BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Wedding in December

Average Rating 3
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lackluster

    This book took a lot for me to get into it. There was a story within a story, and it was just not a book that impressed me. It was a very ordinary tale, and some of the book really built up and up and up and then ran into a brick wall...not impressed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    A trite romance

    This book was very disappointing. It is a rather trite romance about a group of prep school friends who come together for a midlife wedding of two schoolmates. The characters are rather pathetic - except for the out-of-the-closet gay guy. Everyone gets to have sex with their lost loves - and even the divorced groom has his estranged daughter attend the wedding. The best part of the book is the story within a story told by the spinster classmate - who is writing a book about a disaster in Halifax. I wish Shrieve had told that story instead. I find I really did not care for any of these people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2007

    Don't bother!

    This was my first book by this author.....what a waste! Terrible! I finished the book thinking, What???? My friend tells me to read The Pilot's Wife, so maybe she gets better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    One of the most boring, poorly written books ever.

    One of the most boring, poorly written books ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Not one of her better books

    Story line was weak

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    Another Good One from Anita Shreve

    Since I'm a big fan of Anita Shreve, this was another in a long line of easy reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Loved this book!

    I love Anita Shreve and this book was excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    This is my 2nd Anita Shreve novel...

    This is my 2nd Anita Shreve novel...and I can't say I am overly thrilled....I leave feeling there are many questions unanswered and almost irritated. I feel the context is good but the ending poor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    basically a good story

    did not mind the story within the story (paralled agnes life)=
    not very exciting plot but good characters even if a little bland...a lot of hype leading up to a mediocre stephen story..
    plotted along = i did keep going back to book = even though i read another one inbetween...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    Not this author's best work...

    This book dragged on until the end. If it had been my first Anita Shreve book, I wouldn't read any others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Not Shreve's best effort

    I found this one boring and didn't finish reading it. Her books are normally very good! Try "Testimony" instead, also by Shreve - it was a total page-turner and very thought-provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A reflective book

    Roads not taken. Interesting characters. Reminded me of movies of late involving circle of friends intertwining and relationships. Good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    Not So Hot

    This was my first experience with Anita Shreve's work. I liked the way it was written and read but I did not feel that all of the main characters were completely developed. It is a nice fall read that you don't have to think too much about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Was not one of Anita Shreve's better books

    I honesty thought I was reading Nora Roberts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    I Loved This Book!!

    I didn;t want to put this book down, and hated to see it end. I've become a huge fan of Ms. Shreve, and look forward to reading the rest of her books. I love her style of writing, and the emotion that gets captured by her is incredible, and hanting at the same time. I would recommend this book for many reasons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    AN ATTENTION GRABBING NARRATION

    Weddings are supposed to be happy occasions, a time for looking to the future. Such is not the case in Anita Shreve's intricately plotted novel. The nuptial event in her story brings seven old friends together not to look forward but rather to remember the past, reflecting upon the choices they have made in their lives and dwelling upon secrets kept. Actually, there might have been eight friends gathered had it not been for the drowning death of Stephen Otis during their senior year. It has been some twenty years since that tragic event but it continues to haunt Harrison who was Stephen's roommate at Kidd Academy. Once attracted to Nora, Harrison finds that even after all this time she can still cast a spell on him. But, who wouldn't be attracted to Nora? She was the class beauty who married an established poet, Carl, a man who left his wife for her. One would think she might have led a charmed life but not so. It turned out that Carl was demanding, self-centered. We hear: ''When a man leaves his wife and children for another woman, there's a burden on that woman. She has to be worth the sacrifice.... No one is worth that kind of sacrifice.' Now a widow Nora has turned her Massachusetts home into an inn where the wedding of Bridget and Bill will take place. The two of them were young lovers but parted ways. Bill recently divorced his wife to be with Bridget who is suffering from cancer. The group is rounded out with unmarried Agnes who teaches at Kidd Academy, and has long been involved with a married man a concert pianist, Rob, and his partner and an unpleasant man accompanied by an almost equally unpleasant wife. Anita Shreve has crafted an intriguing tale about the choices we make and how they impact our lives for better or worse. Neither heroes nor heroines emerge but rather very human people, warts and all. For this listener, a few of those warts did not elicit understanding or sympathy. 'A Wedding In December' as read by Linda Emonds is pleasant listening. She's an actress who holds attention with her narration and easily conveys joy or pathos not only with words but also voice and intonation. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2006

    Loved it!

    This was the first book I have read from this author and now I'm looking for more of her books. I couldn't stop reading it once I started. What a great book! At first I was irritated with the Innes story within a story, but then I couldn't get enough. I would definitely recommed! Mis- thanks for sending to me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2006

    Character's Lack any Moral Character

    I enjoy many of this author's books, but this one was not one of them. This author seems to have a very negative view of marriage. Out of the 7 plus characters in this book only the two gay men were not involved in either cheating on their spouse, being cheated on, or with someone who was cheating on their spouse. While there were some interesting insights and her writing can be good I was so disgusted by the characters I did not enjoy the book at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2006

    Sad--Somewhat Dark

    I'm always glad that I read a book, but some books are more peaceful than others The characters in this book are so full of angst that I was happy to reach the last page. On the upside, it's a great book to read and rush down to Starbucks to have a great coffee and appreciate the evening stars and wonder of being alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    OK

    I read 'The Last Time They Met' and wanted to read more of this author's books. I was hoping that like the last one this would pick up and become more interesting. It didn't. A bunch of self-absorbed adults who can't get past their high school years. The only one who seemed even remotely happy was Rob. Good for him! I wish Shreve would write an entire novel on Innes, Hazel and Louise. Their story was much more interesting.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4