Customer Reviews for

A Weekend with Mr. Darcy

Average Rating 3.5
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

A book based on people obsessed with Jane Austen was what initially intrigued me about this story, and what ultimately keep me entertained from beginning to end.

One aspect of this story that I really loved was that it followed two developing relationships. You have...
A book based on people obsessed with Jane Austen was what initially intrigued me about this story, and what ultimately keep me entertained from beginning to end.

One aspect of this story that I really loved was that it followed two developing relationships. You have Katherine and Warwick, and Robyn and Dan. Both relationships were equally as important, and I was happy to see both being played out simultaneously. Katherine and Warwick's relationship begins in deceit no matter how well-meaning the lie, and once you start with deceit it is hard to really build a strong foundation. Robyn and Dan's relationship had one large complication: Jace, Robyn's boyfriend for years. Even if she has grown out of him, can she really leave the man who has been part of her life for so long to follow her heart? Robyn's dilemma is definitely a mind vs. heart, which many of us can relate too and sympathize with.

I'll admit that I am not a huge Jane Austen fan. I think it is important to say this because, while I am not an Austen fan, I absolutely enjoyed this story. It helped me learn more about the famous author and actually intrigued me enough to make me want to read some of Jane Austen's stories.

This story is a based in modern time, but it also has a historical feel to it since it is based around a Jane Austen conference. This was a great way to blend modern with historical in my opinion. I have read both modern and historical stories and some who have attempted to blend the two. I think that this story is one that others can use as a great example on how to accomplish this best. At moment, I felt as if I might have been reading a story that was 200 years old, yet it still felt extremely modern. This is a story I would recommend to anyone who loves a good romance novel.

Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

posted by LASR_Reviews on June 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

A Christian's Review

I'm writing this review for Christians or moms who watch out for what their daughters' read. If you're not one of those, you just won't understand. Even us "prudes" are allowed to have an opinion.

That being said, I give this book a PG-13 rating. I am a happily married...
I'm writing this review for Christians or moms who watch out for what their daughters' read. If you're not one of those, you just won't understand. Even us "prudes" are allowed to have an opinion.

That being said, I give this book a PG-13 rating. I am a happily married woman, who also loves Jane A's novels. This book was a fun, romantic read. About 1/2 way through a sex scene was introduced, which wasn't explicit, but did go into more detail than I'm comfortable with. I decided at that point to quit the book. :-( My curiousity did make me read the last few pages to see how the story ended. If you like to keep your mind pure, I would skip this one & stick to P&P (or "Mr. Darcy's Diary" which was very enjoyable!).

posted by 8141361 on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Great Read

    A book based on people obsessed with Jane Austen was what initially intrigued me about this story, and what ultimately keep me entertained from beginning to end.

    One aspect of this story that I really loved was that it followed two developing relationships. You have Katherine and Warwick, and Robyn and Dan. Both relationships were equally as important, and I was happy to see both being played out simultaneously. Katherine and Warwick's relationship begins in deceit no matter how well-meaning the lie, and once you start with deceit it is hard to really build a strong foundation. Robyn and Dan's relationship had one large complication: Jace, Robyn's boyfriend for years. Even if she has grown out of him, can she really leave the man who has been part of her life for so long to follow her heart? Robyn's dilemma is definitely a mind vs. heart, which many of us can relate too and sympathize with.

    I'll admit that I am not a huge Jane Austen fan. I think it is important to say this because, while I am not an Austen fan, I absolutely enjoyed this story. It helped me learn more about the famous author and actually intrigued me enough to make me want to read some of Jane Austen's stories.

    This story is a based in modern time, but it also has a historical feel to it since it is based around a Jane Austen conference. This was a great way to blend modern with historical in my opinion. I have read both modern and historical stories and some who have attempted to blend the two. I think that this story is one that others can use as a great example on how to accomplish this best. At moment, I felt as if I might have been reading a story that was 200 years old, yet it still felt extremely modern. This is a story I would recommend to anyone who loves a good romance novel.

    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great weekend read

    Enjoyed it- a lot and will read more from this talented writer.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love it!

