Customer Reviews for

A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island is a fun and exciting re

    A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island is a fun and exciting read, with well-drawn characters and a lovely setting that inspires both relaxation and mystery. As a lawyer herself, Cara Putman makes the criminal and legal aspects of the story intriguing and understandable. I highly recommend this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!!

    As Alanna Stone was getting on the ferry to carry her to Mackinac Island she was thinking that she had swore that she would never return. It just held too many memories for her. But abiding by the request from her parents, she was on her way. When she arrived she was going to live in a cabin next to her first love Jonathan Covington who had betrayed her. She was determined not too let him into her life again. But secrets and a murder threw her back into the public. Jonathan had never married and resisted the urging of his family and friend to find that perfect woman. Would Alanna's return bring back feeling he thought was gone? I want to thank Janne at Wynn Wynn Media for sending me this book to read and review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    A story about lost love revisited. Attorney Alanna Stone must re

    A story about lost love revisited. Attorney Alanna Stone must return to the place she spent childhood summers and confront the past she ran away from. Very atmospheric novel with a mystery thrown in, it shows how traumatic the sudden death of a teenage friend is. The consequences, recriminations, guilt live on until circumstances force the adult to revisit the past and discover the truth and allow God's grace to heal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Sweet Romance with a Twist of Suspense

    This book tells the sweet romance of an attorney, who comes back to Mackinac Island to help her family in a time of need, and her long-lost high school love. But the past holds secrets long buried, and these secrets are particularly meaningful to the attorney since they mean her brother's implication in a tragic accident. When the attorney and her high school sweetheart realize that the accident was actually a crime, things really start to heat up. Memories collide with feelings that never faded, and the couple must decide where to go with their developing relationship, even as their safety is in jeopardy.

    The setting in this novel is so quaint it will make you want to pack your bags and head to Mackinac. Cara Putman does a fabulous job drawing out details, from fudge shops to bicycles, that make you feel like you're there. Her chapter endings leave you turning the page, for instance: "At the time, he'd thought they'd spend the rest of their lives shoulder to shoulder, taking on the world. Another dynamic duo. Poised to change the world. Then life happened. The world changed. And so did they."

    This novel is quick and breezy, and will keep you guessing as to what's coming next with the full cast of characters she's assembled. A must read if you're interested in Mackinac!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    If you’ve never been to Mackinac Island, you will want to

    If you’ve never been to Mackinac Island, you will want to visit after reading A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island. Cara’s descriptions of the Island, the people, and the transportation take the reader on a nice vacation while giving a good story with some interesting characters to go along with a heroine who didn’t want to come home and a hero who faces a dilemma with the woman from his past. Cara weaves a story of secrets, repressed emotions, and murder that keeps the reader turning the pages to find out what will happen next. Who is the real artist of the paintings in the art store Alanna is managing for her parents? What really happened the night a boy drowned during a high school party? Who killed the owner of the fudge shop? In the midst of all this, a love story triangle adds to the tension and suspense as Alanna and Jonathan search to find answers. Add to this mix, Jaclyn and her two year old son. Who will win Jonathan’s heart? Alanna or Jaclyn? If you like contemporary romance with a touch of mystery and intrigue, this is one you don’t want to miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    If you have ever been to Mackinac Island you will love returning

    If you have ever been to Mackinac Island you will love returning there through Cara Putman's book. Mackinac Island is my favorite place to visit and I loved the chance to visit again through this book. The sights, sounds and smells were all present and easy to visualize.

    If you have never been to Mackinac Island you should grab this book for a chance to visit this unique destination and discover some of its joys.

    Mackinac Island was a great setting for this book. The tension of being on the island and how to get medical help when needed added another dimension to the story. If you are looking for a fun, yet suspenseful read you will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    I really enjoyed reading Cara Putman's book, A WEDDING TRANSPIRE

    I really enjoyed reading Cara Putman's book, A WEDDING TRANSPIRES ON MACKINAC ISLAND. Since I've never visited that area I was eager to read this story and also learn a little about the island itself. It was fun to do both! The author's characters were very believable and there was a great balance of romance, action, and suspense so I didn't get bored while reading. Five stars for Cara Putman's book---and I'm ready to pack and visit Mackinac Island now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Take a visit to Mackinac Island this spring!

    Alanna vows never to return to Mackinac Island after the death that her brother was blamed for. She leaves and doesn't come back... until her parents need her and she takes a break from her successful career as a high profile attorney to run their art studio until they can come back. From the minute she is back she is haunted by the past even though most people seem to have let it go. Alanna runs into Jonathan as soon as she is back and she quickly realizes that her high school romance may be why she has never married. In the middle of the past resurfacing she is also confronted by mystery at every turn. Can she figure things out so that she can finally move on with her life? Another murder speeds up the need for solving the questions of the past and unraveling the questions of the present before its too late.

    I expected a contemporary romance (not my favorite genre of all time, but I don't mind it) and was surprised to find that this book was more mystery/romance than contemporary romance. I didn't want to be interrupted as I raced to the end of this book. A wonderful read that I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    Second time around in reading this novel, this time as a hard co

    Second time around in reading this novel, this time as a hard copy in my hands, has gotten even better than the rough draft version I had on my computer.

    “A Wedding Transpires” is a sweet story, mixed with a generous dose of romance, but also the perfect amount of character angst and pinch of suspense. Mix that all up on a setting that seems it must be larger than life and you have a novel that will lull you away in sweet contentment for the hours you spend among the pages.

    What I loved the most is the story takes normal, everyday life and makes it perfect for the pages of a novel. A right balance of pace and story, the kind that makes for a quick read, but definitely a fulfilling one.

    And just because I had the chance to help the author in the early stages of the novel, does not make me bias. I love to escape into such a novel. I don’t have to worry about broken plot pace, characters that act of well…character. Or a story that fails to entertain me. I can simply focus on finding a comfy, quiet place to read and settle in for a few hundred pages.

    A great addition to the new Barbour destination collection, but also a sweet, quick read that will add pleasure to a few hours of your day. I know it did to mine.

    This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the author and publisher for my copy to review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    A Wedding Transpires another great read by Putman!

    I've long been a fan of anything written by Cara Putman. So it was with great excitement that I opened A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island this weekend. In this book, attorney Alanna Stone left Mackinac Island as a young woman and vowed never to return. After years away and only at the request of her mother, she returns to run the family art studio. We soon learn that when Alanna left Mackinac she also left behind her first love, Jonathan Covington. For Jonathan, the loss of Alanna completely turned him off to dating and relationships in general. He never knew why she left and never returned. He didn't know what he'd done and though he tried to get over her, he realizes, he never did. Now, since Alanna's return, he begins to wonder if he's waited too long to find love. Interspersed with all the romance is a mystery that's plagued the island for many years and is the sole reason of Alanna's departure. Both Alanna and Jonathan have to put aside their past heartbreak and work together to solve the mystery. What I loved about this book, other than the great romance, is the wonderful job Putman does with transporting us to Mackinac. She made the island a character in itself and I loved that! If you've ever been, you will see how well she researched and weaved into the story all the quaint details that are so Mackinac. If you've never been, you'll want to go see this charming place for yourself. After reading this book, I longed for a trip to the island and could almost imagine running into Alanna and Jonathan. Overall, another, great, easy read by Cara Putman. And if you've never read her other books I highly recommend Stars in the Night. One of her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1