BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Weight Loss Surgery For Dummies

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

VERY INFORMATIVE

This book is perfect for those people who are contemplating weight loss surgery. It is also good for those who are in their first weeks after surgery. I read it cover to cover and still continue to refer to it 6 weeks after lap band surgery.

posted by 271850 on April 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

SAMPLE

By selecting sample for free, the entire book loaded. After scanning the info I'm glad I did't pay for it. If you have spent time researching WLS you will likely find this book simple. If you never researched, this book would be a good starting polnt. Just my 2-cent...
By selecting sample for free, the entire book loaded. After scanning the info I'm glad I did't pay for it. If you have spent time researching WLS you will likely find this book simple. If you never researched, this book would be a good starting polnt. Just my 2-cents.

posted by 1492716 on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    SAMPLE

    By selecting sample for free, the entire book loaded. After scanning the info I'm glad I did't pay for it. If you have spent time researching WLS you will likely find this book simple. If you never researched, this book would be a good starting polnt. Just my 2-cents.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    VERY INFORMATIVE

    This book is perfect for those people who are contemplating weight loss surgery. It is also good for those who are in their first weeks after surgery. I read it cover to cover and still continue to refer to it 6 weeks after lap band surgery.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    Must Read!

    I bought this while researching if I wanted to have the surgery and what types are available. This 'bible' covers everything from who is a candidate to what physical and emotional changes you can face. It keeps with the dummies fashion in giving detail but not to where the reader will be lost in medical jargon. There are even topics that most would not think of...as in relationship changes with your partner/spouse and friends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Answers everything

    Best book ever if considering wls!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    great for anyone considering wls or pre-op for wls

    Great fantastic excellent book. So much useful information for anyone considering wls. If you are pre-op in your wls journey you must read this book. I have read and re-read this sections of this book during my pre-op time. Post-op I have re-read the book at least three times because I find new information each time I read it. Wonderful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    A Bible for Weight Loss Surgery

    This is a great book. Very informative and a keeper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Was okay but had already recieved most info from bariatric program

    The book was okay, did not really tell me anything new from what I had already gotten on line and at the bariatric programs orientation meeting. Would not get this book if you have already gotten information from the hospital program for the surgery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Good book

    This book really helps to understand the whole weight loss process from before to after surgery. I recommend it for anyone considering or actually going to have surgery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Weight Loss Surgery for dummies

    Vey informative and good and very very helpful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Informative!

    I am currently in a bariatric surgery program and just wanted to get a feel for what to expect pre and post surgery. I feel that this book shed light on many areas and is perfect for someone who is considering this surgery. This book could also be used to inform your family members of what to expect from you. All in all a very good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    ER ROOM #3

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    Essential resource for people considering or undergoing bariatric surgery.

    I love this book! Clear and concise concepts presented in words and explainations that are easy to understand. Pictures and thorough explainations of the different types of bariatric surgery procedures, including potential risks and benefits of each choice. Includes well written outline of all the post-op diet steps with suggestions to promote patient tolerance of the liquids and foods over time. Recipes included too! And throughout the book, motivating sections to help cheer you on through the healing process. This is a great resource! It makes a very complicated, life-changing procedure easy to understand and can guide you on the right path to achieve success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    Excellent Resource

    I found this book to be incredibly helpful in providing details not only of the procedures, but most importantly about life after surgery. For example, the eating guidelines and emotional changes you experience. I shared the book with my family and they were very appreciative of having such an easy-to-read and informative book. They felt like it gave them knowledge and tools on what to expect after surgery. I highly recommend this book to anyone considering WLS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    This book a good introduction for those who have done very little other research on Bariatric Surgery. For those seriously considering WLS, it doesn't give enough in-depth detail to the many questions that could have been answered by the author.

    WLS Surgery for Dummies is a basic guide for those that have done little to no other research on the topic of WLS Surgery. It is well organized and easy to read; in fact I read the book from cover to cover in a few hours. What it provides is the most basic information on the various topics related to WLS. What it does not provide is detailed information about the many questions a person seriously considering WLS will want to know before they make such a life changing decision. Many of the topics covered only scratched the surface and what it could have done was to peel back the onion and get to detail that the author, beging a surgeon, should be able to provide. It's a good introductory book but those considering the surgery will want to find other materials to give you the level of detail you are searching for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1