Customer Reviews for

Wednesday Letters

Average Rating 4
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good piece of light reading!

I loved this book! It had me in tears! My family was going away for the weekend and I brought this along and ended up reading it on the way to the cabin! I recommended it to my mother (who loved it) and now my aunt is going to read it! It was

posted by Anonymous on September 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

what a waste of my time!

I started off reading it and thought, "Well, this is mediocre." By the end of the novel I was so disgusted with the corny lines, stupid plot, and boring characters that I couldn't believe this was bestselling book. Do not waste your time, like I did!

posted by neuens on July 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2008

    Good piece of light reading!

    I loved this book! It had me in tears! My family was going away for the weekend and I brought this along and ended up reading it on the way to the cabin! I recommended it to my mother (who loved it) and now my aunt is going to read it! It was

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    moving read

    I read this book last summer and it is still fresh in my mind. I recommended it to a number of my friends and they all agreed that is was a moving and memorable book. This was one of the first books I gave out as gifts. I best appreciated how the writer included 'us' the 'reader' by leaving an actual letter enclosed on the back cover of the book. Great marketing and nice move on his part. Bravo!
    I would also highly recommend a one night read called Christmas Jars..

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    what a waste of my time!

    I started off reading it and thought, "Well, this is mediocre." By the end of the novel I was so disgusted with the corny lines, stupid plot, and boring characters that I couldn't believe this was bestselling book. Do not waste your time, like I did!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing

    I'm a huge fan of books written in the style of letters to/from various characters. This book disappointed. The characters were under-developed. The story-line was choppy and wrapped up too quickly. The ending was satisfactory, and the idea of the epilogue in an envelope sealed at the back of the book was novel... but the letter wasn't to/from the parties I had hoped, and was thus disappointing as well. Otherwise, it was a quick and simple read, nothing earth shattering.<BR/><BR/>See my recommendations below for books that did a far better job of story-telling via correspondence between characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I too am surprised at bestseller status

    Really, if you like religious fiction, this is a good book. If you judge it on the writing and literary merits, the score comes in pretty low. However, the author certainly does have an audience and I'm sure he is pleased at how much money he has earned from this lame story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Rainy Day

    This is a great rainy day book. Just curl up and read. It is a quick, easy and enjoyable read. Yes, it is predictable, but it does make you go aww in places.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good but on the hokey side

    I tend to be a realist not a romantic, so this book was just ok for me. A little unbelievable but I really liked the character development. A few surprises along the way made for pleasant reading. Great for book clubs!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    A true gift

    The Wednesday Letters is a book I would expect to become a classic. I often wonder what all of my "stuff" will say to my children when I am gone. The fictional family is given the opportunity to know their parents as the real people they were through letters left behind. I will be giving many copies as gifts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2008

    Loved this book!

    This book wan excellent. I enjoyed the characters & felt pulled into the book like I was there with them.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2008

    Could have read smoother

    The book could have been written better. It's an okay book, but I would recommend lots of other books before I ever recommended this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Bittersweet

    I read this at a time when forgivness is a big issue in my family. It made me think that worse things can and do happen and it can bring out the best in you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Great

    I read this several years ago. A sweet uplifting story. A definite five star review. Read these beautiful letters from a man to his wife. This book will bless your very soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Truly enjoyed this book, loved the way it was written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Forgiveness

    I really enjoyed this book. The ending was a little iffy, but there is nothing like forgiveness. Gave me hope and isite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Touching

    But not worth the money I paid for it. Simple plot, simple thoughts. A time worn theme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Wondrful touching relationship story

    I loved the family dynamics in this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    I felt the need to read this book because I am from Woodstock vi

    I felt the need to read this book because I am from Woodstock virginia and worked at the pharmacy he mentions several times. However this book didn't have a plot at all. I felt like I wasted the 2 days it took to read it. I liked knowing all the places that were mentioned but was bored the entire time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Freakin awsome!!!!!!!!

    im 13 and loved this book! i cryed,laughed, and wanted to yell at the book. the book is one of the best romantic stories i have ever read. i recomend this book to any one who wants a good laugh anda touching store.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Awesome!

    Started reading and couldn't put it down. It is a real story about family, family relationships, and how a family comes together in tragedy. I enjoyed is so much I has passed it on to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Value of Companionship shines!

    In "The Wednesday Letters" Jason Wright is at his usual best in expressing a real insight into family emotions; fears, anxiety, loneliness and joy. In his lyrical ways the pages just shine with these heartfelt qualities. I thought the story started out slow, but once the letters were found, it was refreshing to read how the grown-up sister and brothers; Samantha, Matthew, and Malcolm with all their different backgrounds, their pride, likes and dislikes, they still found the value of companionship, and love for each other. Overall, I thought this was an emotional, but uplifting story written by an excellent author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6