Customer Reviews for

WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Getting WEirDeR everyday!!

    This book is such practical insight for how to live life "out-of-the-box." Challenging the norm and the results of normal living, Pastor Craig, with his awesome story-telling style and powerful truth-telling gift, shares reasons why we should also consider looking at every area of our life through a different set of lenses. Applying biblical principles to how we spend our time, how we spend our money, how we build relationships, how we look at sex and purity, and how we shape our values...I couldn't put this book down as I wanted to be more and more WEIRD every time I picked it up! This book challenges me to be a pioneer, a leader, different from the crowd...and most of all, different for the right reason...different like Jesus...different because conforming just doesn't work!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Real life application for real life change

    This is the first book by Craig that I have read and it makes me want to dig deep into the others. I have heard that his style is compelling and it is true with WEiRd. I have spent years trying to describe who I am and why I do what I do and now I have an owner's manual. Weird describes the lifestyle of life change and brings great considerations to having a God-weird attitude. The section on time is right on cue with so many people my age and makes a case to change biblically. I am especially caught in the "generous eye" and looking to make that the lenses for my life even more now. Great read for any age and season of life you may find yourself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Phenomenal Book

    This book is amazing. We are God's chosen but it's time we acted like it! It's time we got Weird. We are meant to be in the world but not of the world. Be weird...be God weird!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    Loved it!

    I did this book for my small group bible study! We loved how Craig out lined each aspect of our life. This is a book I will pass along to others and read again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    A Christian must read

    Good read with lots of practical application. Made me think about my daily walk and the direction headed. It is to easy to get caught up in the "normal" world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Groeschel nails it! Christians should not be normal, GET WEIRD!

    This book is a wake- up call to the church; to all of us who call ourselves Christian. We should be concerned if we are normal Christians. Normal does not work because being a normal is being lukewarm. It is time for Christians to GET WEIRD, a radical, life changing, Jesus centered WEIRD. It's one thing to consider yourself Christian; it's quite another thing to get WEIRD about your faith. This book may be bothersome or challenging to you in a WEIRD way, and it will challenge your current perspective. This book will challenge your walk in faith, to get real, and to change your walk in faith. Change for many Christians is not normal, it is WEIRD. Are you ready to move out of your comfort zone and get WEIRD?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Tyler

    Walked in. He was a 12 year kid again. He could shift into a kitten again. He was a son of hephaestus. But he was still figuring out the power of fire. This had happened because he defeated mysterion.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Loved it

    Craig is an amazing pastor and i love his books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    I loved this book. As a parent, I felt it had a lot of good adv

    I loved this book. As a parent, I felt it had a lot of good advice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Weird is Christians

    Weird does a great job of making you want to be a better Christian. I love the idea of being Weird and letting others see it. Do your best to be holy in all you do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Great Book and Hilarious

    This book is one of the most honest books I've read besides the Bible. I highly recommend it to anyone that just needs to hear the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Love it!

    I haven't yet finished this book but so far I am loving it! We have been called by God to stand out from the norm, to be set apart from what we're used to... to be Weird! What a great thought and a great read! I love Groeschel's writing and his stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    great book

    I am not yet finished with the book. But it is a must. Craig teaches that God should be our number one priority, we should have a personal study time with HIM, spend time with our kids. Take a break to get refocused, Where ever you are, be all there. Stay with the task on hand, create family time and enjoy it, invest your time in what matters, rest, being rich does not mean wealth. all this in just a few short chapters. you will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    To riddle

    A riddle.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Scavenger hunt

    You won this phase. Post "riddles" in riddles to get the next phase.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Amazing!!!

    This book will cause u to look in the mirror and become weird. Definitly not a book to read if you want to stay “in the dark" because once you read this you HAVE to make changes. I am proud to be weird! Praise God!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    A book that can change your direction

    This book is just what I needed at this time of year. Craig hits us where we live! His use of humor makes this book an enjoyable read, I have recommended it to everyone that I talk to...read it if YOU need to slow down and regroup.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Be weird

    Awesome book, really makes one think!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great book

    There is a sermon series that was based off this book by the author. Check it out on the website LifeChurch(.tv)for a preview of what to expect from it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3