Customer Reviews for

We'll Always Have Summer

Average Rating 4.5
( 954 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(757)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

121 out of 125 people found this review helpful.

Perfect Ending to the Series-Did not disappoint!

WE'LL ALWAYS HAVE SUMMER picks up two years after IT'S NOT SUMMER WITHOUT YOU. Belly and Jeremiah are still in love, attending college together, and taking finals at the end of Spring Semester. Their relationship is genuine, real, and fun. The perfect portrayal of young...
WE'LL ALWAYS HAVE SUMMER picks up two years after IT'S NOT SUMMER WITHOUT YOU. Belly and Jeremiah are still in love, attending college together, and taking finals at the end of Spring Semester. Their relationship is genuine, real, and fun. The perfect portrayal of young love. But then Belly uncovers a shocking secret: During their first real fight a few months earlier, Jeremiah went on Spring Break with his fraternity brothers and cheated on Belly. The discovery turns her world upside down. Jeremiah was the one boy she never thought would hurt her. Jeremiah vows to spend the rest of his life making it up to her, and he pulls out an engagement ring. In a completely believable, teenage, not-well-thought-out plan, the two young lovers become engaged. ENGAGED! An end of summer wedding is planned and the first hurdle is telling their families at a ceremony honoring Susannah where they will all be gathered together. Including Conrad.

Through a beautiful dual character POV, we discover Conrad has been away for two years because of his love for Belly. The Conrad that I've been waiting two books to see is revealed, and it is well worth the wait. Jenny Han does an awesome job of subtly revealing which brother is truly right for Belly. I must say, though, that I fell completely in love with Conrad in this final chapter of their love story, and the boy delivered some amazing lines. He reveals why he let her go years ago, and the turmoil that watching his brother 'marry his girl and not being able to do anything about it' brings. Jenny Han's dialogue is spot on and heart wrenching, captured beautifully in Conrad's confession toward the end of the book.

"It's impossible. . . I love Jere more than anybody. He's my brother, my family. I hate myself for doing this. But when I see you two together, I hate him too." His voice broke. "Don't marry him. Don't be with him. Be with me."

Ugh, glorious pain, right? Belly spends the rest of the book completely torn between her first true love, the boy she is certain she will never be able to let go completely, and her best friend, the boy who loves her unconditionally, makes her feel like a princess, and would never walk away from her.

While I am Team Conrad obviously, both boys are amazing and the way Jenny has crafted them, I honestly believe Belly would be happy with either of them. That being said, I won't tell you who she picks-I can't go and spoil the whole thing for you-but I will reveal for anyone worried about her making a mistake and advocating teenage marriage, Jenny handles this beautifully. I can also say that there is a place, between chapter fifty-seven and the conclusion of the book, where I wish I could curl up between the chapters and live in the in between. Ah . . .

posted by RachelHarrisWrites on March 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bittersweet

Liked the story but was disappointed with the vague ending. Leaves questions unanswered. Still, it is a great summer read.

posted by Adollpuppet on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 972 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 49
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Perfect Ending to the Series-Did not disappoint!

    WE'LL ALWAYS HAVE SUMMER picks up two years after IT'S NOT SUMMER WITHOUT YOU. Belly and Jeremiah are still in love, attending college together, and taking finals at the end of Spring Semester. Their relationship is genuine, real, and fun. The perfect portrayal of young love. But then Belly uncovers a shocking secret: During their first real fight a few months earlier, Jeremiah went on Spring Break with his fraternity brothers and cheated on Belly. The discovery turns her world upside down. Jeremiah was the one boy she never thought would hurt her. Jeremiah vows to spend the rest of his life making it up to her, and he pulls out an engagement ring. In a completely believable, teenage, not-well-thought-out plan, the two young lovers become engaged. ENGAGED! An end of summer wedding is planned and the first hurdle is telling their families at a ceremony honoring Susannah where they will all be gathered together. Including Conrad.

    Through a beautiful dual character POV, we discover Conrad has been away for two years because of his love for Belly. The Conrad that I've been waiting two books to see is revealed, and it is well worth the wait. Jenny Han does an awesome job of subtly revealing which brother is truly right for Belly. I must say, though, that I fell completely in love with Conrad in this final chapter of their love story, and the boy delivered some amazing lines. He reveals why he let her go years ago, and the turmoil that watching his brother 'marry his girl and not being able to do anything about it' brings. Jenny Han's dialogue is spot on and heart wrenching, captured beautifully in Conrad's confession toward the end of the book.

