Customer Reviews for

Wedding Season: A Comedy of Manners, Matrimony, and Seventeen Marriages in Six Months

Average Rating 3
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2006

    Good vocabulary, awful plot

    The author uses this book to show off her vocabulary and grammar... as for plot, story line or anything interesting that might go into a book... This seemed more like a dull attempt by a pseudo intellectual wanting to show off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2005

    Enjoyed very much

    I thought the book was a good read. I was wanting it to end a little different but all together very happy with the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    Don't bother

    I LOVED this book until the end. Why do writers feel they have to give the clever ending where everyone has analyzed everything to death? Why not give the reader what they're looking for which is the idea that love instead of principles conquers all? A real disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2004

    I thought this was pretty drab...

    Since I had to attend six weddings over the summer, I thought that this book might provide some needed amusement for a bridesmaid that also runs from the bride's bouquet. No such luck. I didn't have a problem with the ending like some readers did. I just thought the dialogue was flat and uninteresting, and the entire book left me feeling very drained. I am an avid reader, but I felt myself pushing to get to the end of the book as I hate to leave books unfinished. If you are looking for a depressing look on marriage and life in general, pick this up. If you are looking for a lighter view on bridesmaid's duty, you might try 'Always a Bridesmaid.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2004

    its great

    i liked it was very real, a little twisty at the end but great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2004

    martini with a twist

    I thought that this book was pretty good, a good summer read. It was nice to read a book about a girl who didn't want to get married compared to the hunderds of books of girls who are dying to wed. The reasons for the main character anti-ness made sense towards the end of the book, and I felt was a suprising twist. It did end kind of sad, but not really. It seems as if you can picture what would happen if the book were to continue on. All in all, different from what 'chick lit' is suppose to be, and a fun light read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    different and at times very interesting

    To dislike a book because its ending does not fit its 'genre' seems a bit silly and narrow minded. Yes, there were parts of this story that were choppy, and dialogue that maybe fell a bit flat - but overall i enjoyed it because along with the bad there was a lot of witty and original moments. the book asked a reader to think a bit and kept a nice balance between emotion and comedy, i liked the different point of view and the range of weddings and relationships - if your looking for something funny, fresh and thoughtful this is a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2004

    I liked it

    I liked this book, and even though the critics say that her explanation at the end didn't make sense, I believe it does. Sometimes you can't go by what you would do, but rather have to empathize with Joy's feelings. For her to sell out herself would make her miserable. I think that the ending was good, even though it was sad. She didn't sell out her own beliefs, which is refreshing because every other woman in chick lit/flick ends up doing that. I liked the humor and the style of this book so I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2004

    NOT chick lit, thank goodness.

    Don't judge this book by its cover, if you're looking for cute and easy chick lit, don't read this one. This book is very funny and witty and it made me laugh outloud, but it's also smart and serious about modern women and the ways of the modern world. It also made me cry, and it made me think! I got totally caught up in the story, especially about halfway through when it got really interesting and I couldn't stop reading it! I loved the characters, and also the ending, which at first made me sad but after some thought made me appreciate the book more because it isn't what you expect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    a chick lit book with a downer ending?

    I bought this book expecting your normal chick lit fare...and I got an unsatisfying ending as a result. This is one of the worst books that I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1