Customer Reviews for

The Wednesday Letters

Average Rating 4
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good piece of light reading!

I loved this book! It had me in tears! My family was going away for the weekend and I brought this along and ended up reading it on the way to the cabin! I recommended it to my mother (who loved it) and now my aunt is going to read it! It was

posted by Anonymous on September 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

what a waste of my time!

I started off reading it and thought, "Well, this is mediocre." By the end of the novel I was so disgusted with the corny lines, stupid plot, and boring characters that I couldn't believe this was bestselling book. Do not waste your time, like I did!

posted by neuens on July 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Value of Companionship shines!

    In "The Wednesday Letters" Jason Wright is at his usual best in expressing a real insight into family emotions; fears, anxiety, loneliness and joy. In his lyrical ways the pages just shine with these heartfelt qualities. I thought the story started out slow, but once the letters were found, it was refreshing to read how the grown-up sister and brothers; Samantha, Matthew, and Malcolm with all their different backgrounds, their pride, likes and dislikes, they still found the value of companionship, and love for each other. Overall, I thought this was an emotional, but uplifting story written by an excellent author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Quick Read That Leads To Worthwhile Thinking

    The Wednesday Letters left me with this thought: "Am I as committed to my relationships -- and to my values -- as I think I am?" While 4 of the 6 main characters were not as well developed as I'd have liked, the two who were strongly portrayed were the two who really mattered since it was their story and evolution that is to stick with you after you've completed the book. I felt inspired to write letters to the people who matter most to me, namely my spouse and my children. The husband who wrote to his wife every week throughout their whole marriage (even when they were separated) made me want to applaud his consistency and faithfulness -- rare and precious traits!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    I was pleased with this book. It is a good rainy day read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    bookclub favorite

    Our bookclub wanted something that was easy yet also interesting. This book was a hit. It was just right for the mood we were searching for. Though we have many diverse personalities in our group, this book was able to keep all our attention and interest. Highly recommended for a group read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Enjoyable

    It was a good book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2008

    avid reader

    Very sweet and endearing. Makes you want to start writing your own letters to loved ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    If you are looking for a good book to read, it's raining outside, and you have a steaming cup of hot cocoa then you are all set to read this book. This story isn't an action type of story, but more of a mystery. I admit, it takes a while for the story to get going, but it's worth reading if you happen to see it in the store.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1