Customer Reviews for

Weezer (The Red Album)

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great album

    this is a breath of fresh air for weezer coming from &amp quot make believe&amp quot this is an amazing improvement its much like old weezer great songwriting and great playing buy this...now!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    They are back

    They are back with a new great cd. Each song is better then the next. The angel and the one could be of the greatest weezer songs out there. the greatest man that ever lived is so brilliiantly made.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    many thought Weezer were out of their prime but then they heard this album Weezer have pushed them selves to their creative limits and made a CD that is completely fantastic. I can't wait for their next albem

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Weezer Mixes it Up

    Everybody's been asking for another Pinkerton... I wouldn't call The Red Album "Pinkerton", but I will say that it has some outstanding moments that bring me way back to the Pinkerton era. I didn't know or have any idea what to expect on this album, but there is definitely a little bit of everything. It starts off with Troublemaker, a catchy song with some funny lyrics, and is followed by the epic The Greatest Man that Ever Lived, which contains 9 [or so] different styles of music. It shifts into Pork and Beans, the catchy single, which is followed by Heart Songs, which is pretty much a look back on Rivers' influences. It's slow and moving. Everybody Get Dangerous is a humorous look at the dangerous lives kids lead. It's catchy and tough. Dreamin' is an epic art type of song. The vocals are mixed up for Thought I Knew, Cold Dark World, and Automatic, and each member of the band takes a turn singing. [Wow, Pat Wilson singing Automatic... it blew me away! Who knew drummers could sing?] The album ends with The Angel and the One, which is my personal favorite. It calm yet upbeat, and in my opinion, sounds closer to Pinkerton than anything released since. This is an amazing album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    There Back!

    One of their best albums yet. I still think the Blue Album is there best but this is definitley up there. A great rebound after their last disastorous title, Make Believe. Weezer is back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SO. GOOD.

    My friends and I agree that this is a Weezer album worthy of a color-title. If you are a fan, I'm sure you know what I mean by the previous statement. The sounds of this album are truly diverse and it never gets boring. Every track is a gem (that's really corny, I know, I'm sorry), but my favorites are: &quot I Am The Greatest Man That Ever Lived,&quot &quot Dreamin',&quot and &quot Thought I Knew.&quot And of course, &quot Pork and Beans.&quot (Again, they're all good the tracks, naturally.) I actually ended up buying a second copy for my friend as a graduation gift (he's a long-time fan, too). And he ended up enjoying it as much as I do. My point in aforementioned adage is that I wish I could buy The Red Album for EVERYONE I know. Because I know everyone (okay, or mostly everyone) will love it. So since I CAN'T buy it for everyone, you need to buy it for yourself. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The 6th album... The Red Album... (the best album?!?)

    Its hard to believe that this band released their first album WEEZER, the blue album, over 14 years ago, and they show that they still have what it takes to keep making the hits. Weezer has rejoined after a brief hiatus (Im getting used to it) and have hit a homerun to their 5th album Make Believe, with their 6th album WEEZER, known to most as "The Red Album" I pre-ordered the Deluxe Edition, and cannot give this album enough praise. The album starts of with TroubleMaker, immediately setting the feel for the rest of the album. Pure rock, and a little bit of some zaniness. And the hits just keep coming with the ballad-esque "I am the Greatest Man in the World (Variations on a Shaker Hymn)". This song gives you a bit of fondness and understanding to Rivers Cuomo, and you get to know his appreciation for great music pop and not, with "Heart Songs". The group each shows their versatily throughout the album and features Scott (Bass Player) showing off his vocal stylings on "Cold Dark World" and Pat (drums) really gives it to you good, on what I am going to call the next big hit "Automatic". From start to end this is one of those precious few albums that go the distance. A MUST for all weezer fans such as myself, but highly recommended and worth the buy for all those other people who just enjoy really good music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    dance n rock out

    if u like to shake it cuz who doesn't and rock out then u should already be listenig to this awesome album so buy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Very Solid Album

    With a lead single of Pork and Beans, it was clear to me from the start that the Red Album had some major potential. After listening to it, I was truly satisfied with how well it delivered and think it is an album worth having for both the die-hard Weezer fan and those listening to the band for the first time. The first track, Troublemaker, is a great upbeat way to start the album and is very catchy. Next, you are lead into The Greatest Man that ever lived. This song is pretty epic and has some tremendous harmonies. In addition, it has some good guitar work in both acoustic and electric (reminiscent of some earlier Weezer songs) styles. Pork and Beans is up next and is a phenomenal single that is instantly recognizable to a Weezer fan and seems to return to their older style of guitar. After a rather up-beat start to the album comes the slower-tempo Heart Songs. It’s a nice slower/acoustic song with good vocals and fun lyrics. Following this change in pace, is Everybody Get Dangerous, a song with funny lyrics and simple, yet good-sounding distorted guitar work. The next song, Dreamin’ is definitely one of my favorites on the album. The basic melody, sweet lyrics, and change in tempo make it a very catchy/fun song. Brian (the rhythm guitarist) sings the next song, Thought I Knew. This one takes awhile to get used to, but after listening to it a few times, I feel it fits pretty well on the album after all it’s also nice to hear someone else sing from time to time (although Rivers is a great singer). Cold Dark World has a memorable chorus and is another slower, yet solid all-around song. Automatic, the next song, is probably my favorite on the album. Pat really nails the vocals and it’s a really cohesive track with a strong/catchy melody. The album ends with The Angel and the One, yet again another slower song. It has great lyrics and kind of sounds like Only In Dreams at the end of it. Overall, the album is very easy to listen to as it has many changes in tempo and is full of very catchy songs. Even if you were turned away by Make Believe (which for the record is not a bad album), you should give The Red Album a chance as it is quite different and may remind you of some of Weezer’s earlier work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just fun stuff

    Hey, if you're just wanting to chill out to some cool tunes, then this album is for you. With its semi-heavy and solid beats and simple yet punchy riffs, the songs on this album are both varied and interesting. One song that really caught my attention was 'Greatest Man that Ever Lived', with its incororation of a Shaker Hymn. Truly brilliant. Keep on rockin', Weezer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Weezer's Triumphant Return!!!

