Customer Reviews for

Wedding in Springtime

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good book

Expected to have to skip pages due to graphic sex scenes but there wasn't that many. There actually was a story worth reading and it kept my attention.

posted by 10878319 on August 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

C

I enoyed the cast of charactors until the end. "Genie" could only be satisfied if "God" was in charge. Too bad

posted by 7385133 on October 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Good book

    Expected to have to skip pages due to graphic sex scenes but there wasn't that many. There actually was a story worth reading and it kept my attention.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book from the opening scene! I started rea

    I really enjoyed this book from the opening scene! I started reading it while I sat in my van in the parking lot of my sons orthodontist. I laughed so hard that I started looking around to make sure no one was watching me...I actually ducked in my seat, I couldn't breathe for laughing.  Very good, I can't wait to read the rest of the series. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    C

    I enoyed the cast of charactors until the end. "Genie" could only be satisfied if "God" was in charge. Too bad

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    5 out of 5 for this reader folks! WELCOME to London England

    5 out of 5 for this reader folks!




    WELCOME to London England 1810 where manners and the way one carry themselves and/or places oneself in a public position could determine whether one is ruined or successful.  Welcome to the regency romance genre!




    "Ten minutes into her societal debut, Eugenia Talbot was ruined."




    I do love a book that begins with a good ruining don't you??  LOL




    A Wedding in Springtime by author Amanda Forester was CREATIVE and a multi-layered read!  This author had so many sub-plots circling around the main plot that I feared at first it was going to get confusing and take away from the main story!  Let me tell you something .. Amanda Forester has a talent for knitting all these sub-stories together to make the main story that much more exciting!  I have read many historical romances and most follow a simple formula.  Amanda Forester has completely ignored this formula and walked down a different path!  It made her book stand out and I often was wondering if I was reading a romance or a mystery!  In my opinion .... BOTH! :)




    Our main character is Eugenia Talbot.  Genie is the product of a scandal when her mother ran away from her privileged life and married a commoner.  Now it is up to Genie to salvage the family name (she has been hosted by her stuck up aunt) and enter society as a respectable lady!  Well about 5 minutes into her debut she loses her sense of "respectability" by laughing at the wrong moment in front of the wrong person.  I tell you I was chuckling right from the start as her reason for ruin is HILARIOUS!  




    A large factor of her ruined societal debut has to do with a "good rake" (there is a full explanation of a good vs bad rake in this book ..lol) who encourages this laughter and adds to Genie's demise.  Mr William Grant.  Grant is a devilishly handsome young man who embraces all the riches and indulgences of life and refuses to ever consider the sanctity of marriage.  He would much rather frolic through his stages of life carefree and he ensures that this is common knowledge among the ton.




    To ensure that Genie does in fact become married soonest to salvage what little reputation she has left, her stuck up aunt covets the advice of a dowager duchess (one who's grandson just so happens to be betrothed to her daughter) and so begins the search for a proper suitor.  During all this, a friendship and strong attraction is developing between Genie and Grant.  I will not elaborate from there as I do not want to provide any major spoilers!




    With the backdrop of Napoleon warring with England, many secrets, letters, codes and villians revealed, romances and the typical gossip of the ton, this story is a page turner.   The cast of characters (believe me there are so many that I could go on and on) are so interesting that you cannot wait for more and hope that in the next book you get to meet them again.  The wit and banter that Amanda Forester uses in conversation between her characters had me laughing out loud.  The mystery and suspense she tangles in with the romance was like a cherry on a sundae!




    I am so looking forward to her next book! :)




    ARC from Netgallery was provided for an honest review.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2015

    Engaging

    Well written, engaging well edited,good book.
    I would recommend it to an 18+ year old reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Hello

    Enjoyed this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    Great read

    Good character development. I want to read the rest of the books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2014

    Suspense, humor and romance. I really enjoyed this book. I had

    Suspense, humor and romance. I really enjoyed this book. I had reservations when I ordered it, but, hey, it was free. Now I need to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    great story!

