Customer Reviews for

The Weird Sisters

Average Rating 3.5
( 509 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(162)

3 Star

(122)

2 Star

(56)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Debut Novel!

I fell in love with this book from the start. Eleanor Brown is an artist with words, conveying gorgeous images that bring each of her main characters to vivid life. I loved spending time with the Andreas sisters, and their story was so beautifully compelling that I know...
I fell in love with this book from the start. Eleanor Brown is an artist with words, conveying gorgeous images that bring each of her main characters to vivid life. I loved spending time with the Andreas sisters, and their story was so beautifully compelling that I know I'll dive back in again and again. I recommend this without reservation -- what a wonderful book!

posted by NoseInABookLA on January 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Overrated

I tell my students all the time that one of their rights as a reader is to not have to finish a book that they are not enjoying. I am invoking that right for myself. I have made it to page 82, and I feel like I am forcing myself to pick this book up and read a couple mo...
I tell my students all the time that one of their rights as a reader is to not have to finish a book that they are not enjoying. I am invoking that right for myself. I have made it to page 82, and I feel like I am forcing myself to pick this book up and read a couple more pages at a time. Rose is a word I can't type into this review. Bean is selfish. Cordy is just showing up in the story after her introduction in chapter one, and at this point, I don't care about her or her hairy legs and dirty feet. I keep waiting for some complex interplay between the sisters that makes their relationship interesting, but I'm not finding it. Honestly, I found the junior high read The Total Tragedy of a Girl Named Hamlet a much more interesting Shakespearean connected read. Ignore the hype and pass on this one.

posted by crazyladyteacher on March 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Decent read! I Could kind of relate to the story and it's charac

    Decent read! I Could kind of relate to the story and it's characters.  Quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am curious after reading many of the reviews here that not one

    I am curious after reading many of the reviews here that not one mentions/questions who the narrator is ... the narrator keeps referring to the  3 sisters, individually. collectively but never once are we told which one is the narrator ... aside from that it was a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    Delightful book.  Quirky enough to make you laugh and serious en

    Delightful book.  Quirky enough to make you laugh and serious enough to make you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Interesting Read

    The narrator/perspective in this story changes a lot, but once I got used to it I thought it was an intersting way to read the story. I found myself really enjoying getting to know the characters, and then found myself wanting a bit more when the story came to an end. All in all, a worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Well written but the story was a little pretentious.


    I was hoping for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Delited and Disappointed

    While the story line and characters were interesting and entertaining, the thing I couldn't believe is the tasteless language the author chose to use for the 3 daughters. Not only did it distract from the story, it was offensive. When you are telling a story of 3 girls raised in the home of a college English professor who recites verses from a famous author to teach and explain feelings, I find it unbelievable that his daughters would resort to offensive language to express themselves.

    I recommend this book only to those who can look past the "f" bombs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Spot on

    This book is a must read for anyone with sisters. There were so many poignent parts...I just kept highlighting sections of the book that spoke so strongly to me. I do admit that it was slow paced, but the author's insight into the dynamics of a family consisting of three daughters, was spot on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Time foiller

    A quick read while waiting on better books. Not bad, but seems to be missing something

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    So-so

    Weird sisters, weird book. The good things is that the sisters are so different everyone can find one of the sisters to relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    Different In A Good Way

    Eleanor Brown has written an entertaining book written from an atypical perspective. I especially recommend this book for anyone who has a sister.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    It was rather slow and predictable and sometimes the Shakespeare

    It was rather slow and predictable and sometimes the Shakespearean quotes made the dialogue seem clunky, but it wasn't so horrible that I couldn't finish it. The way in which the author allowed the lessons to come forward through the various sister stories seemed natural and (mostly) believable, and the characters behaved true to their natures. Nothing too deep to be found in this book, but it is a sweet and simple story of sisters and family dynamic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    PRETTY good

