Customer Reviews for

Welcome to Camden Falls (Main Street Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

NIce book!

I really liked this book because the author creates a clear picture in my mind i am more like flora because im in sixth grade and i would be sad if my parents died.

posted by Anonymous on April 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Positives about the book would be that it was so cute how they all would work at the
grandmothers' store and are great friends. I also liked how it took place in Massachusetts. The
last thing I liked about the book was how they moved to the mom's old house and how Fl...
Positives about the book would be that it was so cute how they all would work at the
grandmothers' store and are great friends. I also liked how it took place in Massachusetts. The
last thing I liked about the book was how they moved to the mom's old house and how Flora
found all these things left behind from her mother to help her remember her mother, and make her less sad.


Some negatives of the book would be that personally I like first person. Also I couldn't really understand the lesson of the book or tell what the point of the book was. Overall, though,I still found this book interesting.


The writing style of the author can be explained in many ways. Welcome to Camden Falls was clear and easy to read. Also I noticed it was told in third person. Lastly, the book was very straight forward in telling what was happening and how it happened. I liked the writing
style of the book, but I would rather it was told in first person.


For the recommendation of the book it sort of depends on what you like in a book. One reason I would say yes would be because it was interesting. I'd say no if you don't like sad books. Although it wasn't a complete series of sad events it was still a sad thought (the parents dying)Lastly I would recommend the book if you are the type of person that is curious and that likes finding things in books.

A similar novel would be Lily's Crossing, which is about a young girl whose mother died.Some novels I would recommend would be When You Reach Me, Absolutely Normal Chaos,
and The Upstairs Room. I would recommend these books, because they were mysterious and
made me curious, had a lesson in them, some were funny and they were all interesting.

posted by KKMURPH on January 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Positives about the book would be that it was so cute how they all would work at the
    grandmothers' store and are great friends. I also liked how it took place in Massachusetts. The
    last thing I liked about the book was how they moved to the mom's old house and how Flora
    found all these things left behind from her mother to help her remember her mother, and make her less sad.


    Some negatives of the book would be that personally I like first person. Also I couldn't really understand the lesson of the book or tell what the point of the book was. Overall, though,I still found this book interesting.


    The writing style of the author can be explained in many ways. Welcome to Camden Falls was clear and easy to read. Also I noticed it was told in third person. Lastly, the book was very straight forward in telling what was happening and how it happened. I liked the writing
    style of the book, but I would rather it was told in first person.


    For the recommendation of the book it sort of depends on what you like in a book. One reason I would say yes would be because it was interesting. I'd say no if you don't like sad books. Although it wasn't a complete series of sad events it was still a sad thought (the parents dying)Lastly I would recommend the book if you are the type of person that is curious and that likes finding things in books.

    A similar novel would be Lily's Crossing, which is about a young girl whose mother died.Some novels I would recommend would be When You Reach Me, Absolutely Normal Chaos,
    and The Upstairs Room. I would recommend these books, because they were mysterious and
    made me curious, had a lesson in them, some were funny and they were all interesting.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    NIce book!

    I really liked this book because the author creates a clear picture in my mind i am more like flora because im in sixth grade and i would be sad if my parents died.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Anonymous

    This book is now one of my favorites! I love it, I need to read the next one though... This book is sad, happy, and makes me smile. I got addicted and hooked on that book!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Marta Morrison for TeensReadToo.com

    I really enjoyed reading the first book in the new MAIN STREET series by Ann M. Martin. I am glad that she is doing another series. I have many girls in my 5th-grade class who are still reading THE BABY-SITTERS CLUB and this new series is a little more timely. <BR/><BR/>It is the story of two sisters, Flora and Ruby, who lose their parents one night in a terrible car crash. Their grandmother picks up the pieces of their lives and they move to Camden Falls to live with her. Their grandmother owns a sewing shop and the girls help her out. There they meet two other girls -- Olivia, who lives next door and whose grandmother is co-owner of the shop, and Nikki, who is poor and lives on the wrong side of town. <BR/><BR/>Flora, Olivia, and Nikki are all in sixth grade and have the same teacher, and Ruby will be in fourth grade. <BR/><BR/>The author has made a simple story very contemporary by including many social issues that kids need to face each day. There is a family contending with Alzheimers Disease and another with downsizing. Flora is faced with trying to know who she is and who her parents were, there is a lady who has been in a concentration camp, another family who has a teen with Down Syndrome, and poverty. It is an intelligent and not watered down story. <BR/><BR/>I am looking forward to reading the next one in the series and introducing them to my class in the fall.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    A wonderful book

