Customer Reviews for

Wednesday Sisters

Average Rating 4
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

An author to watch!

Kath, Frankie, Ally, Brett and Linda are The Wednesday Sisters. They met in a park in CA in the late 1960s and developed a close friendship which spans over 30 years. These 5 women couldn't be more different but soon realize that they share an affinity for literature an...
Kath, Frankie, Ally, Brett and Linda are The Wednesday Sisters. They met in a park in CA in the late 1960s and developed a close friendship which spans over 30 years. These 5 women couldn't be more different but soon realize that they share an affinity for literature and share a secret desire to write. I really identified with Frankie. I am from Chicago and grew up in the 70s so I really appreciated all of the references to the Cubs and Northwestern University but more importantly I felt that the author really captured the Midwestern 'mentality' of the era. While reading I couldn't help but be reminded of all of the hardships my mom went through as a young woman in the 60s and 70s. She divorced when I was young and was an outcast at my Catholic Elementary School. I can see why Kath stuck it out! She was not able to go to college for the same reasons as Frankie. There were times when I laughed out loud and had to hold back the tears while reading. Meg Waite Clayton really captured the bond that women have when they develop meaningful relationships and friendships. I can't wait to pass this book on to one of my Wednesday Sisters!

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The Sisters Have Their Moments - But Not Many

The novel The Wednesday Sisters, while falling quite short of being original, does have its redeeming qualities. I'm sorry, but I'm tired of reading material from writers who only seem to be able to write about becoming writers. Am I alone in this? I know we're all told...
The novel The Wednesday Sisters, while falling quite short of being original, does have its redeeming qualities. I'm sorry, but I'm tired of reading material from writers who only seem to be able to write about becoming writers. Am I alone in this? I know we're all told to "write what we know" but this is getting ridiculous.

The characters in this character-driven novel fall flat at times. The stereotypes overwhelm. With the exception of one heart-wrenching scene, they fail to elicit much empathy. Even the ending was telegraphed.

The writing style was sometimes simplistic but not without merit. The chronological cultural references were too numerous and too contritely stuffed into the novel to feel at all "real".

The upside? The many truly great novels to which the the characters refer inspired me to go back and re-read several of them myself. I only wish the author had been able to capture more than a touch of their greatness.

posted by Wacky_J on April 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Friendship at it's best

    Good read. Friendship at it's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Captivating in every aspect of life, not alone but with the ones you love.

    I loved the book from start to finish. There was this captivating aspect of all the characters, all different yet the same time. The charters is what brings this book to life and you really get to look into the depths of their lives. The sole reason i started to read this book is because i saw the Wednesday Daughters at the book store and read what the book was about, without finishing it i knew id love it. Then i saw that this book had been written (thinking that it was one of two) and that i must read it and im glad to say i did. I would and will pass this on, as a good night time read or whenever its always entertaining never dull. She balanced the characters just right to where i couldnt tell you my favorite they are all that awesome. It was hard to put down at times and i couldnt wait to pick it back up again. Im excited to read her other books im sure i wont be dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    One of the best books I have read!

    I loved the interaction between the five neighbors. They connected with each other in ways that were truly heartwarming. Not only did they congratulate each other, they also corrected each other. I can hardly wait to read the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Loved it

    Beautifully written, but the ending was a bit abrupt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Absorbing

    Story of five young mothers in the early 1970s who meet weekly to encourge and critique each other in their writing efforts. In the process, they become close friends and support for each other. The background of current events of the time add authenticity to the story.
    Enjoyable book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    Great Book

    This book is all about friendship...and accepting people as they are. At the end....I realized that I had read it before!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Takes me back

    This book really took me back. I lived in the same town, when I was this same age. There were so many things that brought back memories. A very good book. I didn't want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Delightful Book!

    This is the first book by this author and I enjoyed it very much. The characters were all so appealing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    excellent read

    Not the best written book I've read in a while but one of the best stories. I feel like I am a part of the Wednesday Sisters. Really sad to see the story end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    if you like fiction about women friendships-this is for you

    I love to read about women friendships and this book did not disappoint. The five women became friends and authors over a long period of time. The novel begins in the 60's and goes through until the present time with a theme of women's rights running through the entire book. I could identify with these women because I am their age and the history mentioned in the book were all the historical highlights of my young adult years-brought back many of my own memories of being a young mother, wife and friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Good Read

    Good, easy summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Great book covering young housewives helping each other realize their dreams.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable but not at the top of the list

    The Wednesday sisters meet every Wednesday to talk about writing and they watch the Miss America pageant each year.

    The novel starts during the summer of love in San Francisco and we follow these women as they build traditional but continue to write. Written in the voice of one of the women it was a nice but not particularly deep book. It scratched the surface of many topics but did not go any deeper . As an aspiring writer I enjoyed the book but I thought that it only scratched the surface of any conflict or problems these women had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Surprised me and is a book I'll reread. Enjoyable!

    I purchased this thinking it would be something to read, maybe a 3 star book. I was pleasantly surprised by the way I came to know and understand each of the 5 main characters. True, they came from the same era I did, but I think this is a story that all women could feel and affinity to.

    These five completely different women come together in a local park and over time learn the secrets of each other. I rarely say that I look forward to rereading a book that I have just finished, but can see me doing that rather soon ... and am hoping I'll see other parts to the women and the story that I may not have caught the first time.

    I will be checking to see what else this author has written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Want to read!

    Thought I had finalized the process thru Book Bub. I did pay for it, but must not have down loaded it. So I did not get to read it. I went back to my e-mail trash, but could not find it. If there is any way you can help, I would appreciate it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Really good

    I wish i could join the Wednesday Sisters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    recommend highly

    You'll really relate to this book if you were a 20 something in the 60's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    B

    O

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Great Book.

    I really enjoy this story and it is nice to see so much diversity among the women as well as being taken back a few years to a time where things were so different but how it wasn't really that long ago

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Great story!

    I really enjoyed this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9