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Prose, Little Plot

    THE WEIRD SISTERS is about the "clash" of three sisters when they return to their parents' home in a small college town to not only be there for their cancer-striken mother, but because circumstances in their own individual lives led them to this point of "starting over." Their father is a HUGE fan of Shakespeare, named the three girls after Shakespeare characters, and often recites quotations from the bard. His daughters picked up on this trait growing up and so now they, too, quote Shakespeare. Many of the lines are quotations you probably don't remember reading in your British Lit class, but the author must have done some extensive research (or is a HUGE fan herself) to include the proper quote at the right moment in the novel. Now, you may ask yourself why the sisters are weird. I assure you, they're not. Shakespeare apparently meant a word closer to "wyrd" than "weird" in MACBETH when he said, "I dreamt last night of the three weird sisters." Wyrd means something closer to "fate," so it's referring to the fated sisters or possibly sisters who have a particular fate. The novel itself is very well written. If this were my Creative Writing course, the teacher would use the author's prose as an example to the class. Eleanor Brown writes beautiful, vivid descriptions and uses unique adjective and word pairings. For example: "The last of the sunlight drifted through the window, illuminating the lines on her face, and Bean was surprised, as she always was when she came home, by how our parents were aging. Like the changes in the furniture, Rose hardly noticed it. It was gentle as erosion to her. To Bean, it was a seismic shift." "Mrs. Landrige, the librarian who had been there in the red-wagon days, had been white-haired and stooped even then, but Bean could see her at the desk, stamping library card with a patient hand." And occasional humor: "She didn't think about God a lot. None of us did. He was just there if we needed him. Kind of like an extra tube of toothpaste under the sink." The author's gift of descriptive writing is both her strength...and her weakness. Brown is so focused on the most minute details and descriptive phrases that she fails to move the novel's events (what little there are) along at an interesting pace. Instead, her beautiful prose feels neverending and the story's basic plot moves along at a snail's pace. At times, I became so bored and didn't care about any of the characters or what was going to happen next. When the characters had conversations, one would speak, there'd be a long description about what was going on physically with the characters, and then finally the next would reply. By the time the 2nd character finally spoke, I had forgotten what the first had said! The novel is also told from a unique point of view. There are three sisters, but the story is told from the point of view of a nonexistent fourth sister who sees all and knows all. It was a bit difficult to get used to, and even by the end of the novel, I still wasn't quite sure that I liked this storytelling technique. In summary, while I loved THE WEIRD SISTERS' beautiful lifelike descriptions, I was disappointed by the lack of plot. I felt the sisters deserved better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Club Book

    I read this for my Book Club and I liked it ... it was a good choice. The sisters were a bit odd ("weird") at times and their personalities came through in the writing. I liked Cordelia the best ... she was the free spirit who eventually settled down. Bianca was rough around the edges since she was so wordly having worked for a big corporation. She found herself though when she moved back to the place she thought she could never go back to. Rose was indecisive at times and that annoyed me. She knew she belonged with Jonathan ... I don't think the mother's illness had anything to do with Rose wanting to stay home ... she was afraid of making such a big move away from her home. I wish I knew more Shakespeare so I could have spotted what plays all the quotes came from. I liked the use of the quotes ... different. All in all it was a good read and I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So good at making me care about the characters that I couldn't finish

    I couldn't finish it. I liked it, but the problem is, I still have family and sibling issues myself. I'm afraid the oldest daughter, Rose, is going to get totally shafted. Like a lot of oldest siblings, she's the responsible one who stays near the parents, has a serious job, doesn't have much fun, etc. Rose does have a fiance.....who loves to travel. She doesn't. That's a problem.

    I'm the older of two sibs myself, and I rebelled against my fate - I didn't want to be the bossy, prissy one whom nobody liked and who never got to have any fun. Now I'm not sure how that worked out....my brother LIKES being the responsible one, plus he's gotten to travel a lot more than I have. Anyway - back to Rose. I'm afraid she's going to get dumped by her fiance and stuck in this nowhere little town forever, while her 2 sisters end up having a pretty fun life.

    However, they've got their own problems. The second sister stole from her employer and managed to escape legal consequences, but is still knee-deep in debt. She got to live in NYC for a while, so she's feeling frustrated being stuck back in this nowhere little burg again. The youngest, Cordelia, lived like those people who used to follow the Grateful Dead, got knocked up, and now is home again and working in a cafe.

    See, here's what I think. If I was Rose, the oldest, and I had a fiance who loved to travel (in fact, he's got a job in *England*!) I'd join him so fast it would make your head spin. The heck with everybody else. But that's me. The man I love plus travel would be heaven for me. Rose wants to stay in the nowhere little burg, though, and I'm afraid the relationship is doomed. She'll stay there, but end up alone. The second sister - she's the one I identify with the most (although I've never stolen from an employer and don't plan to start.) She misses the stimulation of NYC. She likes men. I suspect she's going to end up with another character in the book (IRL it probably wouldn't work out, but this is fiction.) And Cordelia is probably going to morph into a Mommy(TM) and end up with the guy she's found a job with. I can't handle the thought of Rose getting stuck w/o a fiance and with all the deadly responsibilities of The One Who Stayed Near The Parents. And that's why I couldn't finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    okay

    i enjoyed the read it was a cute book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    okay book

    took me weeks to get through. i found it slow. everyone else loves it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7