BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Weird Sisters

Average Rating 3.5
( 508 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(162)

3 Star

(122)

2 Star

(56)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Debut Novel!

I fell in love with this book from the start. Eleanor Brown is an artist with words, conveying gorgeous images that bring each of her main characters to vivid life. I loved spending time with the Andreas sisters, and their story was so beautifully compelling that I know...
I fell in love with this book from the start. Eleanor Brown is an artist with words, conveying gorgeous images that bring each of her main characters to vivid life. I loved spending time with the Andreas sisters, and their story was so beautifully compelling that I know I'll dive back in again and again. I recommend this without reservation -- what a wonderful book!

posted by NoseInABookLA on January 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

disappointing

I was so excited to get this one. The blurbs and reviews made it sound so good, yet I was disappointed to say the least. If there was a climax to this story, I missed it. The ending was flat and left me with a ho hum feeling. Wasted money.

posted by bookgirl1965 on March 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Fantastic Debut Novel!

    I fell in love with this book from the start. Eleanor Brown is an artist with words, conveying gorgeous images that bring each of her main characters to vivid life. I loved spending time with the Andreas sisters, and their story was so beautifully compelling that I know I'll dive back in again and again. I recommend this without reservation -- what a wonderful book!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I recommend highly!

    I felt connected to the characters from the beginning. I'm usually drawn to books that are about readers or writers or authors so this one was right up my alley. I related to the three sisters' love of reading and how they lost themselves in a good book and enjoyed the sad stories of each and how they managed to overcome and succeed in a better life. The three sisters had different outlooks on life, three different attitudes and differed in their opinions on every debatable subject which made it interesting and real. Their mother needed them in a crisis of battling breast cancer so they all moved home where they bonded and learned much and shared memories in the loving flashbacks. This is a heartwarming story about love, family, lessons we all learn in life and bonding. I recommend highly for all.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    A gorgeous book!

    Beautiful writing, compelling characters, vivid imagery--I loved this book. I was so sad when it ended--wanted to linger in it longer!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I really enjoyed this book! The characters are easy to relate to, and the story kept me going. I found to be good from beginning to end. I hope we see more from this author!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    LOVED it! You won't be disappointed!

    Great story, excellent writer, I did not want it to end!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Valentine's gift to yourself

    There is nothing more delightful than reading a new author and falling in love with her novel. Amy Einhorn Books, published by G.P. Putnam's Sons, a member of Penguin Group, has a fabulous track record of introducing me to such new authors as including Kathryn Stockett (The Help), Mark Mustian (The Gendarme), Sarah Blake (The Postmistress) and Kelly O'Connor McNees (The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott). The newest release from Amy Einhorn Book from Eleanor Brown, The Weird Sisters, and she emerges as one of the brightest new voices in literature. The tag line of the novel is "See, we love each other. We just don't happen to like each other very much." That line alone on the cover just grabs the reader right away. Rosalind (called Rose) is the eldest daughter, a math professor who has finally found love after many years alone. Her fiance is living in England temporarily for a teaching position, so Rose is living at home in their small town in Ohio, taking care of her mother who has just been diagnosed with cancer. Rose is the dutiful daughter, the one who had always kept the entire family in line. Bianca, (called Bean) the glamorous middle daughter, was living in New York City and slunk home after her employer caught her stealing money from them. The youngest free spirit daughter, Cordelia (called Cordy), also turns up home with a secret after years of living from hand to mouth, traveling the country following itinerant bands. Their father is a Shakespeare professor, thus the girls names. He is pretty much the absent minded professor, and I loved the fact that his character functions as almost a Greek chorus, tossing in Shakespearean quotes to comment on the plot. You didn't need to know Shakespeare to appreciate this book, and most of the quotes will be familiar to anyone who read it in high school (ie- all of us). Early on in the story, Bean's boss says to her after he catches her stealing, "You may have lost your way more than a little bit, but I believe you can find your way back. That's the trick. Finding your way back." And that is the theme of this amazing book- the Weird Sisters finding their way back. (The Weird Sisters were the name of the witches in MacBeth). The sisters spend the summer figuring out how they got where they are, and how to get where they should be. Rose has to decide if she can leave the only home she has known to be with the man she loves. Will her family survive without her holding them together? Bean left the excitement and loneliness of the big city; can she admit her shame and start over? Cordy has always been the baby of the family; can she take responsibility for her own life? Brown's does a terrific job with her characters. She describes the mother as "capricious, likely to be struck by a whim to prepare a four-course meal on an ordinary Wednesday, and then struck by equally strong whims to wander off in the middle of that preparation and take a soothing bath, or pick up the book that she had been reading earlier and involve herself in that world for a while until the pasta water boils away and the smoke alarm (hopefully) brings her back to reality." The sisters are the best drawn characters, but even the minor ones- the coffee shop owner, the professor Bean has an affair with, Rose's fiance, the pastor- all are well developed. Sometimes in novels like this, the male characters are stock, but not here. Care is taken with each of them. The wri

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    Adored this book!

