Customer Reviews for

The Weird Sisters

Average Rating 3.5
( 509 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(162)

3 Star

(122)

2 Star

(56)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Debut Novel!

I fell in love with this book from the start. Eleanor Brown is an artist with words, conveying gorgeous images that bring each of her main characters to vivid life. I loved spending time with the Andreas sisters, and their story was so beautifully compelling that I know...
I fell in love with this book from the start. Eleanor Brown is an artist with words, conveying gorgeous images that bring each of her main characters to vivid life. I loved spending time with the Andreas sisters, and their story was so beautifully compelling that I know I'll dive back in again and again. I recommend this without reservation -- what a wonderful book!

posted by NoseInABookLA on January 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Overrated

I tell my students all the time that one of their rights as a reader is to not have to finish a book that they are not enjoying. I am invoking that right for myself. I have made it to page 82, and I feel like I am forcing myself to pick this book up and read a couple mo...
I tell my students all the time that one of their rights as a reader is to not have to finish a book that they are not enjoying. I am invoking that right for myself. I have made it to page 82, and I feel like I am forcing myself to pick this book up and read a couple more pages at a time. Rose is a word I can't type into this review. Bean is selfish. Cordy is just showing up in the story after her introduction in chapter one, and at this point, I don't care about her or her hairy legs and dirty feet. I keep waiting for some complex interplay between the sisters that makes their relationship interesting, but I'm not finding it. Honestly, I found the junior high read The Total Tragedy of a Girl Named Hamlet a much more interesting Shakespearean connected read. Ignore the hype and pass on this one.

posted by crazyladyteacher on March 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 511 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Aweful

    Unbearable abd pretentious; I keep wondering what people have been seeing in this sad excuse of a novel. The characters were annoying and archetypal. The narration was horrible... who exactly us supposed to be narrating this? It cant be both collective consciousness and one sister narrating it, she should have picked a sister or used indirect discourse. I detested the way this was written and structured. Also, the author seems to assume her readers are morons. You can not write a novel of shakespearean motifs then treat your reader like they've never heard of Shakespeare. The reader may not get every reference, but they should be able to enjoy the story on at least one level, even without getting the reference or having it explained by the author!
    It's too bad because the idea has such potential, but was horribly executed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    This is a book group choice. I expected something more that jus

    This is a book group choice. I expected something more that just an escapist book from this group of current and retired professors. My question at the discussion will be "Who recommended this one?" With less plot predictability, and something other than a "they all lived happily ever after" ending, it could have been a much better book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Meh!

    To be honest, I didn't finish this book -- the writing was so dull I gave up on what was probably an interesting story. This was a book group pick and several of the women thought it was good. I just kept wanting to take a nap every time I tried to read it. It needed some sparkle. Instead, it seemed like a mildly interesting lecture by a college professor who likes to drone on and on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Interesting Read

    The narrator/perspective in this story changes a lot, but once I got used to it I thought it was an intersting way to read the story. I found myself really enjoying getting to know the characters, and then found myself wanting a bit more when the story came to an end. All in all, a worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Good read

    Story is told in the collective naarative of the three sisters. Very clear that they are forever tied together. They discover themselves and each other during the story. In their case youcan go home again,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Well written but the story was a little pretentious.


    I was hoping for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    I loved this book! Mrs. Browns introduction of the characters an

    I loved this book! Mrs. Browns introduction of the characters and letting us peek into their lives, minds, thoughts and actions was flawless! I think i connected with this book so much becasue i am 1 of three sisters and this story caught my eye when i first walked into the store. the workings of this family of five was challenging and endearing for me as a reader. Her Writing style, use of voice and inner thoughts, kept me reading. the story had enough suspense that it kept me reading. I am also a big reader and her use of the old texts made me so happy! <3<3 i loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Don't miss this one

    I propped this one up on my typing pad at work because I couldn't stop. Characters, were engaging, relationships were great and the situation, a great tool for bringing the people together and developing them. I have never read a book that took on the narrator as a triad. Rough at first from the view point but finally got it. Perhaps a little background on the sisters eye would have helped. Hope to see more from this author now that I have learned how to focus!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Great Book Club Read

    great story about three sisters navigating choices made in their lives at the same time as dealing with their mother fighting cancer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    The Weird Sisters...wonderfully addicting.

