Customer Reviews for

A Weekend with Mr. Darcy

Average Rating 3.5
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

A book based on people obsessed with Jane Austen was what initially intrigued me about this story, and what ultimately keep me entertained from beginning to end.

One aspect of this story that I really loved was that it followed two developing relationships. You have...
A book based on people obsessed with Jane Austen was what initially intrigued me about this story, and what ultimately keep me entertained from beginning to end.

One aspect of this story that I really loved was that it followed two developing relationships. You have Katherine and Warwick, and Robyn and Dan. Both relationships were equally as important, and I was happy to see both being played out simultaneously. Katherine and Warwick's relationship begins in deceit no matter how well-meaning the lie, and once you start with deceit it is hard to really build a strong foundation. Robyn and Dan's relationship had one large complication: Jace, Robyn's boyfriend for years. Even if she has grown out of him, can she really leave the man who has been part of her life for so long to follow her heart? Robyn's dilemma is definitely a mind vs. heart, which many of us can relate too and sympathize with.

I'll admit that I am not a huge Jane Austen fan. I think it is important to say this because, while I am not an Austen fan, I absolutely enjoyed this story. It helped me learn more about the famous author and actually intrigued me enough to make me want to read some of Jane Austen's stories.

This story is a based in modern time, but it also has a historical feel to it since it is based around a Jane Austen conference. This was a great way to blend modern with historical in my opinion. I have read both modern and historical stories and some who have attempted to blend the two. I think that this story is one that others can use as a great example on how to accomplish this best. At moment, I felt as if I might have been reading a story that was 200 years old, yet it still felt extremely modern. This is a story I would recommend to anyone who loves a good romance novel.

Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

posted by LASR_Reviews on June 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

A Christian's Review

I'm writing this review for Christians or moms who watch out for what their daughters' read. If you're not one of those, you just won't understand. Even us "prudes" are allowed to have an opinion.

That being said, I give this book a PG-13 rating. I am a happily married...
I'm writing this review for Christians or moms who watch out for what their daughters' read. If you're not one of those, you just won't understand. Even us "prudes" are allowed to have an opinion.

That being said, I give this book a PG-13 rating. I am a happily married woman, who also loves Jane A's novels. This book was a fun, romantic read. About 1/2 way through a sex scene was introduced, which wasn't explicit, but did go into more detail than I'm comfortable with. I decided at that point to quit the book. :-( My curiousity did make me read the last few pages to see how the story ended. If you like to keep your mind pure, I would skip this one & stick to P&P (or "Mr. Darcy's Diary" which was very enjoyable!).

posted by 8141361 on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    A Christian's Review

    I'm writing this review for Christians or moms who watch out for what their daughters' read. If you're not one of those, you just won't understand. Even us "prudes" are allowed to have an opinion.

    That being said, I give this book a PG-13 rating. I am a happily married woman, who also loves Jane A's novels. This book was a fun, romantic read. About 1/2 way through a sex scene was introduced, which wasn't explicit, but did go into more detail than I'm comfortable with. I decided at that point to quit the book. :-( My curiousity did make me read the last few pages to see how the story ended. If you like to keep your mind pure, I would skip this one & stick to P&P (or "Mr. Darcy's Diary" which was very enjoyable!).

    14 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Great Read

    A book based on people obsessed with Jane Austen was what initially intrigued me about this story, and what ultimately keep me entertained from beginning to end.

    One aspect of this story that I really loved was that it followed two developing relationships. You have Katherine and Warwick, and Robyn and Dan. Both relationships were equally as important, and I was happy to see both being played out simultaneously. Katherine and Warwick's relationship begins in deceit no matter how well-meaning the lie, and once you start with deceit it is hard to really build a strong foundation. Robyn and Dan's relationship had one large complication: Jace, Robyn's boyfriend for years. Even if she has grown out of him, can she really leave the man who has been part of her life for so long to follow her heart? Robyn's dilemma is definitely a mind vs. heart, which many of us can relate too and sympathize with.

