Customer Reviews for

Welcome to the Departure Lounge: Adventures in Mothering Mother

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    Welcome to the Departure Lounge

    This was a good book but it should be fiction. No one I know could afford to have a staff of 14, much less spending all the other money mentioned in the book, i.e eating at such classy restaurants and buying such expensive clothes. It seems unbelievable to me due to the fact that it apparently was written by and about a very rich family. It would have been more helpful and enlightening if it were written about an average family in America, I think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    This story was a hoot as well as heartbreaking. Although I don't

    This story was a hoot as well as heartbreaking. Although I don't have aging parents, and don't know anyone with that much money at
    their disposal, I could still relate to the conflicts, anguish and frustration of the author. It's written that well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    It was actually between 2-3 stars, but I didn't have the option.

    It was supposed to be a memoir, but read like a novel for me. Parts of it were unbelievable. And I mean parts like hiring as many as 11 different people to wander in and out of these old folks lives WEEKLY (one with Alzheimer's and one who went in and out of reality) - with no one in charge. The daughter (who hired these people) then returned to her own family in Canada and came back sort of monthly. It was funny at times; it was sad at times. We discussed it at book club. I found it interesting that members that were going through similar situations - or had gone through similar situations - didn't like the book. The few members who have not yet- of necessity - become involved in their aging parents lives, enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    emotional

    I found myself laughing at the absurdity of the situation and wry humour at the same time I cried with sorrow about the departure lounge; relieved that, as someone caring for a parent with dementia while trying to juggle a normal family life, someone else has walked the walk and can talk the talk. Didn't want to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    Must read this memoir!!

    In Meg Federico's exceptionally well-written memoir, she shares her bittersweet story of caring for her dementia-impaired mother, Addie, during her final months. But keeping Addie in her own home means coping with the antics of her Alzheimers-ridden husband, Walter. An extensive health care team is assembled to take care of all the couple's needs. When complete and total chaos erupts, Ms. Federico chooses to remain with her mother, sacrificing signifcant periods of time with her family. She strives to make her mother as comfortable as possible during her deterioration. I absolutely loved this wonderful, touching book. As I read, I was extremely impressed by Ms. Federico's poignant candor and warm humor. She was able to eloquently express the indignity suffered by both Addie and Walter. Repeatedly, I was touched by her deep feelings of compassion for her mother. This book teaches many important lessons. I learned that in order to survive anything, a sense of humor is essential, even in the most dire circumstances. Unfathomable patience and understanding are also expressed for us to learn from. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND that everyone with aging parents read this captivating, heartwarming memoir.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I laughed, I cried.

    This book was easy to read and gave me a laugh or a tear on every page. I loved her writing and hope she writes more soon. A story many can relate to with aging parents. I gave this book to 2 people going through a similar situation and they enjoyed it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    So funny, So true

    I gave this book to my Mom for Mother's Day. She got such a kick out of it. Everytime I came over she was raving about another part of the book she had read. Perfect for anyone who has had to take care of another person they love. I highly reccommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Welcome to the Departure Lounge

    I found the book rather depressing; but then my Mother had dementia for several years. However, the ladies in our bookclub who had not been touched by this disease seemed to get an enlightened education from the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Old Folks Home

    This story actually made me sad. Sad that this daughter felt compelled to tell a story that, while I am sure truthful and accurate, depicted her mother in such a negative way. The lengths that seniors will go to in order to remain independent is extraordinary and compelling. I do commend the author on her care for her mother and her time spent taking care of her during her period of decline. I would also add that many people were raised by parents of this generation and by women who were wives first and mother's second. It wasn't perfect...but it was what they knew and what was expected of them. I'm glad our generation has broken this mold. I'm not sure I would recommend the book though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book, couldn't put it down

    This is a wonderful, touching book describing the emmotions of both the writer and the characters. Although the reality of this illness is devastating, the writer showed her compassion, intelligence, and her unique sense of humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2009

    Growing Old touches many.

    One rarely thinks how growing old will affect/effect others. Many will never understand how their aging touches others. I am not sure how one should feel as I watch the aging of those I know or love. This book may give someone a bit of insight they never conceived would/could happen to their lives due to an aging loved one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Funny and touching read - a gentle introduction to the perils of caring for one's parents...

    This was a touching, hilarious, and by turns sad book that was impossible to put down. Federico brings a fresh eye to the very timely subject of caring for one's parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1