Customer Reviews for

Weekends at Bellevue

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

An honest, inside look at the workings and culture of a big city hospital's psychiatric emergency department

It's all there ... the grit and the humor, the chaos and the compassion. This is a compelling read.

posted by PJBradley on December 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

an ego fest

I thought this would be (at least mostly) about the different cases she saw at Bellevue, but the more I read, the more I didn't like the author. She claims that she's wanted to be a psychiatrist since childhood, yet it seems to take her several years after graduating me...
I thought this would be (at least mostly) about the different cases she saw at Bellevue, but the more I read, the more I didn't like the author. She claims that she's wanted to be a psychiatrist since childhood, yet it seems to take her several years after graduating med school, plus her own therapy, to even start to understand what her profession is about. I was appalled at the casualness of her treatment of patients, who seem to be sacrificed to the altar of her desire to be a tough-gal cowgirl. I could have lived without her description of the birth of her first child, and the name-dropping. There's also way too much apologizing for her attitudes and actions, as if this book is an explanation for self-centered behavior. She seems to want admiration for sticking it out for nine years-of two-day weekends, not five-day weeks, while the nurses and aides have stuck it out longer and are probably still there. If nothing else, this book made me glad I don't live in New York City.

posted by JanetOH on November 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    An honest, inside look at the workings and culture of a big city hospital's psychiatric emergency department

    It's all there ... the grit and the humor, the chaos and the compassion. This is a compelling read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fabulously brave, incredibly heartfelt - and an E-Ticket ride to boot!

    It is NOT your average doctor who pulls aside the Wizard of Oz curtains and reveals herself as a fallible human being, wrestling with her own issues all the while taking the reader on an E-Ticket (the BEST rides at Disneyland) ride through her 9 years as ER doc on the weekends at Bellevue. Fabulously brave and incredibly heartfelt, it is a testament to what it actually takes this person to navigate, personally and professionally, caring for those who, for whatever reason, are severely mentally ill in so many different manifestations, and attempting to solve each puzzle as it lands in the ER. It also highlighted the thin line between sanity and insanity that so many successfully walk with the assistance of therapy and medication - really bringing mental health to a level that it should be - acknowledged as just another part of life and not something to hide or be ashamed of. I actually listened to the audio version and enjoyed hearing Dr. Holland read it herself - adding a "scratch n' sniff" dimension that really works for this very real, often funny, often questioning, sometimes sad & frustrating book. A relaxing read it's not - more like a wild ride - so strap on your seat belt!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    Odd intrigue explored in perfect balance.

    I share her draw to fractured minds, and she quickly drew me in. I was along for the ride, only pausing for my own shifts at the hospital. Brava, Dr Holland, Brava!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book!!

    Mrs. Holland gives the reader a view of the event that goes on in the mental department of an emergency room! What doctors and nurses see everyday!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    One of the best books

    This book will make you laugh and it will make you cry. It will hold you on the edge until the very end. A most read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Great book

    I've always been intrigued by Bellevue. This is a great book, i couldn't put it down. I held off finishing it for a few days because I didn't want it to end. The author mentions an HBO documentary and I looked it up,turns out I had watched it years ago.Bellevue seems like a fascinating yet heartbreaking place to work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Reaiistic & Entertaining


    This account is the real deal. I've worked in a downtown E.R., worked with the mentally ill, and I refer many patients to pschiatrists for properly targeted medical interventions. I give this read an easy five stars: Good author self-disclosure, good diagnoses & treatment, and well chosen examples.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating, brave, and an E-Ticket ride to boot!

    It is NOT your average doctor who pulls aside the Wizard of Oz curtains and reveals herself as a fallible human being, wrestling with her own issues all the while taking the reader on an E-Ticket (the BEST rides at Disneyland) ride through her 9 years as ER doc on the weekends at Bellevue. Fabulously brave and incredibly heartfelt, it is a testament to what it actually takes this person to navigate, personally and professionally, caring for those who, for whatever reason, are severely mentally ill in so many different manifestations, and attempting to solve each puzzle as it lands in the ER. It also highlighted the thin line between sanity and insanity that so many successfully walk with the assistance of therapy and medication - really bringing mental health to a level that it should be - acknowledged as just another part of life and not something to hide or be ashamed of. I actually listened to the audio version and enjoyed hearing Dr. Holland read it herself - adding a "scratch n' sniff" dimension that really works for this very real, often funny, often questioning, sometimes sad & frustrating book. A relaxing read it's not - more like a wild ride - so strap on your seat belt!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2