Customer Reviews for

The Weird Sisters

Average Rating 3.5
( 509 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(162)

3 Star

(122)

2 Star

(56)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Debut Novel!

I fell in love with this book from the start. Eleanor Brown is an artist with words, conveying gorgeous images that bring each of her main characters to vivid life. I loved spending time with the Andreas sisters, and their story was so beautifully compelling that I know...
I fell in love with this book from the start. Eleanor Brown is an artist with words, conveying gorgeous images that bring each of her main characters to vivid life. I loved spending time with the Andreas sisters, and their story was so beautifully compelling that I know I'll dive back in again and again. I recommend this without reservation -- what a wonderful book!

posted by NoseInABookLA on January 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Overrated

I tell my students all the time that one of their rights as a reader is to not have to finish a book that they are not enjoying. I am invoking that right for myself. I have made it to page 82, and I feel like I am forcing myself to pick this book up and read a couple mo...
I tell my students all the time that one of their rights as a reader is to not have to finish a book that they are not enjoying. I am invoking that right for myself. I have made it to page 82, and I feel like I am forcing myself to pick this book up and read a couple more pages at a time. Rose is a word I can't type into this review. Bean is selfish. Cordy is just showing up in the story after her introduction in chapter one, and at this point, I don't care about her or her hairy legs and dirty feet. I keep waiting for some complex interplay between the sisters that makes their relationship interesting, but I'm not finding it. Honestly, I found the junior high read The Total Tragedy of a Girl Named Hamlet a much more interesting Shakespearean connected read. Ignore the hype and pass on this one.

posted by crazyladyteacher on March 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 511 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    If my father talked to me in quotes like that all the time, I'd

    If my father talked to me in quotes like that all the time, I'd have left home as soon as I blew out the candles on my 18th birthday cake.   Such a weak plot, awful characters.  It was like it was written by a 7th grader with an over active imagination  OK, maybe an 8th grader.  I try  always to finish a book even though I don't like it.   This one was really hard.   But I did it.   Don't think I would have if I had another book waiting for me.   Save your money. . 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    The Weird Sisters is a book about self-acceptance, self-awarenes

    The Weird Sisters is a book about self-acceptance, self-awareness and growing up. I feel like I grew up a little bit more from reading it. The main characters, Rose, Bean, and Cordelia, are all flawed, unpleasant, and hard to get to know. But Brown shows readers more than the warts. She also shows us their pain, their guilt, and their strengths. 
    This is an honest and compassionate book. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Eleanor Brown's The Weird Sisters is a deeply engaging debut nov

    Eleanor Brown's The Weird Sisters is a deeply engaging debut novel. The narrator of the audiobook did a
    fabulous job bringing the characters to life.

    The voice of the story is compelling. I must admit that I was not sure which sister was telling the tale or if the
    perspective changed from time to time as I listened rather than read the book (and I tend to do other things
    while listening to audiobooks).

    A tale of relationships between siblings is not a new concept, but Eleanor Brown's take on these three sisters, t
    heir ethereal parents and life in a college town was unique. Rosalind, Bianca, and Cordelia, are named for
    Shakespearean heroines by their eccentric, Shakespearean professor father. These women may look alike,
    but they are very different. While they don’t seem to like one another much (or perhaps too easily see one
    another's faults), they do truly care for each other and their parents. 

    The sisters return to their childhood home on the pretense of caring for their sick mother, but they are really
    hiding from the shambles they've made of their lives. The small, boring town they return to provides them with
    the support system they need to get their acts together. The sisters seem to define themselves in relation to the
    other siblings--the smart sister, the beautiful sister, the flakey sister--and they learn how to build a relationship
    with one another outside of those labels, let go of old rivalries and find their paths.

