Customer Reviews for

The Weird Sisters

Average Rating 3.5
( 507 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(162)

3 Star

(121)

2 Star

(56)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Debut Novel!

I fell in love with this book from the start. Eleanor Brown is an artist with words, conveying gorgeous images that bring each of her main characters to vivid life. I loved spending time with the Andreas sisters, and their story was so beautifully compelling that I know...
I fell in love with this book from the start. Eleanor Brown is an artist with words, conveying gorgeous images that bring each of her main characters to vivid life. I loved spending time with the Andreas sisters, and their story was so beautifully compelling that I know I'll dive back in again and again. I recommend this without reservation -- what a wonderful book!

posted by NoseInABookLA on January 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Overrated

I tell my students all the time that one of their rights as a reader is to not have to finish a book that they are not enjoying. I am invoking that right for myself. I have made it to page 82, and I feel like I am forcing myself to pick this book up and read a couple mo...
I tell my students all the time that one of their rights as a reader is to not have to finish a book that they are not enjoying. I am invoking that right for myself. I have made it to page 82, and I feel like I am forcing myself to pick this book up and read a couple more pages at a time. Rose is a word I can't type into this review. Bean is selfish. Cordy is just showing up in the story after her introduction in chapter one, and at this point, I don't care about her or her hairy legs and dirty feet. I keep waiting for some complex interplay between the sisters that makes their relationship interesting, but I'm not finding it. Honestly, I found the junior high read The Total Tragedy of a Girl Named Hamlet a much more interesting Shakespearean connected read. Ignore the hype and pass on this one.

posted by crazyladyteacher on March 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    vastly overrated

    I waited 6 months to get this book on a library hold list. It didn't take me long to discover that I needn't have ordered at all. The main thing I've felt in trying to read this frivelous unrealistic book is "the trivialization of important issues." The sisters and their parents deal with cancer, criminal behavior, unplanned pregnancy and a host of missed communications with an aplomb to be envied, if it were not so shallow in its treatment of life's real problems. To say it's a beach read is to flatter this very silly book. The front fly leaf carries this message: "There is no problem a library card can't solve." Be forewarned!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Beat down

    If you skip over the completly absurd amounts of Shakespeare quotes, and just read the parts that detail the characters trials then it is a decent read.

    Not only were the nods to The Bard over done, but started to seem a little smug. It felt as if the author was implying the reader to slow to pick up on her allusions to his massive body of work. I get it, you read Shakespeare and like it, good for you now lay off.

    Her use of the Shakespeare schtick did nothing to advance the characters. I found the father to be sad and empty devoid of any real depth because of all the wee old Willie stuff. Myabe the author intended for the dad to be one dimensional and virtually the most boring and useless character.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    The Collective Narrative Was Too Gimmicky For Me The novels I¿v

    The Collective Narrative Was Too Gimmicky For Me

    The novels I’ve read recently have spoiled me. There are so many good books and talented authors out there and as someone on a tight budget can attest, when you purchase one that falls beneath the standard you’ve become accustomed to it’s disappointing on many levels.

    The characters drew me to The Weird Sisters and I had high hopes. Praise had been heaped on it by critics and authors alike. Promising right? The characters are layered and show change throughout the course of the story. Their stories were interesting enough to keep me turning the pages, but truth be told, I didn’t really care how the story ended. I just wanted it to end.

    With a Shakespeare professor influencing every aspect of the story it could be considered clever to have the Weird Sisters as a collective narrate with an omniscience. It jarred me out of the story repeatedly. Things would be going along from the point of view of one of the sisters and then suddenly the narrator is saying something like, “She couldn’t have known that at that moment we were hardly thinking of her at all.”

    This book isn’t awful. Brown’s writing shows flashes of beauty, prosaic and tender. The collective narrator was too gimmicky for me. I can’t recommend this book, but keep in mind my opinion is just one among many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    This is a book group choice. I expected something more that jus

    This is a book group choice. I expected something more that just an escapist book from this group of current and retired professors. My question at the discussion will be "Who recommended this one?" With less plot predictability, and something other than a "they all lived happily ever after" ending, it could have been a much better book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Meh!

    To be honest, I didn't finish this book -- the writing was so dull I gave up on what was probably an interesting story. This was a book group pick and several of the women thought it was good. I just kept wanting to take a nap every time I tried to read it. It needed some sparkle. Instead, it seemed like a mildly interesting lecture by a college professor who likes to drone on and on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Not as good as expected

    It ended so abruptly. I am disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    slow read

    slow read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    disappointing

    I kept waiting for something to happen, but it never did. Each character's outcome is very predictable. No real redeeming qualities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3