Customer Reviews for

A Wedding Wager (Blackwater Brides Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Highly recommend the trilogy

    I read all 3 books and they were all very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Good romance

    It's slways nice to read a good romance after all the gumshoe ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 Stars

    A despicable uncle set on revenge challenges the three Blackwater brothers to find wives who are fallen women to marry in order to inherit his vast fortune. Penniless and facing debtor's prison the brothers have no other choice but to each find a disreputable bride that fits their uncle's standards.

    A Wedding Wager is the second novel in the Blackwater Bride's trilogy and focuses on the middle brother, and twin, Sebastian.
    Sebastian thought he was in love with the darkly beautiful Lady Serena and that his feelings were returned until the day that she abruptly turned him away and left the country. He fell into deep despair for quite some time and has avoided a relationship since. Now, three years later, Sebastian encounters Serena at one of her stepfather's Gaming Hells and despite his anger; he cannot deny that he still loves her. Devising a plan to win Serena's heart, he is determined to find out the truth of that long ago day, but will Serena ever trust him enough to give it to him? And even if she does, can Sebastian convince her to leave her stepfather's control?

    This was a great stand-alone, the second in a trilogy, I jumped right in without reading the first book. I didn't feel lost or confused at all and the crux of the trilogy was well laid out. It was my first read from author Jane Feather and I can now understand her popularity in historical romances, her writing easily immerses the reader into the time period.

    However, this is a hard one to review. The plot itself was slow moving and the characters lacked dimension. I wanted to like the hero, Sebastian, but he had little depth. The heroine, Serena outshined him on every page, though he was honorable, courageous and charming. The tiffs him and Serena got into just seemed childish and out of place.
    Serena was a very strong character and easily admirable but I was turned off by the fact that she was never completely upfront with Sebastian, her supposed love. Even in the end. She would also constantly blame him for his opinions or look down on him for his emotions in situations where she was less then truthful, which I did not find fair and led me to view her decision making as questionable. Their loves scenes together were also luke warm and I just didn't feel the chemistry between the two.
    The subplots did add an interesting element though, and the dialogue with Miss Abigail was entertaining, however, I did not care for her mother one whit but I think that was the point.
    Jasper, the Earl of Blackwater, seems rather interesting and I would read the first novel in this trilogy if I ever had the free time. I found Sebastian's twin, Perry, as rather a dry character though and uninteresting.

    I would say that if you enjoy light historical romances that are heavily descriptive you will like this one, or if you are already a fan of Ms. Feather. But if you prefer more action, suspense and steamy romance you may want to skip A Wedding Wager. 3.5 Stars, Good but not great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    A MUST READ! A WEDDING WAGER BY JANE FEATHER....

    RATING: 4.5)A WEDDING WAGER hy Jane Feather is an exciting historical romance set in 1762 London. It is the second in the "Blackwater Brides" series,a Georgian trilogy,but can be read as a stand alone. #1 "Rushed To The Altar". It has romance,sweet sensuality, family loyalty,redemptation,forgiveness,love,and a wedding wager.Lady Serena Grandley was born to be nobility but was placed in the control of her gamester stepfather.She is beautiful,intelligent,and dismissed her first love,Sebastian,at her stepfather's command.Sebastian Sullivan,had Serena's heart captured from the start,but when she dismissed his love,he was heart broken.Three years later Serena and her stepfather reappear with a new gambling hell. While Sebastian is torn between family loyalty and his first love,Serena,he will make the right decision. Serena needs Sebastian's help to save another young woman from her stepfather's evil clutches. Sebastian needs Serena to complete his ailing uncle's demand that each Blackwater brother must marry a fallen woman,thus redeeming her in order for them to inherit is lavish fortune at his death. This is a fast paced,story of love and redemption. This is a fun and exciting trilogy that will leave you breathless. A must read. This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Pocket Books,a division of Simon & Schuster,Inc. and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2