Customer Reviews for

The Wednesday Wars

Average Rating 4
( 250 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(155)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Growing Up in the 1960's

How many times have you thought a teacher designed her assignments as an attempt to torture you? Holling is certain Mrs.' Baker has this agenda. Maybe there were times she did in the beginning, but secretly he ended up enjoying working with her one-on-one. In fact he le...
How many times have you thought a teacher designed her assignments as an attempt to torture you? Holling is certain Mrs.' Baker has this agenda. Maybe there were times she did in the beginning, but secretly he ended up enjoying working with her one-on-one. In fact he learns his teacher is almost human.

Set in the turbulent 1960's the book throws readers into the era of flower children, Vietnam, Martin Luther King and Bobby Kennedy's assassination. The book lacks the umph factor to grab the reluctant reader, but children that enjoy a bit of history in their fiction and adults that grew up during this time will appreciate how Schmidt seams the two together. The humor and cultural tidbits alone make me happy to highly recommend this book.

Newbery Honor Book. 2007

posted by jadaykennedy on August 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was a diffrent book!

I bought this book and it came up as the burmise wars

posted by 18311628 on July 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 254 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Growing Up in the 1960's

    How many times have you thought a teacher designed her assignments as an attempt to torture you? Holling is certain Mrs.' Baker has this agenda. Maybe there were times she did in the beginning, but secretly he ended up enjoying working with her one-on-one. In fact he learns his teacher is almost human.

    Set in the turbulent 1960's the book throws readers into the era of flower children, Vietnam, Martin Luther King and Bobby Kennedy's assassination. The book lacks the umph factor to grab the reluctant reader, but children that enjoy a bit of history in their fiction and adults that grew up during this time will appreciate how Schmidt seams the two together. The humor and cultural tidbits alone make me happy to highly recommend this book.

    Newbery Honor Book. 2007

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    Great YA book

    This book was a good book for Young Adult readers. I liked that the boy related Shakespeare to life. I liked the compassion from his teacher along with high expectations. It was a very positive portrayal of the characters. Even his parents came off better than they should have.

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    AMAZING.TRULY AMAZING.

    The wednesday wars is a mixture of love/comdedy/shakespeare/life lessons.<BR/>this is definetly on my list of top 5 books.there were times in the book that had me laughing so hard.the characters were wonderful.if you like a book that will make you laugh and cry at the same time please read the wednesday wars.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Aweome

    Very good book and it taught me that you won't always have good days

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Wednesday Wars

    My favorite book (thats why i gave it 5 stars)! But if you're going to buy it, don't take my word for it. I'm only 12.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Read-aloud worthy

    I have thoroughly enjoyed reading this to my middle-school kids. My daughter is reading Shakespeare (story form) because she loves this book so much. It might be a perfect book. It certainly will be a family favorite.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Wednesday Wars = Shakespeare +the 70's + one kid who thinks his teacher "hates his guts."

    I laughed,rolled my eyes (in a way of of familiarity of the situations),felt pity all while reading the Wednesday Wars. I love this book because it's very much the same to the things we encounter today unless your older sister claims she's a flower child.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    Shakespeare with a Twist

    The Wednesday Wars is an insightful and entertaining young adult novel. It follows the story of Holling Hoodhood, a boy in seventh grade in 1967. He is crushed to discover that he has to study Shakespeare with his teacher, Mrs. Baker, every Wednesday. She insists on having him read some of his greatest plays, such as The Tempest, Romeo and Juliet, and Hamlet. With each reading, Hoodhood discovers that they are not old and boring. They provide him with insight on life. The Tempest offers some choice curses that he uses against an intimidating eighth grader. Romeo gives him advice on love, which he uses to woo his crush, Meryl Lee. The author, Gary Schmidt, constructs a quick and fun read that reminds the reader that Shakespeare knew how to create relatable and perceptive characters. Schmidt also explores the time period of the late sixties and shows the reader how the Vietnam War must have seemed to a seventh grade boy. Hoodhood's sister decides she wants to be a flower child, and their entire family watches the devastation of Vietnam on the television every night. He even has a Vietnamese friend at school that receives harsh treatment. With unexpected turns and twists, this novel teaches the reader while providing them with a fun read. I truly enjoyed reading this novel, and it is one that I would highly recommend for individuals of any age. It reminds you of what it is like to be a kid, with the excitement of rats on the loose at school and the embarrassment of being in a school play. It also gives a new look on the idea of war, politics, love, and business by having a young boy relate the events. Schmidt is an excellent writer, and I love this book. As I am currently studying to become a secondary English teacher, I feel that this would be a perfect book for junior high students. It may even give them an appreciation for Shakespeare.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Read it at school

    Its a great book about a kid who thinks his teacher hates his guts bet at the end they are best freinds.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Good book

    If you like this book you will sure like the "sequel" "Okay for Now"

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    I need a boyfriend!!!! :P

    I need a boyfriend so anyone 10,11, or 12 respond to this by making your headline to Delaney make sure you describe yourself

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Was a diffrent book!

    I bought this book and it came up as the burmise wars

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Very good

    I had to read this book in school, and I thought is was going to be an awful book, turns out I shouldn't judge a book by its cover. I LOVED this book!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Awesome

    Great book. Even if you don't like reading you will still love this book!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Wednesday wars

    This is one of the best books i have ever read. Holling is a boy trying to find himself. A funny must read for all ages.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    favorite book yet!

    I love this book and everybody will too. It has a lot of baseball, even though I do not play it, I love the book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    good

    you will probably like this

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    great book

    holling discovers his true self in this book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Still Great

    I read this book when I was is 7th grade and absolutely loved it. I reread it when I was in 10th and it's still one of my favorite books!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Read!

    I like that this book takes place in the late 60's, and a lot of the events are ones that I have learned about. Every Wednesday afternoon, he has to stay at school with his teacher, while other kids go to church. This is when Holling reads poems by Shakespeare, which his teacher thinks will bore him to death. Holling's thoughts and feelings change when he reads famous poems by Shakespeare. He can relate to Romeo and Juliet because of a girl named Meryl Lee, and he starts to think about things in relation to poems by Shakespeare. Great Book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 254 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13