Reviews for

A Wedding Quilt for Ella

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Good but repetative

    The story is good and keeps your interest, but the way the story is told it reminds me of when I watch the BIO channel on cable. It repeats itself and keeps saying the same thing over and over. The story could be told in fewer pages. I like reading Amish fiction, so I stuck with it. You dont really have to pay close attention though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Highly recommended!!

    Very good read. Easy to place yourself there. Awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great story

    Ella Yoder is on top of the world, she is in love with a wonderful young Amish man, and they are soon to be married, but one tragic day will change all of that. When her intended Aden becomes ill, he really does not think it is serious, he did not find out in time, how serious it was. His appendix had ruptured and the poison leaked into his body, causing his death. His family, his community and his beloved Ella are shocked. How can Aden be gone? He was so full of life and happy, and now there is a bare spot in their hearts for him.

    Ella is not sure that God loves her, why would he take he beloved Aden from her, right on the brink of their wedding? To add to her doubts, there are several accidents and deaths that follow immediately after Aden's death. There are whispers among the young people that it is bad luck come in threes, and wondering amongst them of who will be the next to die. Ella doesn't buy into all the superstition, but she is puzzled why God would take Aden from her.

    Two odd offers come that seem to set her path, first Daniel, Aden's brother comes to visit her and offers to build her a house, the house that Aden had been saving money for. She is not sure about this, it is not something that is done in her Amish community. Secondly the young bishop Jacob Miller comes wanting to marry her, even though he knows her intended just died. Both have Ella in question of what she should do.

    This is the first book I have read by author Jerry S. Eicher and I greatly enjoyed the book, it was different from many of the other Amish books that I have read, and I truly believe that it is because of the different regions and different Amish orders. I enjoyed those differences and thoroughly enjoyed this story. I grieved with Ella and her family as they went through the loss of Aden, and the accident of her brother Eli, I could truly feel the pain she felt through the author's writing. A great book, and I am looking forward to book two in this series, Ella's Wish to be released April 2011. 283 pages US $11.99 4 stars. Discussion guide included.

    This book was provided for review purposes only by Harvest House Publishers, no payment was received for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    highly recommend great book

    This book tugs at the heart from the beginning. To lose a love at such an early part of ones life is devastating. . I feel the book was inspiring and the revelation of courage that is within each and everyone .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    New twist on the Amish Stories, a great read

    I have read another of Jerry's books "Rebecca's Choice" and really enjoyed it. Jerry write about the Amish a little different than the other authors that I have read. He does not use as many German words and it is better to understand.

    Ella and Aden are planning their wedding but they have to wait until Ella turns twenty-one, they both have been baptised into the Amish church and just have to wait. Meanwhile Aden is working with his own business building houses and has a crew to help alone with his brother Daniel. He get sick with his side hurting but refuses to go to the doctor and when he did go it was too late, his appendix had burst a few days before and the poison had gone all thought his body and even with surgery at Tri-County hospital he could not be saved, This entire book is about Ella and how she handles the healing process of losing his only love and on she did love him so much. Ella was working on her quilt for their home together now does she want to finish it, so just put it up somewhere.


    As the story progresses the young people all talk about things happened in threes and they wondered who else was going to die. I have always heard this also and it does seen to happen a lot of the time.


    There are more things that happen and there are others that die or get killed in the area and too the Amish community. Life had to go one and so many chores had to be done that no one really had the time to think too much about "what might happen". Before long Ella had a visitor and her mama took him down to the basement to talk to him, it was a young man that is a Bishop and he wants to ask for Ella's hand in marriage. After Mamm talked with him, Ella went and talked and she did not say she would not marry him but told him to wait for six months and ask again, she needed time to try and heal from losing Aden.


    So will she marry the Bishop or will there be someone else come into her life. She will only marry for love so in April when Ella's Choice comes out, we will be able to read more about her life. I will be happy to read more as this book left me hanging.


    This book was sent to me free from the Author Jerry S. Eicher for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1