Customer Reviews for

The Wednesday Sisters

Average Rating 4
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

An author to watch!

Kath, Frankie, Ally, Brett and Linda are The Wednesday Sisters. They met in a park in CA in the late 1960s and developed a close friendship which spans over 30 years. These 5 women couldn't be more different but soon realize that they share an affinity for literature an...
Kath, Frankie, Ally, Brett and Linda are The Wednesday Sisters. They met in a park in CA in the late 1960s and developed a close friendship which spans over 30 years. These 5 women couldn't be more different but soon realize that they share an affinity for literature and share a secret desire to write. I really identified with Frankie. I am from Chicago and grew up in the 70s so I really appreciated all of the references to the Cubs and Northwestern University but more importantly I felt that the author really captured the Midwestern 'mentality' of the era. While reading I couldn't help but be reminded of all of the hardships my mom went through as a young woman in the 60s and 70s. She divorced when I was young and was an outcast at my Catholic Elementary School. I can see why Kath stuck it out! She was not able to go to college for the same reasons as Frankie. There were times when I laughed out loud and had to hold back the tears while reading. Meg Waite Clayton really captured the bond that women have when they develop meaningful relationships and friendships. I can't wait to pass this book on to one of my Wednesday Sisters!

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The Sisters Have Their Moments - But Not Many

The novel The Wednesday Sisters, while falling quite short of being original, does have its redeeming qualities. I'm sorry, but I'm tired of reading material from writers who only seem to be able to write about becoming writers. Am I alone in this? I know we're all told...
The novel The Wednesday Sisters, while falling quite short of being original, does have its redeeming qualities. I'm sorry, but I'm tired of reading material from writers who only seem to be able to write about becoming writers. Am I alone in this? I know we're all told to "write what we know" but this is getting ridiculous.

The characters in this character-driven novel fall flat at times. The stereotypes overwhelm. With the exception of one heart-wrenching scene, they fail to elicit much empathy. Even the ending was telegraphed.

The writing style was sometimes simplistic but not without merit. The chronological cultural references were too numerous and too contritely stuffed into the novel to feel at all "real".

The upside? The many truly great novels to which the the characters refer inspired me to go back and re-read several of them myself. I only wish the author had been able to capture more than a touch of their greatness.

posted by Wacky_J on April 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    An author to watch!

    Kath, Frankie, Ally, Brett and Linda are The Wednesday Sisters. They met in a park in CA in the late 1960s and developed a close friendship which spans over 30 years. These 5 women couldn't be more different but soon realize that they share an affinity for literature and share a secret desire to write. I really identified with Frankie. I am from Chicago and grew up in the 70s so I really appreciated all of the references to the Cubs and Northwestern University but more importantly I felt that the author really captured the Midwestern 'mentality' of the era. While reading I couldn't help but be reminded of all of the hardships my mom went through as a young woman in the 60s and 70s. She divorced when I was young and was an outcast at my Catholic Elementary School. I can see why Kath stuck it out! She was not able to go to college for the same reasons as Frankie. There were times when I laughed out loud and had to hold back the tears while reading. Meg Waite Clayton really captured the bond that women have when they develop meaningful relationships and friendships. I can't wait to pass this book on to one of my Wednesday Sisters!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2009

    My past comes back to me!

    If you are over 60, graduated high school in 50's, graduated college in the 60's-the story of these friends is the story of your past. From picket fences, broken marriages, miscarriages, the horrors of early treatment of breast cancer, the rallies against Vietnam, the Miss American contest--it is all in this delighful read. I saw myself and friends in this. Just buy it and pass it on to your friends as I will do.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    The Sisters Have Their Moments - But Not Many

    The novel The Wednesday Sisters, while falling quite short of being original, does have its redeeming qualities. I'm sorry, but I'm tired of reading material from writers who only seem to be able to write about becoming writers. Am I alone in this? I know we're all told to "write what we know" but this is getting ridiculous.

    The characters in this character-driven novel fall flat at times. The stereotypes overwhelm. With the exception of one heart-wrenching scene, they fail to elicit much empathy. Even the ending was telegraphed.

    The writing style was sometimes simplistic but not without merit. The chronological cultural references were too numerous and too contritely stuffed into the novel to feel at all "real".

    The upside? The many truly great novels to which the the characters refer inspired me to go back and re-read several of them myself. I only wish the author had been able to capture more than a touch of their greatness.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    No more breast cancer stories

    WHY do authors feel it is necessary to insert breast cancer themes into almost every fricking book?? Enough!! I read to esvape, not suffer.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    A must read!!!

