Customer Reviews for

The Well: David's Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good

The Well takes place in Mississippi where segregation is everything. There is also a drought going on, and the only people with water are the Logans, who offer it willingly to anyone, which means black or white. The Simms Family has always been like enemies for the Lo...
The Well takes place in Mississippi where segregation is everything. There is also a drought going on, and the only people with water are the Logans, who offer it willingly to anyone, which means black or white. The Simms Family has always been like enemies for the Logans. Even though the Logans have more land, and well water, the Simms¿s have one big thing against them: All of the Simms¿s are white, and that is their one up to the other family. The Simms boys always keep in mind what they have against the other kids, so they push around the Logans, Hammer and David. But one day, Hammer decides he is not going to take it anymore, and pushes right back. I did think this was a good novel. Some may look at it and comment amount the number of pages it has, but the message is really important, and it is good to see how much we take for granted these days and the people who worked hard to gain equality for everyone. I think a reader who has an interest in non-fiction stories about history would enjoy reading The Well: David¿s Story. Even though this certain time of person might like this book, I think anyone would because many people can appreciate what these real ¿ life people have been through for us. Overall, this novel was very well-written, and opened my eyes to what families like the Logans experienced. I hope to read more of Mildred D. Taylor¿s works that share her family¿s rich history.

posted by Anonymous on August 3, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

CLICK HERE!!!

Read Roll of Thunder Hear My Cry instead

posted by Anonymous on June 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    CLICK HERE!!!

    Read Roll of Thunder Hear My Cry instead

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    Pretty Good

    The Well takes place in Mississippi where segregation is everything. There is also a drought going on, and the only people with water are the Logans, who offer it willingly to anyone, which means black or white. The Simms Family has always been like enemies for the Logans. Even though the Logans have more land, and well water, the Simms¿s have one big thing against them: All of the Simms¿s are white, and that is their one up to the other family. The Simms boys always keep in mind what they have against the other kids, so they push around the Logans, Hammer and David. But one day, Hammer decides he is not going to take it anymore, and pushes right back. I did think this was a good novel. Some may look at it and comment amount the number of pages it has, but the message is really important, and it is good to see how much we take for granted these days and the people who worked hard to gain equality for everyone. I think a reader who has an interest in non-fiction stories about history would enjoy reading The Well: David¿s Story. Even though this certain time of person might like this book, I think anyone would because many people can appreciate what these real ¿ life people have been through for us. Overall, this novel was very well-written, and opened my eyes to what families like the Logans experienced. I hope to read more of Mildred D. Taylor¿s works that share her family¿s rich history.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    How long

    How long is this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Is it

    Is this just a sample because i boght it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    the well...

    this book was a great sub book to add to my collection of mildred d taylor books. i've never read this one or the other sub ones like song of the trees, but now that i have, they are small benefit books for going further into the logan family saga.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    the well

    I have thought this book was an outstanding book. I never would of thought to read this beacuase im like that book woul be boring.until i was convinced o youll like this.and when i got halfway i thought o wow the logans are really nice! they would of been alot nicer then anyone i would know.that is also beacuase this happend almost 100 years ago! And hammer he never gave up to wanting to kill charlie. But the sad part is that they got whiped for charlie liend to the cop and his dad. But after hammer and david were done with helping them in there yard, hammer tripped charlie and beat him up. Then said go tell your dad the truth! Instead after a week or so, Charlie through a dead skunk in the well. But that could of cuased him not to drink water! that was such a stupid idea charlie did. But he found it funny.looks like hammer is going to beat him up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2009

    i really like this book!!

    it tells so much about our history!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2006

    i love this book

    i like this book because i have alot of colered friends and if anyone treated them like that i would stick up for them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2004

    Very good book

    Amazing story! The end is one that will make you smile.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2004

    The book is incredible

    I love the way the story flows. I know many people would enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2003

    i loved this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

    hey this book is really good you should read it i have read all Mrs.Taylors books and they are GREAT!!!!! go ahead and read them all you will be satisfied :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2001

    The Well is a great book

    The book has beeen great me and my class mates are readin it.It has been great for me so far we are on page 75 tommarow and I already know I will get a 100% beause I can pictrue this books setting really happening it touch me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2000

    Recomendable

    The Well tought me that it was very rough for black people in the 1800s and 1900s. It just wasn't fair. People were getting killed and abused all the time. White people took advantage of the colored people. I think that you should read this book so that you learn about how whites were so rough to blacks. After reading it, hopefully, you'll understand the way I do about blacks and whites during the 1800s and 1900s.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1