Customer Reviews for

The Wednesday Wars

Average Rating 4
( 257 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(159)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING.TRULY AMAZING.

The wednesday wars is a mixture of love/comdedy/shakespeare/life lessons.
this is definetly on my list of top 5 books.there were times in the book that had me laughing so hard.the characters were wonderful.if you like a book that will make you laugh and cry at the s...
The wednesday wars is a mixture of love/comdedy/shakespeare/life lessons.
this is definetly on my list of top 5 books.there were times in the book that had me laughing so hard.the characters were wonderful.if you like a book that will make you laugh and cry at the same time please read the wednesday wars.

posted by JZlovesbooks on December 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

good

you will probably like this

posted by runningtalon on March 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Growing Up in the 1960's

    How many times have you thought a teacher designed her assignments as an attempt to torture you? Holling is certain Mrs.' Baker has this agenda. Maybe there were times she did in the beginning, but secretly he ended up enjoying working with her one-on-one. In fact he learns his teacher is almost human.

    Set in the turbulent 1960's the book throws readers into the era of flower children, Vietnam, Martin Luther King and Bobby Kennedy's assassination. The book lacks the umph factor to grab the reluctant reader, but children that enjoy a bit of history in their fiction and adults that grew up during this time will appreciate how Schmidt seams the two together. The humor and cultural tidbits alone make me happy to highly recommend this book.

    Newbery Honor Book. 2007

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Read it at school

    Its a great book about a kid who thinks his teacher hates his guts bet at the end they are best freinds.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Good book

    If you like this book you will sure like the "sequel" "Okay for Now"

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    great book

    holling discovers his true self in this book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    Solid Book

    I enjoyed this book through and through. It took me a long time to finish reading it due to never having enough time to read, but I finally finished it and enjoyed it. It brought home some of the challenges that families faced at the dawn of the hippie era. Some of the story pieces fit a little too conveniently (the architecture firm getting the stadium contract), but I didn't question it, just bought in and read on.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Funny book

    It was funny! I had to read it for class do yeahhhhhhh

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I gave this book for stars because it was great. There is a kid named Holling Wood at school who thinks his teachers hate him so he hates his school. At the end he finds out something that makes him like the school. The book is funny and serious which is why I would recommend it to my brother. He love comedy. In the book he plays soccer for gym class and he never played before. The ball rolled up to him so he tried to kick it in the goal. Instead, the ball hit someone in the face. Also, one of the kids at school ows his friend cream puff. Holling want to get cream puffs to help him but didnt have enough money. The owner of the store, Mr.Goldman needed a boy who knows Shakespeare. They make a deal. If Holling plays Ariel in a play then he will get cream puffs. Holling had to wear tights and white feathers on his butt. A bully took a picture of him and posted it on the internet. I think my brother would enjoy this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2015

    Great book!

    I liked this book a lot an thought it was amazing. This book is funny, entertaining, and realistic. I gave it 4 stars because most of the book was good but I thought the beginning was quite boring. It is mostly about Holling, his friends, and his trobles at school. It takes place in 1967 and 68. I wold recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a good historical fiction book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Best book ever!

    I love this book it was so.good I thought I wasn't going to like it butt it was better than I thought everybody should read this book and this is coming from a 10 year old

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Read this if need of boy freind

    Im kinda tall. Ihave dirty blone hair. Ihvae blue eyes kinda tsain skin and i di not have a page on any social media site so dont look me up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    :-) :-) :-)

    I read read the first page of this at school and it was great i loved it so much and i want to get it but it is very expencive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Hfkxuitcuxycjtzycjcdryexjcyxucjxextfckcj k lnonovugcuvkphohoglv.lkcjfjduyssufkckcdystzuckcxfgkvloupogfrysatawaqedyduxjckhvybihvkckblblvifxyyseawtdujfxxxtcikvkcuxurcicreaysucfzdRxuzesfyfxfgzizoxoskxucjoxpoxsrddxjxuxryxuxjouizyduoqwertyuiopasdfghjklzxc

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Wow!!!!!!!!!!

    This bookis very good. You learn about a lot from history, life, and so much more!!!!!! I read this bookbfor extra credit for school and it was a great choice!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Good book!

