Customer Reviews for

The Weight of Blood, (The Half-Orcs, Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 191 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

The Weight of Blood in this dark fantasy by David Dalglish would be enough to run the Red Cross for at least a month...

Storyline: I have to admit that this was my first dark fantasy. I have read much of fantasy prior to, but this was a new experience and I must say I was impressed. The story follows the squalid lifestyle of two outcasts, Harruq and Qurrah Tun who happen to be half Orc...
Storyline: I have to admit that this was my first dark fantasy. I have read much of fantasy prior to, but this was a new experience and I must say I was impressed. The story follows the squalid lifestyle of two outcasts, Harruq and Qurrah Tun who happen to be half Orc and half Elf by blood (speaking of blood). They are basically unwanted and unloved by any save each other and the stronger one looks after the younger while he cultivates his dark powers. They are recruited by an evil entity bent upon bringing a new kingdom of terror and evil upon the land. Although they are not human, they have some very human traits though only one of them seems to have any semblance of a conscience and soon they have a slight disagreement when one of them falls in love with an Elf.

Grammar/Spelling: Spelling and grammar are very well edited with very few mistakes noticeable throughout the book. Nothing detracts from the storyline and though the story is quite bleak and disturbing, I kept putting it down and then finding myself drawn back to it out of sheer morbid curiosity.

Character Development: Mr. Dalglish wove a dark spell over me with his story of these two emotionally disturbed brothers. I found myself actually rooting for one of them and feeling sorry for the other even though they are quite evil in general. The characters are extremely well developed and described, their feelings are exposed and their pain palpable. I like the Elves and sympathize with their plight. Men, it would seem, are completely irrelevant and expendable in this dark tale.

Writing Style: The writing style is fast-paced and action-filled. Very little time passes between one terrifying development and the next. Mr. Dalglish's expert descriptions leave little to the imagination and the reader can almost smell the burning flesh, hear the screams of anquish and taste the blood in the air. The really, really bad guys get their just deserts.

Continuity: Time line is spot on. Orcs stay dirty and Elves stay clean. Ha!

Overall Rating: A solid 5 for the genre, but get ready to rumble if you want to read it. It's quite gory in some parts and plumb awful in others.

Extreme violence, sexual content, disturbing imagery.

posted by Syria_Says on December 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Trash

Could not get any interest in the characters

posted by 471032 on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Weight of Blood in this dark fantasy by David Dalglish would be enough to run the Red Cross for at least a month...

    Storyline: I have to admit that this was my first dark fantasy. I have read much of fantasy prior to, but this was a new experience and I must say I was impressed. The story follows the squalid lifestyle of two outcasts, Harruq and Qurrah Tun who happen to be half Orc and half Elf by blood (speaking of blood). They are basically unwanted and unloved by any save each other and the stronger one looks after the younger while he cultivates his dark powers. They are recruited by an evil entity bent upon bringing a new kingdom of terror and evil upon the land. Although they are not human, they have some very human traits though only one of them seems to have any semblance of a conscience and soon they have a slight disagreement when one of them falls in love with an Elf.

    Grammar/Spelling: Spelling and grammar are very well edited with very few mistakes noticeable throughout the book. Nothing detracts from the storyline and though the story is quite bleak and disturbing, I kept putting it down and then finding myself drawn back to it out of sheer morbid curiosity.

    Character Development: Mr. Dalglish wove a dark spell over me with his story of these two emotionally disturbed brothers. I found myself actually rooting for one of them and feeling sorry for the other even though they are quite evil in general. The characters are extremely well developed and described, their feelings are exposed and their pain palpable. I like the Elves and sympathize with their plight. Men, it would seem, are completely irrelevant and expendable in this dark tale.

    Writing Style: The writing style is fast-paced and action-filled. Very little time passes between one terrifying development and the next. Mr. Dalglish's expert descriptions leave little to the imagination and the reader can almost smell the burning flesh, hear the screams of anquish and taste the blood in the air. The really, really bad guys get their just deserts.

    Continuity: Time line is spot on. Orcs stay dirty and Elves stay clean. Ha!

    Overall Rating: A solid 5 for the genre, but get ready to rumble if you want to read it. It's quite gory in some parts and plumb awful in others.

    Extreme violence, sexual content, disturbing imagery.

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Great read!!

    Love the take on evil trying to do good, the bluntness of necessary evil, and the subject of redemption. Can't wait to get my hands on the next book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Darkly intriguing.

    David Daglish; the author, invites you into the lives of two brothers with painful pasts and little potential for a better future. A stark writing style paints a picture of dark deeds done for many excuses and a seemingly endless spiral toward becoming the monster everyone expects. In this book Daglish appears slightly uncertain in his voice,however the intent is clear and the reward is watching the author develop with his characters.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very good book

    This is a great book and one that I would recommend even if it wasn't free, since it is free though, everyone who reads fantasy should get this book. I look forward to getting to the rest of the series as soon as I make my way through some other books that I have bookmarks stuck in both around the house and on the Nook. Keep writing, I'll keep reading!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Great book

    I loved the book! It was great. This is coming from a science fiction reader. You need to GET THIS BOOK!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    good

    if you have ever done something wrng in yr life this is the bok for you

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Easily recomendable.

    Enjoyed throughtout the series. The last book was sketchy though but still worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Good read

    Had fun reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Awesone book this is awesome book read it.

    Bommb book read it now

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Great start to a fun series.

    These books brought me back to R A Salvador times. Good chars you can grow with. Read them all, they are great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Awesome

    This is an awesome story that explores the darker side of the human soul. Its the story of two brothers, betrayed by the world, tempted by darkness, and desperatly trying to do right with little knowledge of what 'right' is. Everyone should read this series at least once in thier life. Fair warning, it is rather a dark and grimm story with a lot of violence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Interesting take on good bad guys

    Wasn't sure I'd like it as I tend towards more of the softer, lighter, less war-centric fantasy. Did enjoy it. Nice take on "evil" characters that have good in them. Well developed, well written. May get the next in the series, still debating.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    great

    I really like this book it was differant than most books you read and the ending was great

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Read it

    All can say is pick it up and read it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    A page turner

    A dark and original tale of orcs, elves and evil.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Very fun read

    The series was a little dark, but over all I found it to be a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Kept me reading!

    It has a lot of killing and at one point I almost stopped reading because of it. I kept going though because the story is interesting and I did want to see how things turned out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Dark Fantasy but interesting side to read

    Really enjoyed the book, went out and put the rest of the series on list to get and then looked at some of his other books. A very interesting read and was nice to see a totally different view of characters. Nice to cheer on "Bad" guys once and awhile and hope that they can get a good turn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Very good read

    was not expecting much was very pleasantly surprised and good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Not evil

    Harruq isnt evil ever and qurrah isnt actually evil unntil a ceryain point inn the ither books and nnot enirely so then

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10