    This is what I would deem as a sleeper book. Once you get past the first chapter and how the author writes, it becomes very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Weird Sisters By Eleanor Brown Three estranged sisters retur

    The Weird Sisters
    By Eleanor Brown
    Three estranged sisters return home when their mother announces she has cancer, though each one also has an alternative reason for returning home. The sisters are completely different from one another and over the course of this book they realize what they have in common is love, through love and overcoming their own demons we watch the sisters find their true places in the world.
    Eleanor Brown did a wonderful job of drawing us into the world of the weird sisters and their dynamic family life with glimpses of the past and the struggles of the present. Each character was well written and thought out especially considering how completely different they are. This is one of those “feel good” books that make you want to call up your own siblings and give them a hug. Moral of the story; life may not always turn out as we expected but in the end we can always find happiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Great Read

    A great example of sisterly love! They must learn to each accept their own flaws as well as each others. I really enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Delited and Disappointed

    While the story line and characters were interesting and entertaining, the thing I couldn't believe is the tasteless language the author chose to use for the 3 daughters. Not only did it distract from the story, it was offensive. When you are telling a story of 3 girls raised in the home of a college English professor who recites verses from a famous author to teach and explain feelings, I find it unbelievable that his daughters would resort to offensive language to express themselves.

    I recommend this book only to those who can look past the "f" bombs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Spot on

    This book is a must read for anyone with sisters. There were so many poignent parts...I just kept highlighting sections of the book that spoke so strongly to me. I do admit that it was slow paced, but the author's insight into the dynamics of a family consisting of three daughters, was spot on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    A good read for anyone with a sister.....

    Makes you laugh and relieve bits and pieces of your childhood...short and sweet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Time foiller

    A quick read while waiting on better books. Not bad, but seems to be missing something

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    So-so

    Weird sisters, weird book. The good things is that the sisters are so different everyone can find one of the sisters to relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    Different In A Good Way

    Eleanor Brown has written an entertaining book written from an atypical perspective. I especially recommend this book for anyone who has a sister.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    The main thing originally attracting me to the story is most lik

    The main thing originally attracting me to the story is most likely the context of the family within, rather than the main plot. The father is a local professor whose soul subject is Shakespeare's body of work, a passion that leaks into his every waking moment as he and his wife raise their three daughters to be voracious readers [though they branch out more than their father]. Though they grew away from their roots, there was no denying their origins and they maintain a working knowledge of the Bard's plots, themes and, of course, sound bites of wisdom. And whether it be research or her own passion for these plays and sonnets, Shakespeare was truly a presence throughout the entire novel. The title, of course, but there is so much more.
    Things work mentioning: narration, family and...well, the content, I suppose. I'll start there since it is my weak point. Those who know me [or even pay marginal attention here] will be able to note a reluctance of mine to read uncomfortable things. I like my books cozy, fun and escapist friendly. This book is really none of these things. None of the relationships are particularly healthy. The women are at home because they crashed and burned, and in a tolerant and scandalous world, have done so quite impressively. There is a lot of emotional garbage being hurled around. For a reader who habitually invests in characters, that's not an easy read. And it gets harder as the characters become increasingly believable and real.
    Which handily drops me in front of one of the other points: the family. I'm sure there are those who may disagree with me, but I was enchanted by this family. Not in a way that means I want to spend a week at their house, but rather that I am so able to see the details of the people that it seems possible to visit them at their house. There really are no people truly similar to these women in my circles, but there are enough small touches in the portrayals that I don't need a real-life mirror. I see the humanity in the tics and quirks; in the calculated sighs, bitter retorts and unexpected support; in the petty squabbles and surprise rallying camaraderie. They say God is in the small things, the devil is in the details...all of that. But I would argue that reality is in the tiniest bits of information gleaned from unsuspecting foibles, and that, when an author, artist or any creator on hand captures the correct collaboration of these, you will capture your audience as well as your subject.
    Finally, the narration. What an odd thing, narration is. Think about it--some disembodied voice is telling us a story. What do we know about it? The thing that comes to mind when I ponder a narrator is something told me by one of my favorite professors. Always question the narrator. Who is he [or she]? Is he [or she] trustworthy? What are his [or her] motivations? He cited the cold logic of some of Mr. Poe's narrators. But how do you figure out a narrator who is at once each sister, but never a sister? More often than not, the narrator seems to take on the voices of the sisterhood not currently present in the situation, as though reflecting the impressions that would be made on the sister at hand. But when they are all together? I desperately want to use the phrase "hive mind" but that implies a level of cooperation that does not really exist between the women. They are far too independent [for whatever reason] to allow such a thing. And yet, they are family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I loved this book! I liked the way Ms. Brown used the possessive "our" which made me think that I was part of the family. The birth order of the three sisters are interesting in the dynamics of sisterhood - being the 3rd of three sisters myself, I could relate to the roles Ms. Brown assigned to them. This book is a selection for our book club and I can't wait to see what the other members thought. Very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 511 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 26