    This book is the best I've read since Blue July Sky. I'm so into the characters. All five are great in their own way. I think every woman can find a part of herself in each one of the Wednesday Sisters. This is a great book. Every one should read this.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Enjoyable!

    I had happened upon The Wednesday Sisters quite by accident, through a quick mention from an Internet site. I am I glad that I did. The characters and story were well written with a backdrop of the America of the 60s, 70s and beyond. The development of the characters, their relationship with each other and the times, was written with an eye to the many and varied changes America has experienced. Each character was clearly defined both as an individual and as to her place in the "group". Someone once said "Who you are is where you were when". That is true with this novel.
    Thanks to Meg Waite Clayton for a book that lends itself to book clubs, too. I can't wait to discuss it next year in our Third Thursday Book Club.

    The two books which I also recommend explore individual women and their unique place in their "group" and times. Enjoy!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    It'll have you laughing and crying

    What happens when mothers go to a park with their children? They find other women like themselves who enjoy discussing books that they've read. These 5 women also discovered that they would all like to write and be published. So, that's what they did. They set up a time on Wednesdays when they would meet at the park and critique each other's work. Some did get published & others went to work at a publishing company.
    It is also historical fiction in the fact that the story started in the 1960's and a time span of 30 afterwards. These women did not work outside the home but felt the need to write, to do something with their lives other than being a mother.
    The 'sisters' also became best friends supporting each through pregnancy issues, becoming single mothers, cancer,and husband & wives going their seperate ways yet coming back together again. Very much like reality at its best.
    I read an advanced copy of the books so it had some typos and it missed some words in it, but it was a very good plotline.
    A very interesting discussion read for book clubs.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    ¿You¿ve come a long way baby¿

    In the late 1960s the five young mothers meet in Palo Alto at a park. They have plenty in common as they dream of being much more than just a wife and mother while hearing tales of the counter culture and the Summer of Love. The quintet love books especially those they can escape into so they can forget their somewhat tedious lives especially the household chores, but each sees a different role for the lead female characters based on what they dream they wanted. --- Linda loves to run with the Olympics her fantasy goal. Brett literally wants to walk on the moon. Kath insists marriage is all she ever desired, but her four new pals with their aspirations make her wonder if there might be something in addition to being wife and mother. Ally, the only one without a child, wants a kid or three. The leader Midwesterner Frankie, who came to California as her husband came here to work at the fledgling computer business, hopes to be come a writer. THE WEDNESDAY SISTERS inspire each other to go after their aspirations and much more even when they seem impossible in a man¿s only world by writing and sharing their tales. --- This historical sisterhood tale is an engaging look at the beginning of the ¿You¿ve come a long way baby¿ feminist movement that brought women into many fields previously taboo epitomized by Hilary¿s run (the next one will go all the way). Each of the five women seems real due to their dreams to be more than identified through their husband and kids. Although their individual writings are too sweet even if they read valid for their place in late 1960s society, fans will enjoy this fine tale as before Sally Ride there was a real Brett out there trying to break out of the box. --- Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A very touching book that I would highly recommend.

    I really liked this book because the characters really spoke to me. They were strong individuals but also flawed. They were supportive but not pushy. They would be the kind of women that I would like to be friends with.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    A wonderful book filled completely of the relationships between women - the ups and downs. I absolutely fell in love with the group of women and was sort of jealous of their relationships. The men in their lives made an appearance, but the women held the centerpiece

    Most of the time these books are told from each of their perspectives, but I was absolutely thrilled that it stayed from the perspective of the one character. I think that a sequel could be made and Clayton could take the group through their next phase from another person's voice.

    Although, I don't tend to enjoy some of the more historical parts of books, I loved how it worked into their lives. They attended rallies and were affected by the history of the times.

    I really enjoyed this book, it was so easy to get into and I was sad to say goodbye to these women. The women folk would definitely enjoy this book for the relationships and the events that affect their lives.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Could not get throught it!