    Wonderfully, beautifully, artistically written! I savored every word of this book. The three sisters were such dynamic characters and I could relate to each of them. A fabulous read, highly recommended!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    perfect read!!!

    I loved every moment of this book. Not only is the story beautifully told, but the characters are relatable. Simply wonderful.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Great Read

    Excellent character development and an inciteful view into the complex relationships of sisters and families. A compelling storyline. I'm looking forward to Ms Brown's next effort.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reality is anything but weird

    If realism in fiction is an art form, then characterization is the piece de resistance. Getting it right is oh so hard to achieve. Stereotyping is a common pitfall, one-dimensional personalities are abundant. But when the essence of a flesh and blood person is transferred to the page, the result is pure magic. Make no mistake, a fully actualized character does not have to be likeable. In fact, how many people are completely honorable when it comes to dissecting a real life? Would the sum total of anyone's actions, desires and motives pass such a litmus test? In Eleanor Brown's The Weird Sisters, a trio of adult women are brilliantly captured as living, breathing human beings - snarky moments, bad decisions and all.

    Perceived failure permeates the psyche. All three sisters feel that they are not living up to expectations. Over the course of a summer, they all return home seeking refuge from the world only to find that their mother is battling for her life. Her illness may bring them under the same roof, but they have a lot of individual issues to resolve before they can come together in any meaningful way.

    Rose is terrified of change. She becomes immobilized when confronted with the dilemma of bravely starting a new life with her fiance or clinging to the safety of the familiar. She still lives and works in the same hometown as her parents, and her obstinate loyalty in remaining close to them hinders her ability for growth. Her dedication, while selfless, leaves her stifled. She would rather accept the consistency of a humdrum existence rather than push the envelope. Will she seize the opportunity for love and happiness or let it slip through her fingers?

    Bianca, a.k.a. Bean, is a Manhattan socialite in retreat. Her designer handbag didn't contain the cash needed to maintain her expensive lifestyle. Drowning in debt, she leaves everything behind succumbing to depression. She pulls the covers of her childhood bed over her head in disgrace. Small town life does not sit well with her and her pride is further wounded when she ventures out to the local watering hole alone with disastrous results. While trying to keep her financial predicament a secret, she goes on to betray the trust of a longtime friend. Will she sink deeper into immorality or will she find the inner strength to rally and pull her life together?

    Cordelia is the free spirit. Sometimes she doesn't wash. She is known to take off for months at a time with no one knowing her exact whereabouts. She's a wanderer, a drifter. Freedom is her religion. Being tied down isn't for her, until she realizes she is pregnant. Her new found sense of responsibility pricks her conscience. She's alone, and she's scared. For the first time, she wonders if she can make a sustained commitment to anyone or anything. Will she run again or will she finally put down roots - in of all places - her hometown?

    Literary buffs will appreciate the varied allusions to Shakespeare throughout. From the girls' names to their father's frequent outpourings of soliloquy, the Bard, himself, is cast in a supporting role. His immortal words intertwined with Brown's modern approach fuse together forming a literary style all its own.

    Overall, reality is anything but weird.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    Great book, wonderfully realized characters

    I don't typically read what I think of as "slice of life" novels, but the Shakespeare theme intrigued me. I was completely won over by the author's unique voice and narration. By the end of the book I truly knew each sister and felt an emotional connection to the characters that was unexpected and gratifying. Loved it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    nice sister drama

    I really enjoyed this book--the characters drew me in especially through a great voice. the Shakesperian allusios and quotes helped to illuminate a powerful story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    The Weird Sisters is a book about self-acceptance, self-awarenes

    The Weird Sisters is a book about self-acceptance, self-awareness and growing up. I feel like I grew up a little bit more from reading it. The main characters, Rose, Bean, and Cordelia, are all flawed, unpleasant, and hard to get to know. But Brown shows readers more than the warts. She also shows us their pain, their guilt, and their strengths. 
    This is an honest and compassionate book. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2014

    I love the voice in this story. The book is written in first per

    I love the voice in this story. The book is written in first person plural. Which creates a unique voice for the story progression.
     I have been craving for another book like this one since  I finished it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    DESIREE DANIEL!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Loved it!!!! The book was so good i would not stop reading it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    Loved every page of it and am so anxious for this author's next

    Loved every page of it and am so anxious for this author's next book. What a great movie this would be!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    I loved this book. The character interaction was very believable

    I loved this book. The character interaction was very believable even when you didn't agree with what the characters were doing. I didn't want this book to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Real life with Shakespeare

    I will be watching for more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Loved it

    This book was like... a visit with my sisters. I felt like she wrote this for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Beautiful and intelligent novel. I so enjoyed this novel and new

    Beautiful and intelligent novel. I so enjoyed this novel and new author, I keep watching for her next novel, I hope something comes out soon!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7