    "It's impossible. . . I love Jere more than anybody. He's my brother, my family. I hate myself for doing this. But when I see you two together, I hate him too." His voice broke. "Don't marry him. Don't be with him. Be with me."

    Ugh, glorious pain, right? Belly spends the rest of the book completely torn between her first true love, the boy she is certain she will never be able to let go completely, and her best friend, the boy who loves her unconditionally, makes her feel like a princess, and would never walk away from her.

    While I am Team Conrad obviously, both boys are amazing and the way Jenny has crafted them, I honestly believe Belly would be happy with either of them. That being said, I won't tell you who she picks-I can't go and spoil the whole thing for you-but I will reveal for anyone worried about her making a mistake and advocating teenage marriage, Jenny handles this beautifully. I can also say that there is a place, between chapter fifty-seven and the conclusion of the book, where I wish I could curl up between the chapters and live in the in between. Ah . . .

    121 out of 125 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    O.M.G I cant tell you how much i loved loved the 2 books before. I loved the setting Cousins beach. Its a bout a summer any girl could only dream about. My favourite is Conrad Fisher because he is so dark and secretive but loves belly so much its heart-breaking to see her with Jeramiah. He's different, he is her best friend and they love each other but in a family kind of way and conrad is perfect for her. They would make the best couple. They have such a strong bond and connection and that makes them the best. I just pray conrad and belly end up together.!! Cant wait for may 2011 summer to read this book i would recommend the 2 books before to anyone.. I promise you, you wont be disappointd. xxxxx

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It has a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    This third book in the summer trilogy is amazing. I don't care w

    This third book in the summer trilogy is amazing. I don't care what people think about this book, it's what i think of it. So here it goes: Belly and Conrad's relationship fizzles out completely when he tells Jeremiah it's okay if he wanted to be with her. Two years later, in college, the two are happy and have a healthy relationship. Until Jeremiah did the worst thing a boy could ever do to hurt a girl. Now, Belly and Jeremiah's trust is tested when Belly goes to Cousins, their summer house, and catches up with Conrad. Now, she isn't sure what she feels for Jeremiah or Conrad. When Belly returns, Jeremiah pleads for her to come back by proposing to her, promising he will never do a mistake like that again. After a few weeks of debating whether they should tell anyone yet, they finally let it out and everyone is totally surprised - including Conrad.
    The love Belly and Jeremiah have in this novel is strong and real. But what Belly had with Conrad is different. Conrad is her life long love; Jeremiah is her best friend. When Conrad opens up to her and says he still loves her, she is at a loss. What now? Read the book to find out what Belly's descision is. (:
    Who would you choose? - - - Jeremiah loves you all along. He is your best friend. Sweet, kind, and compassionate. Oh, and don't forget fun and outgoing! Conrad plays you like a violin whenever he wants. You have loved him since who knows how long! He doesn't let anyone in, refuses to break down the wall to open up, and is a complete heartbreaker.
    If you ask me, I would say that I love Jeremiah. He isn't afraid to say or do anything stupid. But if he ever did what he had to me, I would be confused on who I truly loved. I would say Conrad was a close friend whom I loved deeply and never wanted to let go. If he hurt me as many time he hurt Belly, I probably wouldn't like him as much. Overall, I would probably have to choose . . . Conrad. I mean, I could love him for my entire life, date him, and soon marry him.
    I recommend this book to anyone who loved a summer romance! :)

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    I havent read it yet but i already know its the best... READ IT!

    i have loved the last two books of this series and i can absolutely NOT wait until this book comes out!! Jenny han has written the best books of all time and i can already feel that this book will be just as perfect!! JENNY HAN is my favorite author of all time: shug was also one of my favorite books ( my other favorites are: the summer i turned pretty and its not summer without you basically all of jenny hans books!!) so if you enjoy reading a sweet romance book READ THE SUMMER SERIES!!!!!! DO IT! jenny han thank you soooooo much for writting the summer series and of course shug. you made it easy to find love in a book!
    SO TAKE IT FROM ME AND BUY THE BOOK!!

