Customer Reviews for

We'll Always Have Summer

Average Rating 4.5
( 961 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(761)

4 Star

(108)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

121 out of 125 people found this review helpful.

Perfect Ending to the Series-Did not disappoint!

WE'LL ALWAYS HAVE SUMMER picks up two years after IT'S NOT SUMMER WITHOUT YOU. Belly and Jeremiah are still in love, attending college together, and taking finals at the end of Spring Semester. Their relationship is genuine, real, and fun. The perfect portrayal of young...
WE'LL ALWAYS HAVE SUMMER picks up two years after IT'S NOT SUMMER WITHOUT YOU. Belly and Jeremiah are still in love, attending college together, and taking finals at the end of Spring Semester. Their relationship is genuine, real, and fun. The perfect portrayal of young love. But then Belly uncovers a shocking secret: During their first real fight a few months earlier, Jeremiah went on Spring Break with his fraternity brothers and cheated on Belly. The discovery turns her world upside down. Jeremiah was the one boy she never thought would hurt her. Jeremiah vows to spend the rest of his life making it up to her, and he pulls out an engagement ring. In a completely believable, teenage, not-well-thought-out plan, the two young lovers become engaged. ENGAGED! An end of summer wedding is planned and the first hurdle is telling their families at a ceremony honoring Susannah where they will all be gathered together. Including Conrad.

Through a beautiful dual character POV, we discover Conrad has been away for two years because of his love for Belly. The Conrad that I've been waiting two books to see is revealed, and it is well worth the wait. Jenny Han does an awesome job of subtly revealing which brother is truly right for Belly. I must say, though, that I fell completely in love with Conrad in this final chapter of their love story, and the boy delivered some amazing lines. He reveals why he let her go years ago, and the turmoil that watching his brother 'marry his girl and not being able to do anything about it' brings. Jenny Han's dialogue is spot on and heart wrenching, captured beautifully in Conrad's confession toward the end of the book.

"It's impossible. . . I love Jere more than anybody. He's my brother, my family. I hate myself for doing this. But when I see you two together, I hate him too." His voice broke. "Don't marry him. Don't be with him. Be with me."

Ugh, glorious pain, right? Belly spends the rest of the book completely torn between her first true love, the boy she is certain she will never be able to let go completely, and her best friend, the boy who loves her unconditionally, makes her feel like a princess, and would never walk away from her.

While I am Team Conrad obviously, both boys are amazing and the way Jenny has crafted them, I honestly believe Belly would be happy with either of them. That being said, I won't tell you who she picks-I can't go and spoil the whole thing for you-but I will reveal for anyone worried about her making a mistake and advocating teenage marriage, Jenny handles this beautifully. I can also say that there is a place, between chapter fifty-seven and the conclusion of the book, where I wish I could curl up between the chapters and live in the in between. Ah . . .

posted by RachelHarrisWrites on March 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bittersweet

Liked the story but was disappointed with the vague ending. Leaves questions unanswered. Still, it is a great summer read.

posted by Adollpuppet on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm just dying. Completely. This is my favorite series. HANDS DO

    I'm just dying. Completely. This is my favorite series. HANDS DOWN. I love this book, I have never once wanted to laugh while I cried my guts out, until I read this series. Jenny Han is an amazing writer and this is an amazing series. I felt like I was Belly. Throughout the whole series I felt like I was falling in love with Conrad. I felt like he loved me back too, which is so weird because he's not real. I wish he was. And I wish he loved me like how he loved Belly. I felt like I was in Belly's shoes through everything. I felt like it was me who got proposed to, who was in love with two boys at the same time. And last of all I felt like I was the one who was in the beach house at cousins every summer, falling more in love with it, and the people in it. I love this series. Jenny Han, you are an inspiration.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    Good ending

    I thought this book was a good end to the series. It didn't leave you hanging like some do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    The ending was a little disapointing

    If it was up to me i think i would have ended it with Belly marrying Jeremiah instead of Conrad because Conrad hurt her by breaking her heart and confusing her but Jeremiah was always there for her and is SUPER sweet. But overall i thought this book was awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    So SAD!!!