    I loved that the father was perpetually addressing the family in iambic pentameter and using Shakespeare
    quotes to answer their questions. Book junkies will revel in the scene where Bianca explains to an ex-boyfriend
    that she has plenty of time to read because he doesn't sit for hours in front a TV mindlessly watching. She
    always has a book on her so that way when she's at line in the store or in a waiting room she can just pull out
    her book and start reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2014

    I love the voice in this story. The book is written in first per

    I love the voice in this story. The book is written in first person plural. Which creates a unique voice for the story progression.
     I have been craving for another book like this one since  I finished it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Decent read! I Could kind of relate to the story and it's charac

    Decent read! I Could kind of relate to the story and it's characters.  Quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    The Collective Narrative Was Too Gimmicky For Me The novels I¿v

    The Collective Narrative Was Too Gimmicky For Me

    The novels I’ve read recently have spoiled me. There are so many good books and talented authors out there and as someone on a tight budget can attest, when you purchase one that falls beneath the standard you’ve become accustomed to it’s disappointing on many levels.

    The characters drew me to The Weird Sisters and I had high hopes. Praise had been heaped on it by critics and authors alike. Promising right? The characters are layered and show change throughout the course of the story. Their stories were interesting enough to keep me turning the pages, but truth be told, I didn’t really care how the story ended. I just wanted it to end.

    With a Shakespeare professor influencing every aspect of the story it could be considered clever to have the Weird Sisters as a collective narrate with an omniscience. It jarred me out of the story repeatedly. Things would be going along from the point of view of one of the sisters and then suddenly the narrator is saying something like, “She couldn’t have known that at that moment we were hardly thinking of her at all.”

    This book isn’t awful. Brown’s writing shows flashes of beauty, prosaic and tender. The collective narrator was too gimmicky for me. I can’t recommend this book, but keep in mind my opinion is just one among many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    DESIREE DANIEL!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Loved it!!!! The book was so good i would not stop reading it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    Loved every page of it and am so anxious for this author's next

    Loved every page of it and am so anxious for this author's next book. What a great movie this would be!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    I loved this book. The character interaction was very believable

    I loved this book. The character interaction was very believable even when you didn't agree with what the characters were doing. I didn't want this book to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am curious after reading many of the reviews here that not one

    I am curious after reading many of the reviews here that not one mentions/questions who the narrator is ... the narrator keeps referring to the  3 sisters, individually. collectively but never once are we told which one is the narrator ... aside from that it was a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Real life with Shakespeare

    I will be watching for more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Loved it

    This book was like... a visit with my sisters. I felt like she wrote this for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Beautiful and intelligent novel. I so enjoyed this novel and new

    Beautiful and intelligent novel. I so enjoyed this novel and new author, I keep watching for her next novel, I hope something comes out soon!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is literature, not pop fiction.

    This is literature, not pop fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    If you have sisters, read this!

    I really enjoyed this book! I have two sisters and could relate to it. The dynamics between the three girls was not only interesting, but insightful. I found this book both entertaining and thought provoking! A good one for your summer readng list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Our book club read "The Weird Sisters" and found it to

    Our book club read "The Weird Sisters" and found it to be a very engaging and enjoyable read. Her writing style for this book is special. Don't put the book down--stay with it and you will be completely absorbed into all the characters--who are each unique! This is a very personable author who gave our book group a delightful speaker discussion author talk. A big thank you to her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    Delightful book.  Quirky enough to make you laugh and serious en

    Delightful book.  Quirky enough to make you laugh and serious enough to make you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Magical and moving!

    For anyone who loves their sibling(s), yet dont seem to like each other very much. Coming into adulthood with a Shakespearean commentary. Absolutely loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Great book!

    This book was funny and entertaining. Highly suggested!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    Good read, especially if you have siblings

    As I really enjoy Shakespeare, I thought this would be fun and quirky little read. Instead, I found a wonderfully deep story about a family in crisis. The sibling relationships so well mirror that of me and my two sisters that I found myself immediately sucked-in and identifying with the characters - each sister a little bit me and each sister a little bit my sisters. Be aware that you'll laugh at loud, tear-up, and truly enjoy this story. I only hope there's another book by this author letting me know how things go ten years down the line for these lovely 'Weird Sisters.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 511 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 26