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Love stories

    Like always Belly can't chose until the end of the book. I love how real the feelings of the golden three were. Its like real life, but better. Its a great book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    Best teen love story since twilight <3

    OK, i know everybody says that this book is so happy and a fairy tale love story- its the complete opposite. This is a real life love struggle,and how belly should be in love with one person, but fate is pulling her towards another. Ever since belly was a little girl, she has loved Conrad fisher to death, and would do anything to satisfy him. When she finally realizes that Conrad " doesn't want her", she gives up and "lets go" of him. That's not the case- for belly nor Conrad. In this book, Conrad finally realizes that what he did was wrong, and sets out to seek belly and tell her the truth- that he is madly in love with her. On the other side, belly is in college, Jeremiah at her side, engaged. This book was so amazing- i couldn't put it down, and i finished it in two days. I won't go on and spoil it for you, but believe me- its heart wrenching, relate able, and so beautifully written that i cried at the end. READ IT!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    THIS BOOK IS A 'HAVE TO READ OR ELSE YOU'RE NOTHING' ....

    1. The summer i turned pretty ----> i fell in love with Conrad Fisher
    2. It's not summer without you----> i fell in love with Jeremiah Fisher
    3. We'll always have summer-------> i'm double-minded

    i RANDOMLY chose the first two books in a book store.. and then when i read them, i was like,'what if i didnt buy these books...i wouldnt be what i am right now..' ... i filled me :) .. i know this sounds sooo boring but its the truth... i wish jenny han wrote more books on Belly, Jeremiah, Conrad, Steven, Susannah & Laurel...
    FOR THOSE WHO HAVENT READ ANY OF THEM 'dude! catch-up!! reading books might not be fun, but this isnt a book, its ..its love..written love!!'

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    Team Jere

    I love thesebooks the are the best things ever i love jenny han and she is amazing! i have read all the reveiws of the third book and i think that it sounds amazing. i love the way jenny han puts in the twist how jeremiah cheats on belly! this puts the doubt in bellys mind. My biggest worry for this book is that she might pick Conrad. she thinks he is right for her but i want her to be with JEREMIAH!!! THIS BOOK WILL BE AMAZING FOR ALL READERS EVERYWHERE!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Wonderfull

    I am almost embarrassed to admit how many times I've read these books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Spoiler!beware

    Okay, dont get me wrong i loved this book. It was one of the bes i've ever read. In this book you see another side of jeremiah not the one that stays with belly when shes sick, but a boy who is always partying and gets obnoxious after a while. Is was always team conrad, so when i read the ending i was super happy! But i wasnt happy with the actually ending. This book was way to short and i was so sad when it ended! The ending was really quick and i wasnt peepred for it. His bok also makes me feel kind of hollow inside, like ill never find as god a man as belly has:( i love this book but hate it for how it makes me feel in the end. Wheres my conrad?

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Best series I have EVER read.

    Amazing! ABSOLUTE GREATLY written books :) I always liked Conrad durring the very beggining. The ending was shocking, I actually cried, LOVE THESE BOOKS!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Beautiful!!!!!!!

    OMG!!! This book is probably one of the best books that i have ever read! The ending nearly made me cry. SUPER SWEET BOOK!!! <3 IT!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    A must read

    i first read the summer i turned pretty after a trip to the libray i could not put it down and when i found out there was a sequel i was so excited, i finished its not summer without you and all i can say is i love these characters so much. belly is a girl just going after what she wants,falling in love is hard enough but faling in love with two boys brothers non the less is more difficult. i cant wait to read we'll always have summer, and i hope belly ends up with the boy she loves the most and meant to be with.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    A Really Amazing Book

    I loved this book so much. Actually i loved all the books. This trilogy was a perfect summer read! I could absolutely picture myself reading these books over and over again. I related to the characters easily. It felt so real! I personally thought Belly should end up with Jeremiah because he was her best friend and would never leave her, but feelings aside, these books are worth purchasing and reading. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm just dying. Completely. This is my favorite series. HANDS DO

    I'm just dying. Completely. This is my favorite series. HANDS DOWN. I love this book, I have never once wanted to laugh while I cried my guts out, until I read this series. Jenny Han is an amazing writer and this is an amazing series. I felt like I was Belly. Throughout the whole series I felt like I was falling in love with Conrad. I felt like he loved me back too, which is so weird because he's not real. I wish he was. And I wish he loved me like how he loved Belly. I felt like I was in Belly's shoes through everything. I felt like it was me who got proposed to, who was in love with two boys at the same time. And last of all I felt like I was the one who was in the beach house at cousins every summer, falling more in love with it, and the people in it. I love this series. Jenny Han, you are an inspiration.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Which boy

    She chooses ...........................................haaha im not gonna tell you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Awesome!

    When i read the whole series, i nearly cried on some parts. A must-read book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    To the person 2 comments down.

    SPOILER MUCH???????????

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Bittersweet

    Liked the story but was disappointed with the vague ending. Leaves questions unanswered. Still, it is a great summer read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 972 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 49