Customer Reviews for

The Weight of Silence

Average Rating 4
( 321 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great book! Must read!

Very rarely do you find a book so good that you stay up half the night reading it, then feel sad on the last page, because it is over. This book had me wrapped up in the story from the very beginning. I cannot wait to read Ms. Gudenkauf's next book!

posted by Nora920 on July 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Could have been better!

First of all, can someone please tell me if they noticed that in some parts of the book it said Calli hadn't spoken in three years and in other parts of the book, it said Calli hadn't spoken in four years? Which one was it, three years or four years? And second, did we ...
First of all, can someone please tell me if they noticed that in some parts of the book it said Calli hadn't spoken in three years and in other parts of the book, it said Calli hadn't spoken in four years? Which one was it, three years or four years? And second, did we ever quite get to the point that we understood the actual plot? Griff??? What's with the woods that everyone loves so much but have no real reason to be there other than to add page numbers? The climax was so thin, the entire book was a waste of time. Without adding a spoiler, Heather, ANYTHING would've been more plausible than the bluff conclusion. Too much spent on nothing and not enough spent on the stuff that could made this book a great read!!!!

posted by 1510553 on December 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    Could have been better!

    First of all, can someone please tell me if they noticed that in some parts of the book it said Calli hadn't spoken in three years and in other parts of the book, it said Calli hadn't spoken in four years? Which one was it, three years or four years? And second, did we ever quite get to the point that we understood the actual plot? Griff??? What's with the woods that everyone loves so much but have no real reason to be there other than to add page numbers? The climax was so thin, the entire book was a waste of time. Without adding a spoiler, Heather, ANYTHING would've been more plausible than the bluff conclusion. Too much spent on nothing and not enough spent on the stuff that could made this book a great read!!!!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Ok

    Meh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    Good story but stilted writing

    I liked the story and the overall concept, but the writing style is very stilted. The author doesn't seem to know much about how people talk in real life, and should use more contractions. If you just read it and don't really pay much attention, it reads smoothly, but if you slow down and really pay attention, you'll be struck by how some sentences are just not how one would speak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very sad story of events, but you won't be able to put it down.

    I think what got me pulled into the pages of this read was the fact that you know deep down, no matter how many times you try to ignore it, that there are families out in our society that endure the same as the main family in this novel have. I love how each "chapter" is written from a different characters view point. It is how they are seeing the events pay how, how the events are affectint them and changing their lives forever.
    Heather Gudenkauf is a wonderful writer and I look forward to reading more of her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    Not Great, Not Bad

    This was an average book. It seemed to reiterate the material frequently and I found myself skimming it. I was compelled to get to the end to see "who done it", but found the ending rather fortuitous. Other authors, such as Jody Picoult, have written more successfully from different characters viewpoints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    The Weight of... Waiting?

    I thought I was reading bad Jodi Piccoult but when there was a total absence of law I knew it couldn't be her. The Weight of Silence has a great foundation in potential. It could be a spectacular story but the multiple viewpoints only take away from the story. I felt as if I had walked into someone else's life only to find that they had no background they wanted to share, like being a bystander for your entire life. The ending of the story is dramatic and climatic and stands out from the mediocre story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It was an okay read...

    I really enjoyed the mystery about why Calli doesn't talk, but... The characters are a little underdeveloped. From what I understand this the writer's first book and it's pretty obvious. The story kind of jumps around a lot. Everything in the book is a huge mystery until the very end which I guess some people might like... but I find it odd when everything is a huge secret until the end and then they just dump everything on you at the very end. Its a decent book but I was a little disappointed. It seems like it would be a very good book by the description but in my opinion the writing is a little sloppy and not well thought out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3