    I would defintely recommend this book to you. This is a book about two sisters that have to live with their grandma because their parents died in a car accident. Now they have to start a new life in Camden Falls. Min,their grandma, owns a store called Needle and Thread. Flora,one of the sisters, loves to sew and likes to help out in Needle and Thread.Ruby,the other sister, likes to dance and sing in choruses.What I really like about it is that they have a website to help you understand where everything is and helps you learn more about the town. I really enjoyed this book and hopefully you will too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    This book is incrediable!

    This book is about two girls who have recently lost both of their parents suddenly in a wreck.Now they have to go live with their grandmother in Camden Falls,leaving all their friends behind.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    a great read

    this book is a wonderful start to an amazing series of the changes in life of two young maturing girls. it really does show how life can have its ups and downs. i love this book and the others that follow. i would recommend this to anyone who likes a good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Sorry For Those Who Loved It

    I got this at a book fair. We got to see a video of what the book was about and stupid me didn't even bother to actually read part of it. So I got it and I couldn't stand it. It was sort of interesting, but I was completely disconnected from the characters and story line. I hate having to do this and review a book that I never even finished, but I just couldn't. I got to chapter three and basically sank. It was boring and annoying. It just sat there in my bookcase and has been sitting there for around 4 years. I finally found it and now I am giving it away. I didn't bother with the rest of the series. I'm sorry, this book isn't the book for me. Some may like it, but I was like in the 3rd or 4th grade and it was WAY too easy for me. I should have read some of it first. The characters seem so fictional and unrealistic. I just read the back right now and I wanted to fall asleep. I think the author could have done way better. I have always believed that a book needs to hook a reader right at the beginning, and this book didn't do that...and I just read the first sentence, and I started and just did not want to finish it! It was way too long, and way too boring...sorry again. Not the best book...=l I'm sorry Ms./Mrs. Martin... I didn't like it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    Great book!

    My daughter and I have read all 6 books and love them. We recommend you read book number one first. It explains who the girls are, how they got to Camden Fall and all about their neighbors and the Row Houses. My daughter can't wait until Book number 7 is released.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    Amazing!

    I love this book so much! Whenever I read it would just give me a good feeling. I am on the second book of the series and I can't wait to read them all! I think you would enjoy them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Blazin

    I'll take it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Broken

    Trots in humming Fancy. "Hey do you have any old fashioned root be<_>er?" She says quickly, trying to keep in the singing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Blue lightning

    Dashed in. "You said old fashioned, right? Do you have any of those old fashioned rifle muskets? Ive been looking for one for EVAAR!" He bounced up and down with anticipation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    AL

    Yayz. But more importantly... DO YOU HAVE YAMS?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Great book

    This is now one of my favorite books. I just love it. I'm planing on reading the whole seires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Awesome

    Its good for a book i give 4 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    LOVER HERE

    I READ THIS BOOK BEFORE !!!!! III JUST CAN'T STOP READING IT !!!!!!!!! I THINK IT WAS A HAPPY BOOK!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Cool girl

    Best book i have read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2008

    Wonderful Book

    This book is the best book of Ann M. MArtin. IT is sad in the begining, and happy at the end. I ahven't read the other series of theis book, but I know it will be nicely written by Ann.I would recommend people to read it as a book club, at school, or by your- selves. PLEASE Read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    Poor,sad children

    This is a good book. Sad and happy at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2