    This band never lets you down! Fourteen years ago, this band shot a rock-n-roll arrow through my heart, with the Blue Album, and I've been in love ever since! I anxiously awaited for the Red Album Deluxe, and I can say to all that this THE BBQ album of the summer!! Included you'll find the liner notes so you can catch up on the band, and memorize all the songs in this magnificent sing-a-long! From the pugnacious first track, "Troublemaker," followed by the pomp and spoof of "Pork and Beans," you'll rock your socks off to the very last bonus track, the ethereal, longing, "King." The Red Album is full of surprises, all bandmates get to sing lead at some point. Weezer is tighter than ever, and Rivers guitar rifts shake you to the core once more! I know my neighbors will know every song by heart as I blast it in the backyard, floating on my "Pork and Beans" inflatable raft in the pool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Buy This Album

    This is Weezer's third self-titled album, and each has had significance in defining the band. With this release, Weezer has shown that they are branching out like never before. Every member of the band has a chance to sing lead vocals: Brian Bell on "Thought I Knew" (also written by him) , Pat Wilson on "Automatic" (which he wrote), and Scott Shriner on "Cold Dark World" (co-written by Scott and Rivers Cuomo. With "The Greatest Man That Ever Lived" the band really experiments by basing a whole song around a fairly small piece of music. For the casual fan there are tracks like "Pork and Beans" , "Troublemaker" and "Everybody Get Dangerous." In short, the album has something for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Weezer's sixth studio album is, in my opinion, one of their best and further solidifies that Weezer are one of today's best rock bands. It is also the band's most ambitious release, adding new musical ideas and having each member of the band write and sing lead vocals an some songs. Highlights from the album include the highly-catchy single "Pork and Beans", the 6-minute epic "Greatest Man That Ever Lived", and the hauntingly beautiful "The Angel and the One", the latter being the best closing song I've heard on any Weezer album since "Pinkerton". If you are a fan of Weezer, or rock music in general, you owe it to yourself to add "The Red Album" to your collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    red hot new weezer album

    If you've heard the first single, Pork and Beans, or seen their amazing salute-to-youTube video,you already know that it is going to be THE song of summer 2008. Weezer brings the rock! Whether you need some mellowing out or something to get you pumped, the red album has got it. As a longtime weezer fan, the red album fits nicely in the weezer catalogue. You can draw comparisons to all the weezer albums with the lead single Pork and Beans channeling El Scorcho, Dreamin' can easily fit in green album, Troublemaker to Maladroit. So regardless of what weezer era you prefer "the red album" is definitely on your must have list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Must HEAR!

    I've been a long time Weezer fan and they never seem to amaze me. This CD is worth hearing...purchase and keep supporting them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Weezer is Getting Dangerous

    This album definitely delivers. Weezer has really taken some chances and tried some new things here and I definitely think it has paid off. There is something on this album that everyone will love. It may not be as cohesive as some of their previous albums, but this only adds to the excitement and the newness that makes this album so wonderful. The Greatest Man That Ever Lived is epic and completely wonderful. From Rivers rapping, to Limp Bizkit-esque tunes, to classic rock, to the famous Weezer falsetto, this song has it ALL. This song is a journey and you'll love every second of it. Pork and Beans is classic Weezer. It's catchy and upbeat and a really great positive song. Troublemaker and Everbody Get Dangerous are other great poppy loud and fantastic songs. They are great to blast really loud as you drive in your car with the windows down. For something softer, tragic and insightful you have Angel and the One, the final song on the album. And this song really is a killer, Rivers voice sounds fantastic. Some songs on the Deluxe Album are even better, so check that out if you can!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brand Spankin' New Weezer

    Weezer has once again released a new self titled album. A new "Color" represents the band reinventing themselves and "The Red Album" is a step in the right direction for the band. This new direction explores many different styles and comes together to make the most unique and unpredictable Weezer album to date. The album kicks off with Troublemaker which is in a classic Weezer style. The climax of the album is "The Greatest Man That Ever Lived" which is absolutely epic and manages to squeeze a wide variety of genres into one single song. "Pork and Beans" is the closest Weezer has ever come to recapturing the Blue album sound. "Everyone Get Dangerous" is fun and catchy, it will have you yellin' BooYah! on your early morning commute. "Dreamin'" is a new classic and it's easy to start daydreaming yourself while listening to it. "The Angel and The One" is Weezer's best closer since "Only in Dreams" The Red Album went way above my expectations after Make Believe. I am excited to keep it spinning all summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A-freakin-mazing. Probably my favorite Weezer album ever.

    I've been a Weezer fan since the Blue album was released, and I was in high school. Now, my 10 year old son is almost as obsessed with them as I am, due largely in part to Rock Band - he loves playing Say it Ain't So. :) There isn't a bad track on the entire album, but Heart Strings has created a special little place in my heart. There is a line about discovering the Nirvana Nevermind album that gives me chills. I've got my fingers crossed for a tour...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2