Customer Reviews for

Welcome to the World, Baby Girl!

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    Flagg can't miss

    First-rate author of FRIED GREEN TOMATOES, Fannie Flagg hits the mark once again with this story of a down-home girl who makes it big in Manhattan. As THE anchorwoman in NY, you'd think she'd be on top of the world, but she starts drinking, falling in love, and having health problems. Not as upbeat throughout as FRIED GREEN TOMATOES, this is still a great read. And it's reality. The title says it all

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have to admit that when I started reading this book, I almost put it down half way through as I was not able to quite get into the story and was not sure where it was heading. Boy, am I glad I persevered as the second half just built up and surprisingly took me on an incredible emotional journey. By the end of the book, I was flying through the pages to learn more about Dena's family secrets of which once revealed, just blew me away as I would have never expcted same in a million years. The primary issue brought up at the end hit home as my family has had similar experiences. Eye opening read to say the least.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    A charming read

    Delightful characters populate the small town of Elmwood. Flagg delivers her signature charm with an intriguing mystery. Why did Dena's mother disappear? It's a voyage of discovery that helps a young woman find herself despite the world's efforts to corrupt her and cheapen her life. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    Funniest Book Ever

    I picked this up after having read Fried Green Tomatoes. I thought this was a great read with humor and intelligence. It was a tight story full of twists and turns. I'd recommend this book to anyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Babby gril

    I have a babby gril and she is 1 and 15 feet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Great read!

    Starts out slow, but trust me, you will not be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Sage and Bane

    2 twins crawl in. They both have black hair with brown flecks and blue green eyes. They have pink cheeks with freckles. They were born in a plant pod, literally, Sage was born in a rose bud and Bane was born in a dandelion bud. They have angel wings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    BABY POWER?

    ????????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Laugh out loud.

    Very entertaining read. Can't figure out where fanny will take you next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    If your roots are Southern...this is a MUST READ!!

    Fanny Flagg was (or should have been),required reading in all southern schools - especially all girls/women's schools. She looks at life and comments on it in a completely southern way - Realism with the scent of magnolias and honeysuckle. Just reading the first chapter of any of her books,sends my creaky old bones right smack back to the middle of South Carolina...and I be lovin' it! I b'leive we must be cousins or something. Where'd you say your people are from, Honey??? Thanks Fanny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Baby Girl let me know!

    Yep, this book explaines many forgotten troubles and forbiddens of an era sometimes forgotten to white City folk. We have come a long way and the 30 year olds of every neighborhood should read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Fannie Flagg is the best

    I LOVE hearing Fannie Flagg narrate her own books. They are so pure and help us all reflect on the frailties of people, AND the goodness of people. I suggested this for our book club and was quite surprised at the spirited dialogue and feedback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    Another Great Work by Flagg!!

    Yes, this story starts off slow, but I eventually feel in love with all of the characters and with Elmwood Springs! I highly recommend this book - it'll make you laugh and it has a lot of twists and turns in the plotline! Flagg is my fav. author and she was just born to write!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2005

    One of Flagg's Best

    After I read 'Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe' I had to read some of Fannie Flagg's other books, so I chose this one. It's nice to get away from real life and go back to a small town in the middle of nowhere in a time where nothing really mattered other than the bare necessities. This book is a light read that allows you to relax and have a laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2001

    Wonderful book!

    This book was absolutely wonderful! Welcome to the World had just the right amount of local color, humor, and sadness. Definately worth the time to read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2001

    Fannie Flagg Does It Again!

    Fannie Flagg's third book is just as spectacular as her previous two. Witty, funny, sad, charming and downright great, you'll be up into the wee hours of the morning with this one. Fannie Flagg continues her blessed talent for writing about hope and faith in people, taking you through their struggles and triumphs, and of course the healing powers of the small town. No matter what type of subject or genre you enjoy reading, this book and her others are page turners that never fail to entertainment the mind and uplift the soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2001

    Great Fast Read!!!

    At first look, I thought this book was going to be long and take me awhile to read. Boy was I wrong! I read it in just four days(a record for me). This is a wonderful book, with a great twist that I was totally not expecting. Fannie Flagg is a very talented writer, I loved all three books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2000

    Flagg does it again!

    Fannie Flagg, I must say is one of my favorite authors. She always has a little bit of the same content in every book she writes. The same kooky, weird but sweet character, and the character thats struggling to get through life. I really enjoyed this new book of hers. It has a great message in it, makes you want to be alive and happy in the morning. I'd recommend it to all the people out there who think life just isn't what it's cracked up to be. I think we can all relate to Dena, Gerry, and even Aunt Elner. This book deserves to be awarded. Thanks again Fannie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2000

    Delightful and moving

    I loved this book and passed it on to a friend who also loved it. Neither one of us could put this book down. The characters and the story were wonderful. Are we going to see a movie - I hope so. I had no idea Fannie Flagg was an author. I was a big fan of Candid Camera. And then to find out that Fried Green Tomatoes was one of her books - loved the movie, but never read the book. I will definitely pick up her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2000

    'Welcome to the world...' is WONDERFUL

    Fanny Flagg is a brilliant storyteller. FRIED GREEN TOMATOES...was my favorite book, I just could not resist going back for more of Flagg's humorous and poignant writing. I'm glad I did. Though her novel, WELCOME..., appears to be long, it actually reads quickly, too quickly in fact! I couldn't put it down. It inspires laughter and tears. A MUST READ for all!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2