    Characters were developed, there were subplots, funny moments and a great story line. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    GREAT BOOK !

    Amanda Forester , writes with flair and humor . Her characters are wonderful and memorable . I look forward to the rest of her series .L.M.A.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    Good book

    Good book, worth the read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Love it!

    I am loving this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    Two books in one

    I will normally read a whole book no matter who bad, but felt like there was more about the next book in the series then the book I bought. Its a shame because I liked the characters I got the book for and would have liked the other characters if the did not take over this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Predictable but fun read.

    Enjoyable light reading with interesting characters-any predictability of plot is easily overlooked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    this book was funny from the opening scene! I was laughing out

    this book was funny from the opening scene! I was laughing out loud reading Mr. Grant's dialogue (but why does she never refer to him by his first name?) Genie was an original, the story was breezy and very entertaining. well done! I must keep reading the series to learn about Pen's HEA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Anonymous

    Very entertaining, funny and charming. Really great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Rycget

    Urrt y rt yr

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Rachel Book provided by NetGalley for review Review

    Reviewed by Rachel
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Amanda Forester is more widely known for her Scottish romance. I’m so very pleased to see her branching out into the regency romance world as it is one of my favorite genres to read.

    The book starts off hilariously well. I’m a big fan of misunderstandings and heroines who have a quick wit. We meet Genie as she is being presented to the Queen. Unfortunately for her, but fortunate for us, she has a wicked sense of humor so when a man next to her is…passing gas…she begins to smirk. The problem? A know rake catches her eye and returns her smile and then begins to laugh.

    Which then causes Genie to laugh…

    In the Queens face.

    Any Regency reader would cringe, just like I did, when I read that part. What follows soon after is a lovely regency romp where our heroine, Genie, blames our rakish hero, Grant, for ruining her presentation.

    Grant has it all, money, good looks, women–he’s never wanted for anything in his life. That is, until he meets Genie. She’s refreshing, but she’s totally wrong for him, in every way, besides, she’s a debutante.

    I LOVED Grant’s character. He was hilariously flawed, the dialogue between him and Genie was reminiscent of something you would read in a Heyer novel. Miss Forester got the language PERFECTLY.

    Genie, as I said previously, was hilarious. I loved her spunk and her ability to draw in Grant.

    The kissing scenes were very well drawn out and I found myself waiting with baited breath for our two main characters to get more alone time.

    All in all a wonderfully crafted regency romance that I would recommend to anyone who enjoys a good romp!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There's more than one wedding problem in this sweet, enjoyable romance.

    Cast of Characters:
    Eugenia (Genie) Talbot, in town to make a good match.
    William Grant, good friend to the Duke of Marchford and eminently desirable rakish lord who is allergic to marriage.
    The Dowager Duchess of Marchford who won't quit the Marchford mansion when her grandson, the Duke returns from the wars.
    The handsome, but dour, Duke of Marchford, who can't find a way out of a marriage contract written for his older brother, now deceased, and the brother's fiancee, the equally reluctant-to-marry Lady Louisa Munthgrove. The very nice Duke just doesn't know how to relate to women.
    Penelope Rose, eldest of the beautiful Rose sisters for whom she successfully found wealthy (and beloved) husbands. She is plain and sensible and is hired as companion by the elderly dowager duchess and resides with her in the Duke's mansion.
    Assorted street urchins, in thrall to a certain evil "Candyman". Chief among them is Jem.
    Storyline:
    Genie must get married to counteract her disgrace at laughing during her presentation to the Queen. William Grant, the one who made her laugh,is her perfect match, but he just cannot overcome his resistance to wedlock.
    Aside from his marriage contract quandary, the Duke of Marchford is also working undercover for the home office, keeping valuable secret papers safe from being stolen by an unknown traitorous spy for the French. Penelope is often a help to him as they plot how to entrap the spy. And street urchin Jem acts as a go-between when Genie falls into the clutches of the Candyman.
    Good characters + lots of plot = a most enjoyable read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Aa

    Aa

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2