Customer Reviews for

Weekends at Bellevue

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

An honest, inside look at the workings and culture of a big city hospital's psychiatric emergency department

It's all there ... the grit and the humor, the chaos and the compassion. This is a compelling read.

posted by PJBradley on December 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

an ego fest

I thought this would be (at least mostly) about the different cases she saw at Bellevue, but the more I read, the more I didn't like the author. She claims that she's wanted to be a psychiatrist since childhood, yet it seems to take her several years after graduating me...
I thought this would be (at least mostly) about the different cases she saw at Bellevue, but the more I read, the more I didn't like the author. She claims that she's wanted to be a psychiatrist since childhood, yet it seems to take her several years after graduating med school, plus her own therapy, to even start to understand what her profession is about. I was appalled at the casualness of her treatment of patients, who seem to be sacrificed to the altar of her desire to be a tough-gal cowgirl. I could have lived without her description of the birth of her first child, and the name-dropping. There's also way too much apologizing for her attitudes and actions, as if this book is an explanation for self-centered behavior. She seems to want admiration for sticking it out for nine years-of two-day weekends, not five-day weeks, while the nurses and aides have stuck it out longer and are probably still there. If nothing else, this book made me glad I don't live in New York City.

posted by JanetOH on November 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 28, 2009

    Suburban doc is boring

    The author takes an incredibly rich subject matter and uses it as the background to remind us how smart she is about psychiatric meds, what the diner is serving, how she furnishes her on-call room, and how annoying the patients are. There is not a glimmer of interest in her patients or her inability to treat them. Read it for shock value only.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Waste of paper

    The "Unquiet Mind" book by Kay Redfield Jamison is a WAY better about bipolar than this dribble that passes as a book. Poorly written, as waste of good paper. Get Unquiet Mind instead. The reader gets the distinct impression this writer only wants to be PROVOCATIVE, when in reality the book is dull as dishwater.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    If You Get the Chance to Read This, PASS.

    This book was extremely disappointing and not worth the money or time to read it. The writing was horrible- it gave little insight or understanding into the patients themselves or how the author is impacted by her work. She constantly seeks to remind the reader of how smart, down-to- earth, etc. she is and how her work made her a better person, but the entire thing lacks sincerity. She does little to convey the actual suffering of her patients or life working at Bellevue. Most disappointing for me was the fact that the synopsis gives the impression that case files are described in some depth, but that is, to say the least, misleading. At most, patients are given a few brief sentences. Here's hoping she is a better psychiatrist than author.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    "Poor me" story

    Book is all about how the world did the author wrong. I am over half way through and do not know if I can get past her whining and finish the book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    What A Disappointment

    I thought this book looked like a good read... an interesting inside look at the patients that come through Bellvue. I was so disappointed! Trust me, it has very little information about actual patients. This book spends more time describing herself than anything to do with the patients. There are snippets here and there about patient life but more than anything it is about Julie Holland's day to day life. I definitely could have skipped her personal therapy stories, sex escapades and birthing stories. Also, this book is very disorganized and hard to get through. I DO NOT RECOMMEND!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ridiculous price for ebook

    No way would I pay this much for an ebook.. let alone one that obviously, from reading the other reviews, isn't that great a book anyway. I may pay this much for a sequel to Twilight or a Harry Potter book but no way would I pay this much for an ebook regardless of the quality or lack thereof. I will buy a book today but it won't cost this much.. it will be under $10. Sad for this author and this publisher.. they made no money off me today

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Narcissism at Bellevue

    I listened to an interview with the author, Julie Holland, on "Talk of the Nation" last December and thought she sounded interesting so this was one of the very first books I downloaded to my Nook. What stood out in the book was the author's self-absorption. What I hoped to learn about was the inner workings of that very famous mental institution. What I learned about was the author's perception of how everyone else perceives her. Her self disclosures regarding her professional relationships, her sexual activities and her relationships with clients came across as sophomoric attempts to appear sophisticated. It read more as the journal of a immature teenager trying to impress with her willingness to share inappropriate details of her life. I learned not nearly enough about Bellevue and far more than I would ever care to know about Julie Holland.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1