    I'll admit that I am not a huge Jane Austen fan. I think it is important to say this because, while I am not an Austen fan, I absolutely enjoyed this story. It helped me learn more about the famous author and actually intrigued me enough to make me want to read some of Jane Austen's stories.

    This story is a based in modern time, but it also has a historical feel to it since it is based around a Jane Austen conference. This was a great way to blend modern with historical in my opinion. I have read both modern and historical stories and some who have attempted to blend the two. I think that this story is one that others can use as a great example on how to accomplish this best. At moment, I felt as if I might have been reading a story that was 200 years old, yet it still felt extremely modern. This is a story I would recommend to anyone who loves a good romance novel.

    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great weekend read

    Enjoyed it- a lot and will read more from this talented writer.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love it!

    A Weekend With Mr. Darcy by Victoria Connelly appealed to me because 1) the title. Who wouldn't want to spend a weekend with Mr. Darcy? 2)It's a Jane Austen variation. I'm a huge fan of all things Jane. I love reading about people who love her as much as I do.
    A Weekend With Mr. Darcy is set in modern day during a weekend with a bunch of Jane Austen addicts. There are two story-lines that mingle quite often. The first storyline centers around Dr. Katherine Roberts. She is unlucky in-love and has some trust issues. She's developed a pen-pal relationship/friendship with her favorite author, Lorna Warwick. However Katherine doesn't know that Lorna Warwick is really a man named Warwick Lawton. Warwick has fallen in love with Katherine's letter and decides to attend the Jane Austen weekend in order to finally meet her.
    The second story-line focuses on Robyn and Dan. Robyn's life is a routine of sorts. She's been with the same man since high school. Robyn doesn't love Jace and is trying to find the courage to break up with him. He follows her to Hampshire and makes a bit of a pest out of himself. Robyn's life gets even more complicated when she meets Dan. Dan is a breath of fresh air that makes Robyn begin to believe in happily ever after.
    This is a great book to read. I loved it from beginning to end. There are several laugh out loud moments. The characters are well developed and fun to read. The supporting characters are really great also. I loved reading both story-lines. I couldn't get enough. There is a perfect quote on the cover that fits this novel to a T. It says "The course of true love never does run smooth when Jane Austen makes the rules.." Victoria Connelly has a witty sense of humor that translates well onto paper. This book is a total win for me and if you love Jane Austen variations you should check it out. Other reasons to read this book include:
    1. Undressing Mr. Darcy
    2. Handsome men on horseback
    3. Bennets and Bonnets

    I'm so glad I read this book and I am now Victoria Connelly's newest fan.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    PAINFUL!!! Had to force myself to finish it. I buy and read a lo

    PAINFUL!!! Had to force myself to finish it. I buy and read a lot of books and I never write reviews, but I just thought I should give a warning. I love Jane Austen, I mean who doesn't? But the women in this book take it completely over the top. They speak of her as if she was God. Also, the romantic conflict is just utterly ridiculous. Save your money, find something else.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    Read the real Jane Austen, and not this derivative nonsense

    I bought this for my Nook because I like Jane Austen, and who doesn't love Mr. Darcy, thanks to Colin Firth? But this book is so bad it has soured me on Austen herself, and I am retiring my books and movies for a while (even the Sense and Sensibility remake starring the tasty Dan Stevens from Downton Abbey). This book consists of the antics of very poorly drawn characters strung together with references to Austen trivia, novels, and movie/TV adaptations. It is better suited as a book on Austen trivia, rather than a novel. The book is derivative of Austen's work while at the same time being over-referential. The characters constantly say/think "Oh my goodness, this [insert current situation here] is just like [insert situation from Austen book here] that happened to [insert Austen character here]." EVERYTHING that happens in this book also happened in an Austen novel (it ends up being rather redundant, since she only wrote a handful of novels). There is some romance here, but the biggest romance is between the author herself and Austen. And by romance, I mean creepy, stalkerish obsession. Her fixation on Austen is so clear from her characters that I would not be surprised if she dug up Austen herself and slept with her skeletal remains. Thanks for ruining Jane Austen for me with your obsession, Victoria Connelly. If you somehow get a book deal for another novel, maybe you can just slap a new cover on Pride and Prejudice with your own name on it. Then I can read a good book and you can satiate your wannabe Jane Austen fantasy. As for everyone else, avoid this book, particularly if you like Austen and want to keep it that way.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Loved it!

