Customer Reviews for

Welcome to Temptation

Average Rating 4
( 192 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    Tempting Read

    Welcome to Temptation is by far one of the best books I've ever read. It was like reading a romantic comedy movie. I gobbled the book up in one sitting it was so good.
    The story is set in the sleepy town of Temptation, two sisters Sophie & Amy crash into town on a job and end up with so much more. The primary characters are witty and well developed and even the supporting characters in the book are not easily forgotten. You will love the good guys and hate the bad guys.
    It's thirller, a mystery, a political satire, romantic comedy, women's fiction, family story, sister story, love story all rolled into one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a warm amusing madcap romance

    Sophie Dempsey drives from Cincinnati to Temptation, Ohio to assist her mouthy sister Amy with filming a video with a former star who is coming home. Upon arriving at the outskirts of the town, Sophie wants to go home feeling unwelcome when she reads the sign: "We Believe in Family Values", as this movie will anger the local residents. Her fears prove valid when the town council passes an anti-pornography law. She explains to Amy how she feels about filming in this town as both have always been honest with one another, but her sibling tells her not to worry.

    Sophie and Mayor Phineas Tucker meet and are attracted to one another. The single father wants to be supportive of Sophie, a magician with the camera, but also knows as the mayor he must enforce all ordinances; not just the ones he believes are good for the residents. However, as Harvard grad Phinn and Chicago Sophie fall in love, each wonders what will become of them.

    This is a warm amusing madcap romance that at times is purposely over the top to bring further jocularity to the mix. The support characters are a zany crew whether they are from Temptation or elsewhere. However, this is the lead couples' tale as Sophie and Phinn disagree on adhering to the law with ironically her being the firm advocate even as the sex has both wanting more. Fans of jocular contemporaries will laugh out loud at the antics of the cast who will welcome readers to Temptation.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorite books

    Love, love, love this book. I like the other Jennifer Crusie books, but this is the best by far. It is laugh out loud funny and the characters are so enjoyable. You want to know where their lives take them after the book ends, that's how wrapped up in the characters you become. You get a little taste of that in Faking It which made me smile because I loved Sophie and Phin and the entire cast of characters in Welcome To Temptation so much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Humorous contemporary romance

    Siblings Sophie and Amy Dempsey travel to Temptation, Ohio to film a video starring a has-been actress whom wants to return to her Hollywood glory days. Though the extended family DNA must include a gene for thievery and scams, in the case of Sophie it must have skipped a generation, as she is the most law-abiding person there is. Sophie has a premonition that Temptation will prove to be trouble. The town mayor Phin Tucker verifies her omen. <P>He makes her feel things that she never felt before. In spite of his brain¿s better judgment, he falls into lust with the town¿s visitor. The pair begins a passionate affair that earn them the contempt and disapproval of the local residents. However, things become ugly when their ecstasy turns into a much deeper relationship that forces one of the town¿s blue blooded residents to personally take action to break them apart. That could include killing Sophie. <P>One thing about a Jennifer Crusie novel is that the book is filled with subtle and not so subtle types of humor. For instance, if the charming lead couple marries, her name becomes ... This offbeat jocularity found throughout the tale provides a counterpoint to the serious story line. The delightful but eccentric secondary cast amplifies the plot with their oddities that show why Ms. Crusie is considered a master of characterization. WELCOME TO TEMPTATION is filled with twists and turns that will give much pleasure to an adoring audience that will demand sequel after sequel from one of the better modern day authors of the new millenium. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Just started reading this author. Great read . Enjoyed most of the characters, being from Ohio I found it rather interesting .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Ok but slow going

    The writing was cleaner and more interesting towards the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Disappointing

    I stopped reading it on page 100. Terrible characters, no plot to speak of, huge waste of time and money. Very surprised so many people gave it good reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Sex overload but-----

    A goof interesting story, worth the ten bucks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Havent read it

    Boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Great read!

    I loved this book! Another fantastic novel from Jennifer Crusie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    This is one of my absolute favorite books...ever. I've read thi

    This is one of my absolute favorite books...ever. I've read this book every summer since it was originally published, and it never gets old. My copy is missing a cover and a few of the first pages from passing it around to all of my friends...and I find something new each time I read it! I loved all of the quirky characters, the places the plot takes you are hilarious, and the love scenes are STEAMY! Great chemistry between Sophie and Phin and also between Sophie and her family. Definitely Crusie's best and I've found it hard to find another book like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I love Jennifer crusie and while this it not one of my favorite books of hers it is definitely worth the buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Great story!

    My favorite Crusie book! Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    11/18/11

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    One of my favorite Crusie books!

    Always an enjoyable read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Cruise is my guilty pleasure...

    This was the first of Cruise's books I had read. It certainly wasn't my last, as I quickly devoured all the rest after reading it. This one is, however, my favorite. She has a sharp wit that I usually find lacking in this genre. She breathes life into the romantic comedy. Buy them all! Fun, enjoyable reads!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    my favorite

    jennifer crusie is an excellent comedic writer. great stories i laugh so hard my eyes tear. read them all but welcome to temptation is the one i come back to time and again....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Prepare to laugh and fan yourself

    I admit the storyline isn't as meaningful as some of her other books, but this one is one of Crusie's best books. It usually takes a lot for me to laugh; and I was cracking up so much reading this book. It's very well written. The romance was thrilling, and I found it hard to put the book down. The romance dialog was so offbeat, refreshing (don't think I've read anything similar), and captivating. She develops her characters so you can get attached to or dislike them. This book is sassy, romantic, and humorous-I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    A Must Read!!!

    I LOVED THIS BOOK! Its amazing! I couldnt put it down it has some really hot romance scenes and great plot excecution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    Funny, fast paced romance!

    I've read several Jennifer Crusie books and this is by far my favorite. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10