Customer Reviews for

The Weight of Silence

Average Rating 4
( 321 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great book! Must read!

Very rarely do you find a book so good that you stay up half the night reading it, then feel sad on the last page, because it is over. This book had me wrapped up in the story from the very beginning. I cannot wait to read Ms. Gudenkauf's next book!

posted by Nora920 on July 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Could have been better!

First of all, can someone please tell me if they noticed that in some parts of the book it said Calli hadn't spoken in three years and in other parts of the book, it said Calli hadn't spoken in four years? Which one was it, three years or four years? And second, did we ...
First of all, can someone please tell me if they noticed that in some parts of the book it said Calli hadn't spoken in three years and in other parts of the book, it said Calli hadn't spoken in four years? Which one was it, three years or four years? And second, did we ever quite get to the point that we understood the actual plot? Griff??? What's with the woods that everyone loves so much but have no real reason to be there other than to add page numbers? The climax was so thin, the entire book was a waste of time. Without adding a spoiler, Heather, ANYTHING would've been more plausible than the bluff conclusion. Too much spent on nothing and not enough spent on the stuff that could made this book a great read!!!!

posted by 1510553 on December 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 322 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    Great book! Must read!

    Very rarely do you find a book so good that you stay up half the night reading it, then feel sad on the last page, because it is over. This book had me wrapped up in the story from the very beginning. I cannot wait to read Ms. Gudenkauf's next book!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    Could have been better!

    First of all, can someone please tell me if they noticed that in some parts of the book it said Calli hadn't spoken in three years and in other parts of the book, it said Calli hadn't spoken in four years? Which one was it, three years or four years? And second, did we ever quite get to the point that we understood the actual plot? Griff??? What's with the woods that everyone loves so much but have no real reason to be there other than to add page numbers? The climax was so thin, the entire book was a waste of time. Without adding a spoiler, Heather, ANYTHING would've been more plausible than the bluff conclusion. Too much spent on nothing and not enough spent on the stuff that could made this book a great read!!!!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    great read!

    highly recommend.....

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Fantastic read

    Read over the summer in only two days. It is told from a really unique perspective. Heartbreaking and a story you will not soon forget.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Story!

    This was an excellent story. I found it very hard to put this book down. It is told from several views of several different people, but it was not hard at all to follow. I know I will read this one again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    this is a tense dark family drama

    In Willow Creek, Iowa, Griff Clark has gone fishing when his wife Antonia awakens from her sleep to find their seven years old daughter Calli gone. She is worried because this is not normal for her child who has been mute for three years after a run in with her abusive father.

    Checking with the neighbors, Antonia learns that Calli's best friend Petra Gregory is also not home. Distraught, Antonia turns to her long term friend, Deputy Sheriff Loras Louis to learn what has happened to her daughter. He arranges a manhunt even as he hides how much he loves Antonia from her.

    Although it takes a minor adjustment, as the perspective rotates between five key players, this is a tense dark family drama that hooks the audience from the moment Antonia wakes up to the worst that could happen to her; much more so than the beatings from her abusive spouse. The realistic story line is fast-paced even with the rotating viewpoints, but never lightens up; so is not for everyone as the aptly titled THE WEIGHT OF SILENCE is very heavy as "Silence like a cancer grows" (Simon and Garfunkle's The Sounds of Silence).

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Good read.

    Enjoyed every page. Didnt want to put it down....sad its over

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    A Stunning Debut

    "The Weight of Silence" has been one of the summer bestsellers this year, and for good reason. I found myself very quickly becoming lost in Gudenkauf's debut novel. At times absolutely heartbreaking, it will grab you from the beginning and not let go until Calli's epilogue.

    The story begins one early morning as Calli, a first grader, is dragged into the woods by her alcoholic father. Calli is a selective mute, and the backstory about how she became that way is intriguing. As the people who love her try to find out where she has gone, the story intertwines with another disappearance, Calli's best friend, Petra. Petra has always been there for Calli, being her "voice". When a substitute teacher punishes Petra for always talking for her friend, Petra saves the day. Calli's mother, Antonia, tells her that one day in the future, she may have help Petra in the same way. This day comes sooner than she thinks when Petra is in serious trouble.

    "The Weight of Silence" speaks from different viewpoints, all in the first person, except for one, Calli. The puzzle pieces keep piling up, until the reader finally puts them together. What happened to Calli that she stopped talking? What happened to Calli and Petra in the woods? The ending is bittersweet, yet heartbreaking.

    MY RATING - 5

    To see my rating scale and other reviews, please check out my website:
    http://www.1776books.blogspot.com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Great

    weak ending, but overall worth the buy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    Quick read because you can't put it down.

    Looking forward to more of her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    I haven't read a book this good since I can't remember when. I

    I haven't read a book this good since I can't remember when. I even tried to sneak away during a family get-together this weekend to keep reading. I did have the culprit figured out before the end but that didn't have any impact on how much I enjoyed this book. I am ordering another of Ms. Gudenkauf's book right after I finish posting this review. Also, this is the first review that I have ever felt compelled to write! Order this book. You won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Ok

    Meh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Good read

    Fast read,kept my interest. Would recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Love it

    This book ties it all together by the end but it has a bittersweet ending. I was so caught up in this and hated to see it end. Highly recomend. Reminiscent of !Jodi Piccout. Will read more of her books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    Amazing story telling. I was drawn in to the story from the ver

    Amazing story telling. I was drawn in to the story from the very beginning. The relationship between these two girls was simply beautiful. This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Intense mystery

    Well written. Nail biting, page turner. Gudenkauf is a talented story teller!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    I really liked this book

    I knew who the bad person was half way through the story, but it was good. Kind sad but good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    This book was written the same way Jodi Picoult writes her stori

    This book was written the same way Jodi Picoult writes her stories; each chapter is another character's point of view of the story, which I like.  It was a very good read that kept me going.  However, I felt that very little was happening chapter by chapter.  Still a good read though.  I recommend it if you like Jodi Picoult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Very good! I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    It is a very good read and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    I think I am in the minority on this one. I thought it was predi

    I think I am in the minority on this one. I thought it was predictable, uneventful and unoriginal. I think I was supposed to feel sympathy for Calli, but I didn't. I was hoping for much more from this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 322 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17