    I loved this book!! I was basically crying at the end because of Belly and Jeremiah and Conrad!! This book was the sadest book I ever read and I always end up crying in the end. I loved this series! :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Spoilers Alert! First thing's first: FINALLY! A BOOK WITH AN END

    Spoilers Alert!
    First thing's first: FINALLY! A BOOK WITH AN ENDING THAT PLEASED ME!
    (late, I know, sue me)

    Since the beginning, I don't really know why, I have always been on Team Conrad. Yes, he never treated Belly the way he should have, but somehow, some way, he still made me fall for him.
    The only reason I give this four stars rather than five is because of the frustration I felt during the story, especially when Belly accepted to marry Jere after finding out that he cheated on her. Yes, it shows that Belly has grown up, but in a way, she didn't really.
    Also, this book never answered some of the questions I've had, like why did Conrad and Belly break up at prom? or how did Conrad and his father get back on good grounds? It would also be nice to know the details of what happened when Conrad and Belly got to see each other again in spring, and the DETAILS OF THEIR WEDDING! Throughout the whole series, all I've ever wished to read form this series is their wedding day. But all in all, it's a great book, series even.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    BEST SERIES EVER

    BEST SERIES EVER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    Should read

    I really enjoyed the third one. It was kind of like a love triangle thing but at the same time it wasn't. It talked about how the rest of their life where going to go. I think that it was a semi-predictable book, but I think it's worth reading. If you haven't read the first two you should because it really adds up to this one it's a great ending to this series. It wasn't one of those books where you thought there should be more to the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    A lovely read.


    SPOILER

    Okay. So I was mind of sad that Jeremiah and Belly were together. They just were not right for each other, it was so frustrating to read about their engagement and how they planned to be together forever and just argh. But it was also very predictable that they were not going to end up together, that Belly and Conrad were going to come as one in the end. Yet, I was still so excited to know that they married and were happy and that Jeremiah moves on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    I love the book but I wish there was another book afterward to e

    I love the book but I wish there was another book afterward to explain the end. I get what happened but i want to know how.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Fun series

    Great ending to a great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Belly and Jeremiah are in college together, trying to act like B

    Belly and Jeremiah are in college together, trying to act like Belly really wants to be with Jeremiah instead of his brother. Since Conrad made it clear he wouldn’t choose her, she’s convinced herself that she’s content with Jeremiah, though she still has a special place in her heart for Conrad. They’ve managed to make it into something special and Belly’s sure he’s the one. Until he does the unthinkable.

    I love the characters in this series, especially in the latter part of the final book. You could really see how they’d all grown over the years, as they’d gotten older and wiser (in most cases). They still made stupid mistakes, but they learned from them. They still had their flaws, of course; Belly was still whiny about Conrad not loving her, Jeremiah was still whiny about Conrad getting all the love and Conrad was still an asshat.

    One thing I didn’t like was the direction Jeremiah’s character went. We’ve known him for years, and I felt like his betrayal was completely out of character. He had his reasons (aka his excuses), but it still didn’t feel like something the Jeremiah we know and love would do. There were several chapters told from Conrad’s POV which I think were meant to portray him as a long-suffering good guy caught in a bad situation. While I appreciated finally seeing things the way he did, it was too little, too late. I understand he had problems and issues, but that was no excuse for treating Belly like he did.

    Just like the first 2 books, We’ll Always Have Summer was entertaining and fun. I wasn’t expecting the ending, and I can’t say I’m exactly happy with it. But it made sense for the characters and felt true to them.

    The sum up: Though I’m sad it’s over, this was a satisfying conclusion to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    I just finished reading this book , and it's very good but the t

    I just finished reading this book , and it's very good but the thing is
    Jeremiah was a super let down. I mean in the previous books he was a
    sweet-heart caring kind of guy everybody likes.. But then in this book
    he's insensitive( making Belly plan her own wedding), and even cheats on
    Belly with Lacie in Cabo setting me off thinking "It was just a
    fight and you cheat on the girl you so claimed you very loved."
    Also it was kind of expected at the end with Conrad and I liked the book
    but again Jeremiah was a super let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Good teen read

    Nicely written for the age it is geared for. I read the entire trilogy and will recommend it to my own teenage daughter:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Anonymous

    Good book - you're really going be able too predict whats going too happen half way through the book .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Luv this book!!!!!!

    This was the best book ive ever read ! But disapointed at the ending because it ended to fast.....hope jenny makes a fourth book out of this!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    4 stars

    I loved this book. It is amazing it took me only two days to read the whole triliogy this is an amazing book the only thing is language so i would not recomend this book to anyone under the age of twelve or thiteen unless they think they are ready to read it. I libe this book stayed ipball night to readbit ir is one of my favorite books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    AWESOME!

    I loved this book, I could berely put it down. It was great and it ended unexpectingly but I wish she would write another one to tell about the rest of their lives. It left me wondering..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Easy read!

    Easy to read and engaging story. Good for escapism!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Tdiddy12

    Great book!! Loved the whole series ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Hey its MVM(:

    I loved this novel! It ended the way I wanted it to. I cried in some spots, but can you blame me?(: The novel was beautifully written. Would highly recommend! It is a 10+. Thanks for reading. -MVM(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6