    By the reviews I thought this would be a great book. It was very boring to me and couldnt even get through it. It was a book club book and everyone else got through it but painfully. They said it didnt pick up until around page 150 but at that point it was good. So I would not recommend it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Story

    This is a wonderful novel for book groups. The well-written story is about true friendship. I loved how the events of the times are interwoven with the growth of the characters. I fell in love with the characters and the story really made me reflect on how much I am giving to my own friendships. Highly Recommended.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    Applause for this celebration of sisterhood

    I came late to sisterhood. A half-generation younger than the women in The Wednesday Sisters, many in my generation scoffed at unliberated women like them. Many in my generation sought to make their way in a man¿s world, using men¿s strategies¿strategies that felt uncomfortable and often did not serve us well. Yet, at the same time, many of us also became wives and mothers, where we were born again into the realization that the women¿s way¿generosity of spirit and the compassionate, nurturing sisterhood role model¿was the right way all along, the right way for us and for our ailing world. The Wednesday Sisters is the book I wish I had written about sisterhood. It transported me back in time to an earlier world that, at once and the same time, felt like home. I long for Meg Wait Clayton¿s next novel, for the next journey of the soul.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    For girlfriends everywhere!

    This book reminds me of the Billy Joel song 'We Didn't Start the Fire' as it progresses through the lives of these wonderful women from Bobby Kennedy being shot until now. I haven't been so engrossed in a book, as I was with this one, in a long time. This book is a clear example of the power of friendship and how it can endure over the years. I laughed with them and I cried with them and I didn't want the book to end. And when I finished, I emailed all of my best girlfriends just to tell them I love them. This book is a must read for any woman with girlfriends!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    To us a nice word, "Familiar"

    I am part of a group of friends that meet every Wednesday, so one in the group thought it would be fun if we all read this. Well, she was wrong.

    It's ironic to me that she is writing about a group of women that are trying to be writers and the critiques that they give each other are exactly the critiques that I would give the author. The characters were broring and unlikable, their situations were trite and predictable and I felt like she was wtiting about herself the whole time.

    Now, granted, I am a man and I am not the intended audience, but never the less, it was just a load of garbage, but if that's what you're looking for, then you'll love it!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    BORING!

    The reviews on the back of the book sounded so wonderful and the idea of the story sounded good but I was soooooo bored! I gave the book about 100 pages and just couldn't bear to read anymore when I have other books sitting on my shelf! Oh, well!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific book

    Great book about female friendships. I loved it. If you have ever wanted to write your own novel, then read this one. Great story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    Made me miss by writing group

    After finishing this book I got on Facebook to track down members of my writing group. Really enjoyed pieces of women's history in this book. A great one for younger women to read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    A wonderful, funny story!!

    Meg Waite Clayton has beautifully written a heartwarming story about dreams, love and the power of friendship. The year is 1967, when five dissimilar homemakers meet in a Palo Alto, California neighborhood park and develop a close friendship. Wednesday weekly gatherings soon evolve into a writing group, where each could share something they'd written. Their friendship grows through their writing, as they learn about themselves and each other. They loyally support each other through personal problems, as well as learn to deal with the important issues of the times. Every year, they gather to watch the Miss America Pageant. Ms. Clayton has skillfully created intriguing, endearing characters and has brilliantly woven real-life issues and events into their lives. She successfully captured the prevailing mood of the late 1960's/early 1970's.exactly as I remember it. It was fascinating to view the advancing world through the eyes of her characters. Each year, the way they relate to the beauty pageant reflects their changing attitudes. I absolutely loved this captivating story! It reminds me of two truths.the therapeutic ability of sharing one's story and the importance of women's friendships. I highly recommend this uplifting novel!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Looking for your next book club pick? The Wednesday Sisters is perfect.

    I loved The Wednesday Sisters. I identified with Frankie from page one where she "shows" a group photo of the women describing her self as in a chubbier phase back then and admitting that the skinnier self is actually more of a phase the chubby self. I quickly came to love all of the women, seeing a little of myself or a close friends or family member in each of them. I love that although each of the women keep secrets from one another from at one time or another, the when the time comes to be honest the narrator reveals the full story to the reader at once. It ensures us that the friendship continues despite their differences. I love the support group the women give each other through their honest critiques of their writing pieces.

    The book has a thread of femininity and feminism unique to the 60s on first glance but many of their struggles with equality are still relevant today. The plot addresses how they are each affected by their choices to stand up for themselves or to be submissive without being overtly political. I was surprised to learn women were originally barred from the Boston Marathon and many Olympic events. As a child in the 80s I took it for granted I could participate in any sport I wanted, ironically I despised sports as a teen and choose not to participate but thankfully I had the choice.

    I just finished reading the book and am still thinking it over. I can't help comparing it to Commencement by J. Courtney Sullivan in which 4 women build a lifelong friendship a generation after the Wednesday Sisters.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9