    I was required to read this book for school and l thought I would hate it but it actually wasnt all that bad! The only thing I didnt like was how it was set back in like the 1950s because it was hard to relate to that. Other than that it was great and I would recommend it to anyone! Another great book to add to my NC bookshelf!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Great book

    Love this author. Great coming of age book srt in an interesting setting and time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    I like it

    Great book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    Wednesday Wars reveiw

    Wednesday wars
    Gary D. Schmidt
    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
    Comedy Fiction

    Ever wonder how it felt to be a 7th grade student with a sister that is mean to you, having no friends and also on top of all of that have a teacher that hates you? The story, Wednesday Wars by Gary Schmidt, is about a 7th grader who doesn't get that much attention from anyone but his parents. This book was set in the 1960's but the house Holling lives in is in the suburbs in long island. This book is also a historical book, it tells how it was like to live in the 1960's. One of the reasons that Holling thought that Mrs. Baker was mean was because on one of the first days there she assigned him to read a Shakespeare book. Being a Presbyterian isn't that good for Holling because he is the only one at the school. He used to have a Presbyterian friend but he moved.

    Holling, the main character, likes running cross country. He also likes learning but doesn't like how he doesn't have many friends, he is very smart but not very popular. He live right smack in the middle of the town, the one reason he does is because one half of the town is Jewish and the other is Catholic, Holling is a Presbyterian. Mrs. Baker, the teacher, doesn't really have any students that like her. She isn't that mean of a person, but, that doesn't have anything to do with her teaching. She thinks that the only thing that makes her kids listen to her is to be mean but Holling proved her wrong after getting taught a good way to run. She really wants to be a Language Arts teacher, Holling tought her how to be a good teacher that is nice but still teaches everything. Read the book to find out if she gets the teaching job or not.

    I liked this book because it reminded me of my sister and I .Also it reminded me of my 5th grade teacher. One of the things in the book that reminded me of him is because he was nice to my big sister but not to me. The other reason I think that this would be a good book to read is because it is very funny, it also is a little confusing at parts so you have to be pretty imaginative to read this. Read the book to find out if he gets friends, becomes friends with Mrs. Baker or if Mrs. Baker gets the job.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    Holling Hoodhood and the "Wednesday Wars"

    What a name and what a life! Every Wednesday afternoon, all the Jewish kids in Holling's class go to Hebrew School and all the Catholic's go to Catechism. Holling is the only student who is neither one; he is Presbyterian and is the only kid to remain at school on Wednesdays with Mrs. Baker who makes him read Shakespeare. Yuck!! But to Holling's surprise, he likes Shakespeare and even finds himself in yellow tights playing Ariel in "The Tempest," with feathers on his behind! That's how he got the cream puffs. Did you know that chalk dust looks like confectioners' sugar on cream puffs? It does, but it doesn't taste so good. And then the rats get loose. What else could happen? Plenty. You will have to read "Wednesday Wars" to find out. Don't worry, it's a great book. I won't mention the awards it has won because that only impresses teachers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    Would recommend to any age!

    Holling Hood Hood is an average seventh grade boy who is forced to stay in his classroom each Wednesday because out of the two religions taught once a week, he does not belong to either. During this time, he is to study Shakespeare¿s works with his teacher Mrs. Baker. She is able to help Holling see different applications of these works into modern day and realize that Shakespeare's plays are not solely about tragic love and death. Based in the 1960¿s during the Vietnam War, this book is more than just an introduction to 60¿s culture for young adults, but is also a hilarious read that will keep you laughing at Holling¿s strange but funny life events. From accidentally letting the class¿s pet rats out of their cages to getting a bargain on 'delicious brown fluffy cream puffs' in exchange for putting his knowledge to use in a Shakespeare play for the community. Holling learns a great deal about love, wars, and growing up from events happening in his life and through Shakespeare¿s plays. I would recommend this novel to any age. Even if you are not a fan of Shakespeare this is a quick, well written, and hilarious read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    Delightful book

    A delightful book that takes you back to the rough times in the 60's and shows you how it affects Holling Hoodhood's neighborhood, friends, and family. Touching, and humorous! Great! Read it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3