    This book was wonderful. I enjoyed it because I am a Jane Austen fanatic and "got" all of the jokes and references. I'm sure you would enjoy this book even if you are not a huge Austen fan....Connelly's writing style is captivating and pleasant. Highly recommended!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I thought this book was great, it was hard to put down. I was able to finish it within one day. keeps you in suspense.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Boring, flat, obnoxious

    Unless your life revolves around Austen, you'll want to smack the characters (and yourself for wasting any time on this book). I love the Austen books and movies, too, but these characters are ridiculous! I couldn't stand to keep reading after about 1/3 through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Great, Great Read!!!

    Just found a new favorite author. I love love love this book. I have never been a reader and only read when I have too but once i opened this book I didn't put it down. I do however love Jane Austen so that was the other appealing factor :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Fun read

    Truly enjoyed reading this book. As a Jane Austen fan, I found all the references interesting and amusing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    A great read

    A light and fun novel! The characters were engaging and the storyline was full! A WARNING THOUGH----It will cause you to rush back to your Austen novels to visit your old friends or make new ones!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Anyomus

    It is ok

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Enjoyable summer read

    If you look forward to anything Austen-like, you will enjoy this book. It's an easy read that draws modern day parallels. Characters aren't completely developed but enough is there for you to enjoy the short journey. I thought this was the first in a series but I'm not sure where these characters could go from here. But again, an enjoyable quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Interesting twist.

    I enjoyed it. However, the Caroline Bingley wedding coincidence was a stretch. The interaction at the wedding was believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Much Better than I Expected

    Well-written and fun book, with not a hint of the tiresome triviality I expected at the beginning. Fun and easy read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Love to read

    What a great free book. Who would likr a weekend with a Mr. Dacey. Great reading

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Jane Austen fans, rejoice! Here is another entry into the healt

    Jane Austen fans, rejoice! Here is another entry into the healthy genre of Austen inspired sequels and this one is a solid winner. Author Victoria Connelly takes real life Austen addicts, with Austen inspired weekends and tours, and uses that to base her clever, romantic and intriguing A Weekend With Mr. Darcy around.

    While I have a deepening love and obsession with all things Jane, and I do adore the Austen inspired works and variations that take place in the Regency era, I also have a healthy affection for those books set in contemporary times as well. In the penmanship of Laurie Viera Rigler and Shannon Hale, Ms. Connelly does a praiseworthy job of satisfying Janeites as well as fans of the contemporary romance genre.

    I loved reading of the Jane Austen Conference taking place in Hampshire, I loved reading of the events and the fictitous Purley Hall. It made me desperate to be an attendee myself.

    The best part of A Weekend With Mr. Darcy were the characters and their accompanying stories. While Katherine was intelligent and strong, I felt a particular kinship with Robyn and her fractured devotion to the immature Jace while fighting an attraction to the man-on-a-horse Dan. Who couldn't love a hero of a man who is first introduced literally on horseback?

    By the same token, I liked Warwick. I liked his personality, I liked his secretive nature; in short, I liked everything about him. At first I thought Katherine was a little bit too uptight for him but I came around in short order.

    While A Weekend With Mr. Darcy is chock full of romance there are no scenes that would cause the more gentle reader to blush. (There are one or two intimate scenes but they are written with the utmost decorum). Neither is there objectionable language, although as viewers from the outside, we are treated to one or two persons under the influence who make for some genuine entertainment.

    I would not hesitate to recommend A Weekend with Mr. Darcy to any reader beloved of Jane Austen and/or Pride and Prejudice. Despite the Mr. Darcy reference in the title, the book is really more of a love story for Jane Austen than the penultimate Austen hero. ©Psychotic State Book Reviews, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    MY weekend with the Austen's

    This was such a fun read! I really enjoyed the characters, the setting, and the incredible fun they all had. What a treat as a reader to escape into their lives and see myself in each one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11