    A Weekend With Mr. Darcy by Victoria Connelly appealed to me because 1) the title. Who wouldn't want to spend a weekend with Mr. Darcy? 2)It's a Jane Austen variation. I'm a huge fan of all things Jane. I love reading about people who love her as much as I do.
    A Weekend With Mr. Darcy is set in modern day during a weekend with a bunch of Jane Austen addicts. There are two story-lines that mingle quite often. The first storyline centers around Dr. Katherine Roberts. She is unlucky in-love and has some trust issues. She's developed a pen-pal relationship/friendship with her favorite author, Lorna Warwick. However Katherine doesn't know that Lorna Warwick is really a man named Warwick Lawton. Warwick has fallen in love with Katherine's letter and decides to attend the Jane Austen weekend in order to finally meet her.
    The second story-line focuses on Robyn and Dan. Robyn's life is a routine of sorts. She's been with the same man since high school. Robyn doesn't love Jace and is trying to find the courage to break up with him. He follows her to Hampshire and makes a bit of a pest out of himself. Robyn's life gets even more complicated when she meets Dan. Dan is a breath of fresh air that makes Robyn begin to believe in happily ever after.
    This is a great book to read. I loved it from beginning to end. There are several laugh out loud moments. The characters are well developed and fun to read. The supporting characters are really great also. I loved reading both story-lines. I couldn't get enough. There is a perfect quote on the cover that fits this novel to a T. It says "The course of true love never does run smooth when Jane Austen makes the rules.." Victoria Connelly has a witty sense of humor that translates well onto paper. This book is a total win for me and if you love Jane Austen variations you should check it out. Other reasons to read this book include:
    1. Undressing Mr. Darcy
    2. Handsome men on horseback
    3. Bennets and Bonnets

    I'm so glad I read this book and I am now Victoria Connelly's newest fan.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Loved it!

    This book was wonderful. I enjoyed it because I am a Jane Austen fanatic and "got" all of the jokes and references. I'm sure you would enjoy this book even if you are not a huge Austen fan....Connelly's writing style is captivating and pleasant. Highly recommended!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I thought this book was great, it was hard to put down. I was able to finish it within one day. keeps you in suspense.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Great, Great Read!!!

    Just found a new favorite author. I love love love this book. I have never been a reader and only read when I have too but once i opened this book I didn't put it down. I do however love Jane Austen so that was the other appealing factor :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    A great read

    A light and fun novel! The characters were engaging and the storyline was full! A WARNING THOUGH----It will cause you to rush back to your Austen novels to visit your old friends or make new ones!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Love to read

    What a great free book. Who would likr a weekend with a Mr. Dacey. Great reading

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    MY weekend with the Austen's

    This was such a fun read! I really enjoyed the characters, the setting, and the incredible fun they all had. What a treat as a reader to escape into their lives and see myself in each one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Great book

    A great read for all Janeites! I thoroughly enjoyed every page. Fun, light hearted and funny and heart wrenching by turns, it's the perfect beach read. For those that gave this book poor ratings because of its predictability, they've completely missed the point - this isn't War and Peace or a fast-paced whodunit - it's a fun little romance novel and literary nod to the master of romance and redemption (Jane Austen of course). Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Great read

    I did not know what to eexpect from the writer but it kept my intrest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    loved it

    If your a modern day darcy fan its a must read. cute & funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Great read

    A fun book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Great story

    I love Jane Austen. I really enjoyed this book. It shows how people enjoy Jane Austen but she is in the shadows. The two main characters can relate to Jane Austen's work. Even if you are not a fan of Jane Austen and have never read a book of hers you will still enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Fantastic novel!

    I really enjoyed this book! I have read Jane Austen's "Pride and Prejudice" so that helped immensely while reading this book. In my opinion, even readers who are not well-versed in all things Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy will still appreciate this book because it was well-written and gave enough references to Austen novels to feel comfortable understanding the basic themes in them and how they contributed to the storyline in this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    If you love Jane Austen and comedy. You will love this.

    It's set in today's times, but brings back the charms of Jane Austen's novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Great read

    Cute twist - I love Jane Austen and have not read a "spin off novel" as it were. This was a great story that was a quick read but loved how the story came together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Good take

    Definitely worth the read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Wonderful

    A wonderful tale of love that is filled with all the reasons we love Jane Austen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4