Customer Reviews for

Weetzie Bat

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting

I liked the characters and their names. I also liked the authors style but thought it lacked plot and end abruptly.

posted by 7517194 on August 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Weird

This has to be one of the weirdest books I have ever read. At first it was good, but then it just kept getting weirder. Especially how her boyfriend was named My Secret Agent Lover Man. . . .

posted by Anonymous on December 14, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Interesting

    I liked the characters and their names. I also liked the authors style but thought it lacked plot and end abruptly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    Good read.

    Weetzie Bat is a definite recommended book because the author covers all issues the society is going through now. Gays, teenage pregnancy, divorce. Weetzie has to go through a lot to find her happily ever after. She works so hard through all of the problems life throws at her, and she relizes that it was all worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    A small beat

    Its such a different book but the continuing theme of love is eomthing that makes this book wonderful. Its just a different family and the beat of the book is fantastic. A really good short read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2007

    wow

    well I say the book was intersting.I would have never knwn that he was gay if he did not say it or ever what duch hunting is . I like this book because I think this book is a blow your mind book because it like a scary mavies anything can jump out and suprise you .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    Very Interesting Read!

    Francesca Lia Block did a really great job with this book. It was very interestingly written and intriguing. It kept my attention the whole time I was reading it. The thing that I loved and admired about this book was the authenticity of the writing and details. I cannot think of any detail used in this book that would be clichéd or even normal. Block used amazingly evocative details in everything she described. The way the characters were developed and the way the characters behaved ended up being used as more original ways to paint a picture in the reader¿s mind of what was happening. This book was also very creative. I had never read anything quite like it before. I felt myself really having to open my mind up to some of Block¿s ideas and really get creative. I liked the feeling of having a challenge presented to my creative side and really having to think out of the box to picture many of the scenes and descriptions. I also really liked how the storyline wasn¿t the normal coming-of-age type of theme that is sometimes too prevalent in young adult novels. It really achieved many of the goals that those types of books try to achieve, while at the same time, stretching the mind of the reader. I would definitely recommend this book to young adult and even adult readers. It is a wonderfully funny and entertaining book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2004

    hmm...

    Even though this book is confusing at times and a little werid.. I couldn't put it down. I read weezie bat in 2 hours... this book is for when you are on a train or airplane.. it's a must! :-D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2002

    a GOOD book

    i thought this book was awsome. it was a little odd but still really good. i read it in one night. i think anyone who's not over sensitive to gay people or sex or drugs should read it. it really was a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2001

    A Fabulous Story! Must read for all ages!

    I am a junior in college and had to read this novel for a class. What a refreshing and interesting story it was! Block's style is different and hip, drawing all readers in by her somewhat lyrical, and sing-song type storytelling. She touches on modern issues of homosexuality, drugs and sex, but allows the reader to form their own opinions. A short novel but truly unique and fun to read! I highly recommend it. -Cheryl Farley, Sonoma State University, CA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1